Hostal Persal

2 stars
Plaza Del Angel, 12, Madrid, 28012
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
21 reviews
Great location

Breakfast has a good amount of food and the waiters were very friendly. Wifi is weak in our room... See full review

  • akihagi
  • Nov 2, 2012
Location, location, location

The title says it all. This hotel is near everything: restaurants, shopping, transportation. It is... See full review

  • Arcee
  • Nov 2, 2011
Built inside a structure dating back to 1871, the Hostal Persal houses 80 rooms. It is located in the heart of the historic quarter of Madrid, Barrio de las Letras, near all the main monuments. It is only 100 yards from the Puerta del Sol and very close to the Plaza Mayor and the Prado, Thyssen and Queen Sofia Museums. Only 50 yards from the Hostal Persal there are two public parking garages (Plaza Santa Ana and Plaza Jacinto Benavente). The Plaza Santa Ana is famous for its tapas bars and nightlife. In addition, you can find out about the sites to see and renting a car at the hostel's front desk. The property offers airport transfer, bar, concierge, conference facilities, Internet access high-speed, Free Internet access wireless, lift/ elevator, lobby, reception, safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

40.4143 -3.7022
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport MAD.
Area description
The property is located in the heart of the historic quarter of Madrid, near all the main monuments. It is only 100 yards from the Puerta del Sol and very close to the Plaza Mayor and the Prado, Thyssen and Queen Sofia Museums.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hostal Persal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hostal Persal Rooms

Standard
Room with 2 twin beds or 1 double bed offers air conditioning, bathroom amenities, cable/ Satellite TV, Ensuite/ private bathroom, telephone, free safe in room and free wi-fi connection.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.9 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.5 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.1 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.6 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.9 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.5 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.1 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.3 mi
  • Latina: 2.6 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.9 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.7 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.8 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.1 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.8 mi
  • Vallecas: 5 mi
  • San Blas: 5.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.6 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.7 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Hostal Persal

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akihagi
New York, NY
Nov 2, 2012

Great location

Breakfast has a good amount of food and the waiters were very friendly. Wifi is weak in our room but consistent. It's stronger in the breakfast room downstairs. Hot water is good, as is a/c. Our room has a safe we can use first leaving a deposit. Large sized closet and bathroom, with standing shower. Our rooms were cleaned daily. Staff is very polite, friendly, and helpful. English spoken adequately. There's many books in the breakfast area and lounge area on the ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chuck in Spain
New Jersey
Aug 5, 2012

Great location

Family of 4 was in this hotel for 4 nights. If you are looking for luxory, this is definitely not it. If you are travelling with a group of 4 and you want to share a room and save some money then this is good deal. Excellent location and clean. Breakfast was very nice, front desk was very helpful. A/C could have been better in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the corner was a great Flamenco show, Villa Rosa.

Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bora
California, EEUU
Feb 14, 2012

Reasonable alternative

Location, location. Very central. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are clean. They are, however, very small; so small that there is no nightstand. But there is good internet access and free WiFi. The breakfast is simple but quite adequate unless you really need a full breakfast with eggs, bacon, etc. But it was not included in my price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Lcón is great for Tapas. Ask the staff.

Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arcee
Commerce, MI
Nov 2, 2011

Location, location, location

The title says it all. This hotel is near everything: restaurants, shopping, transportation. It is surrounded by restaurants offering pretty much anything you'd like. There's even one attached. We were a few short blocks from the Metro which will take you anywhere you want to go. A couple of warnings. This is not the Marriott! The rooms are spartan, but clean. We had no problem with street noise but did have to change rooms after the first night as we were give a room right next to the stairs and across from the elevator. Not pleasant. The staff was accomadating, however, and moved us right away to a much quiter location. All in all, for the price (breakfast included), a good place to stay provided you understand the rooms are small and spartan. For us, it was all about location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st Time Madrid Traveler
Burnsville, MN, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Excellent Location and Staff

My son and I recently returned from a 2 night stay at Hostal Persal. The trip was booked just 2 days before arriving. The day before I called the hostal directly to confirm our reservation. They had received the reservation and our request for two beds/non-smoking. The day we arrived it was early(9:30am) so Hostel Persal stored our luggage and told us the room would be ready by 11am. When we returned it wasa nice surprise to find our luggage already in our room with two beds: one a double and the other a single. The room was somewhat small but very clean and adequate with FREE wireless internet and a room safe. We also had the breakfast every moring which was good and plentyful. The best thing about this hostal was it's helpful English speaking STAFF and the LOCATION as you could walk to most major attractions!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Madrid's METRO system is easy to use from the airport to hostel. We purchased the Metro 3 day passes for 13 Euros each. It took us all over Madrid and was simplier and cheaper than paying as go.

Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jul 4, 2011

Excellent location, very clean

My sister and I were in Madrid for one week and chose to stay here based upon reviews, cost, and most importantly - location. We were able to walk to all of the major attractions (el prado, retiro park, royal palace, plaza mayor). The nightlife is nearby and so is the metro. They have very nice staff and the room is cleaned everyday. We arrived at the hotel early and they were able to get us into a room right away. The a/c worked fabulously. The beds are hard but all in all a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Connected to the hotel is a wonderful little restaurant- Ginger. If you walk right outside the front door of the hotel they have outdoor seating available which was absolutely lovely.

Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ruth Baker
USA
Nov 14, 2010

Not for me....

I spent one night in this hotel-hostel. The location is too far from the airport (45 Euros from the airport) and the room was tiny. I could barely walk between the bed and the wall. The bathroom was large, the tub small. It was clean, but the walls were paper thin. I could hear complete conversations through the wall. I heard everyone walk down the hallway, use the elevator, etc. The staff did speak fairly good English!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Nov 8, 2010

Persal

Shower was a little small. Breakfast was decent. Desk personnel spoke English and were very helpful. Some of fellow guests were a little noisy at night. All in all -a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marcela Student Traveler
McAllen Texas
Jul 22, 2010

Great Location

The Hotel is small and nice, it is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The location was great, close to shopping and a metro station which was very helpful when exploring Madrid. There are great restaurants all around the area. I felt very comfortable during my stay and would stay there again. Breakfast is not included but they do offer it (8 euros...very expensive) but there are so many places to get a good cheap breakfast around the area. They say they offer internet access and they do but it cost you 1 euro for 15 min, the wi fi is free. I enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hostal Persal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter
Not Provided
Mar 23, 2010

You are in the center of nightlife

You are in the center of nightlife if you pick this hostel. It is very simple but clean so if you do not plan to stay long in your room but enjoy Madrid than it could be a place for a you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search