$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Gran Melia Fenix

5 stars
HERMOSILLA, 2, 28001 MADRID, Madrid, 28001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
11 reviews
A very good quality, good location, good value in Madrid

The Hotel is very conveniently located in the center, and is a very prominent good looking... See full review

  • Paulhrbrt
  • Mar 6, 2014
Amazing hotel in great location

Great place to stay! It was in a great location and rooms are very cute. It almost felt like we... See full review

  • Dr. Audrey
  • Jun 10, 2013
Five-star luxury housed in centrally located 19th century structure

Housed in a majestic 19th century building in the heart of Madrid, celebrities as diverse as David Beckham, Cary Grant does, Bill Clinton and the Beatles have stayed at the Gran Melia Fenix since it opened its doors in 1953. Offering a timeless classical ambiance with avant-garde accents and the latest in modern amenities, the hotel is located close to Madrid's most important business and cultural areas. In the summer, the hotel offers guests rooftop dining at the open-terrace La Terraza del Fenix overlooking Plaza de Colon Square, while the famous DRY Cosmopolitan Bar sets the standard for service and sophistication in Madrid year round.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • On Plaza de Colon in exclusiveSalamanca, near business district andattractions
  • Dine at Chef Blas Perez Edo's Restaurant Epoque or Cafe del Fenix
  • Access to health and wellness facilities, and onsite business center with four meeting rooms
Gran Melia Fenix Rooms
The guestrooms and suites at the Gran Melia Fenix are designed and decorated to provide guests with a combination of classical décor that features the hotel's signature touch of the avant-garde, and the latest in modern amenities. All guestrooms offer views of the courtyard, the Madrid skyline, or the Plaza de Colon. All guestrooms and suites include a 37-inch or larger plasma television with international channels, an iPod docking station, two-line telephone with voicemail, and complimentary high-speedInternet access. All accommodations feature an en suite bathroom with Etro bath amenities, and some suites feature a Jacuzzi tub.  The hotel's exclusive Red Level Accommodations offer greater interior space and complimentary access to the exclusive Red Level Lounge. Room service is offered in all guestrooms and suites at the Gran Melia Fenix 24 hours a day, and specially adapted rooms for guests with disabilities are available upon request.
Things To Do:
  • Parque del Retiro (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Museo Nacional de Artes Decorativas (0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.4 km)
  • Museo Nacional del Prado (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Gran Via (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Plaza de Toros (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sabatini Gardens (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Reina Sofia (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Royal Palace of Madrid (1.5 mi/2.4 km)

Hotel Map

40.4266 -3.6893
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Barajas Madrid International Airport.
Area description

The unbeatable location in the Salamanca district, the heart of the city's financial district and very near the Prado, Reina Sofa and Thyssen Museums allow our guests to explore and discover the classical charms of Madrid.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Melia Fenix also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Gran Melia Fenix Rooms

Deluxe Room
Quiet rooms with views overlooking the interior patio of the hotel and equipped with the latest individually controlled air conditioning/ central heating system.
These rooms have Queen size beds or two single beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Approximately 25 m2 .
Premium Room
Elegant and luminous outward-facing rooms, completely soundproofed, and with King size or Queen size beds or two single beds (on request on arrival at the hotel). Approximately 30 m2
Supreme room
Elegant, spacious and bright rooms with stunning views over the Paseo de la Castellana or the Plaza de Colon, and all completely soundproofed.
The rooms have either a king size bed, a queen size bed or two single beds.
Premium Royal Service Room
Enjoy these exclusive rooms with Red Level Service: private check-in/check-out on the 7th floor, openbar,"Clarins" toiletries, Nespresso coffe machine, private terrrace and fireplace on Red Level Lounge.
Grand Premium Room Jacuzzi
The room offers 2 twin bed or 1 queen bed or 1 king bed with all modern amenities.Red Level Service included: private check-in/check-out on the 7th floor, openbar,"Clarins" toiletries, Nespresso coffe machine, private terrrace and fireplace on Red Level Lounge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Chamberi: 0.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.8 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.4 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.8 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.3 mi
  • Chamberi: 0.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.8 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1.2 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.4 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.8 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.2 mi
  • Arganzuela: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.4 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.4 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 2.6 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 2.7 mi
  • Usera: 2.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.2 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.5 mi
  • Latina: 3.7 mi
  • Carabanchel: 4.1 mi
  • San Blas: 4.4 mi
  • Hortaleza: 4.6 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 4.6 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.8 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Villaverde: 5.5 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 6.5 mi

Dining

Epoque by Gran Melia

Enjoy these exclusive restaurant where the most innovate Mediterranean cuisine is served

The Fenix Terrace

During the summer time the hotel has opened this perfect place for al fresco dinnerfor lunch in Colombus Square

DRY Cosmopolitan BAR by Javier de las Muelas
An iconic reference in Madrid's nightlife, daily open until 03:00 am.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Melia Fenix

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ar and r
San Francisco, CA
May 21, 2013

Great room in Madrid

While not spectacular, Gran Melia Fenix was unique, and enjoyable for our brief stay in Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paulhrbrt
Business
Memphis
Mar 6, 2014

A very good quality, good location, good value in Madrid

The Hotel is very conveniently located in the center, and is a very prominent good looking building. The staff were very friendly helpful and efficient. We had a premium room on the Red level which has its own concierge and a lounge where you can have drinks, snacks and breakfast. it was very convenient. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated with very comfortable furniture and bedding. Service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Botin sea food restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Audrey
Business
Huntington Beach, California
Jun 10, 2013

Amazing hotel in great location

Great place to stay! It was in a great location and rooms are very cute. It almost felt like we were in our own little apartment. The room shades could make the room so dark that we had amazing nights of sleep. We loved the towel warmer in the bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

It was amazing to see a bull fight. We ordered the tickets online before and they were delivered right to our hotel room. Best to take metro even though concierge suggested a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ar and r
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 21, 2013

Great room in Madrid

While not spectacular, Gran Melia Fenix was unique, and enjoyable for our brief stay in Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nile108
Business
Chicago
Jan 3, 2013

Almost perfect

I was given a choice when we first arrived to stay in a room with a better view, which was not important to me...but if I were told how small the room was I would have considered an upgrade. Other than that it was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Le Botin, the oldest (?) restaurant in the world....so lovely and the grandson (great or great great) of the original owner took pride and delight in showing us his lovely place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rl583
Business
New York, NY
Oct 22, 2012

Great hotel

Very pleased with hotel amenities and service. They delivered upon all of our expectations. Very close to shopping, the park and an easy walk from the nearby Colon metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PaulHDM
Business
Miami, FL
May 3, 2012

Good hotel, good location

I was a great stay. They staff could't be better, once my luggage did not arrive flying Iberia. They coordinated everything with the air company and got my luggage later that day. Good restaurant recommendations. The room could be a little bigger... but other than that, it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Safety Officer 12
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Wonderful visit and perfect stay location

My wife and I could not ask for a better hotel and location to travel through out Madrid Spain. The sites were incredible and the people at the Hotel Gran Melia Fenix were helpful and friendly. We plan on using this hotel Chain in the future for future vacations and are planning on using this Hotel as our choice for a starting point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Public transportation and tour buses to notable sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rtrip
Business
Beverly Hills, CA 90210, USA
Sep 26, 2011

very nice

good location. clean. great breakfast. 5stars would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent Flyer
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 13, 2011

What a nice surpise!

Given my experience with comparably priced European hotels, I was not expecting much. The location was terrific (Madrid deserves special credit for how easy it is to get from the airport to the center of town on the Metro), and the staff was very attentive. The room was very nice. My only crticisms are minor - Breakfast was great, but very, very expensive (if I had known Madrid better, I would have eaten breakfast somewhere else). My after dinner scotch was also expensive, but that's a habit I should drop anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice, quiet Italian restaurant almost right across the street called La Alpargatería.. My son was really missing great Italian cooking. We both ordered and loved the lasagna.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Melia Fenix

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alfred on Safari
Business
Hill Country, Texas
Dec 4, 2010

Elegant Premium Room

We arrived mid afternoon and had a snack and wine in the lounge. Service was excellent from doorman to porters to the front desk and lounge. Avoid the standard rooms---they are too small---we tried the standard room earlier in our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try dinner at Biotza, a nearby tapas bar in the upscale Salamanca shopping district. It has fantastic light food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top