$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Ganivet

3 stars
View map of Calle Toledo 111-113, Madrid, 28005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ganivet

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jimmu jungle
dublin
Jun 21, 2012

lovely city break

Hotel was lovely, very central, only two minutes walk to the metro ,which took us everywhere. we got a ticket for 25€ which lasted us the five days. Only tried the breakast in the hotel on the last day which was lovely, 10€ for a buffet which kept us going up until dinner. very clean ,modern hotel, i could not fault the room, only that the walls very thin and you could hear everything in the room beside, however that wasnt a big problem. the chinese buffet next door is discusting. lovely trip overall, my boyfriend is already dying to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nipomo
Jun 1, 2010

Gavinet

The in-house breakfast was very ample and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of some of the restaurants that operate within Plaza Mayor. They are counting on you enjoying the surroundings and not concentrating on their poor quality of food. Look for a very nice restaurant within the city center called La Finca de Susana. Wait staff seemed bored but food very good and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Collins, Colorado
Dec 8, 2009

Nice and Central!

The hotel is 'walking distance' to Plaza Mayor, and there was a Christmas Market going while I was visiting. Puerta de Toledo is the closest Metro stop, and the hotel is just 200 (although uphill) meters away from the station. If you want to reach the hotel by Metro coming from the airport you have to change trains twice with quite some stairs in between... but it is definitely do-able. Nice restaurants all over the place, and in particular around Plaza Mayor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

opposite of the hotel ( alittle up the street) is a fairly low-key restaurant with a bar in the front room and a few tables in the back. Great kitchen, friendly people and great wine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 22, 2009

Hotel Ganivet uncormfortable

The hotels location was awesome. The rooms were clean and nice. However, the bed was terrible and I felt like I could have slept better on the floor without a blanket. The rooms were not sound proof. I could hear everything in the streets from horns to motorcyles to chatty people. I could even hear people in the hallway of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 10, 2009

Costly but nice

I was traveling with college age kids and the only thing in the room that annoyed us was the quality of the reception on the tv when we tried to watch a soccer game. We had good subway access and near by food choices so we were pretty pleased. Internet access and wifi were good as well. Nice bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Flaminco dancing was close by and the staff assisted with our reservations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGregg
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Modern Hotel in Central Madrid

We arrived early to Madrid but had contacted them before regarding an early check-in. They had a room when we arrived, but it was a smoking room that smelled quite bad. To the staff's credit, they did location us a non-smoking room that was great. The big negative about our stay at the hotel was my wife had her purse stolen while we were in the hotel restaurant. In the staff's defense, the thieves were quite professional, the staff was extremely helpful with our contacting the police and made efforts looking at their security cameras to identify the culprits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 10 ride Metro pass to go anywhere in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
basecampdonna
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
May 22, 2009

excellent hotel in Madrid

This hotel is in a great location, has a very nice lobby and cafe with reasonable prices. We walked everywhere from his location including the Prado. Loved hanging out at Mayor. Don't miss the botanical garden when you are there. Highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
randk
Business
Kirkwood, MO
May 11, 2009

Excellent room...

Close to Metro and Plaza Mayor. Large, modern room compared to other European hotel standards at this rate. Staff was business-like but not very friendly. Unless you speak and read Spanish, you'll find this hotels' staff can be difficult to communicate with. We survived, however, and would stay again because of its' location and price. Avoid the cafeteria unless you read Spanish...no English or other language translations! We ordered something and, well, let's just say we were suprised at what we were served!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top