$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Ganivet

3 stars
Calle Toledo 111-113, Madrid, 28005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
24 reviews
Great base for city break

The hotel was located only 5-10 minute walk from plaza mayor, San Miguel market and 10-15 minutes... See full review

  • Catty
  • May 26, 2014
very nice stay

I loved the stay here, perfect position, large room and bathroom with a very decent hairdryer,... See full review

  • surprise2surprise
  • Feb 26, 2014
Welcoming hotel steps from Metro and lively nightlife
Steps from Metro service, close to the Plaza Mayor and other major attractions, and surrounded by popular bars and restaurants, the 3-star Ganivet hotel offers guests an excellent location for their stay in Madrid. With good service, clean, modern lines, and comfortable air-conditioned rooms, the hotel provides amenities such as a restaurant and bar, Internet point, parking (fees apply) and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the premises.
Highlights
  • Ganivet hotel enjoys excellent location steps from Madrid Metro service and close to the Royal Palace, Plaza Mayor and El Rastro
  • Area surrounding hotel has lively tapas bars, dining and traditional taverns
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the premises
Rooms
The Ganivet features 146 comfortable, elegantly decorated guest rooms which feature en suite bathroom with a hair dryer, air conditioning, TV, safe and room service. Complimentary Wi-Fi access is available. Some rooms feature balconies with seating so guests may enjoy views over the city center of Madrid.
Features
The hotel Ganivet is a comfortable 3-star hotel steps from Metro service, and within walking distance of Plaza Mayor, the Royal Palace and the lively El Rastro flea market in Madrid. The area around Ganivet is full of tapas bars and dining. The hotel features modern decor with clean lines and neutral colors, and amenities include a restaurant, bar, lounge, an Internet point and complimentary Wi-Fi access throughout the building. The hotel also offers parking (at a charge) and a doctor-on-call service.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Barajas Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • El Rastro (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Monastery of Barefoot Royals (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Plaza de Santa Ana (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sophia (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Prado Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Garden (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Ganivet Rooms

Standard Room
Room offers one double bed and one twin bed with en suite bathroom, hairdryer, safe, Direct dial telephone, satellite/cable TV, Internet access, air conditioning and heating. Along with Alarm clock, Disabled facilities, Non-smoking rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ganivet also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4085 -3.7107
Area served
Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, Puerta del Sol
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport. Shuttle upon demand (with a cost)
Area description
The hotel's central location means guests can effortlessly reach spots such as Puerta del Sol, the Royal Palace , the cathedral, El Rastro flea market and Atocha train station. In addition the hotel is just 150 metres from the Puerta de Toledo metro and there is straight forward road access to the M-30 road.

Nearby points of interest

  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.7 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.1 mi
  • Usera: 1.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.9 mi
  • Latina: 2 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.7 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.1 mi
  • Usera: 1.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.7 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.9 mi
  • Latina: 2 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.3 mi
  • Carabanchel: 2.4 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.6 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.8 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.4 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.6 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.7 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 4.3 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.4 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.6 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.3 mi
  • San Blas: 5.6 mi
  • Hortaleza: 6.2 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 6.3 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Ganivet

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nipomo
Jun 1, 2010

Gavinet

The in-house breakfast was very ample and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of some of the restaurants that operate within Plaza Mayor. They are counting on you enjoying the surroundings and not concentrating on their poor quality of food. Look for a very nice restaurant within the city center called La Finca de Susana. Wait staff seemed bored but food very good and inexpensive.

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nipomo
Jun 1, 2010

Gavinet

The in-house breakfast was very ample and delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of some of the restaurants that operate within Plaza Mayor. They are counting on you enjoying the surroundings and not concentrating on their poor quality of food. Look for a very nice restaurant within the city center called La Finca de Susana. Wait staff seemed bored but food very good and inexpensive.

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins, Colorado
Dec 8, 2009

Nice and Central!

The hotel is 'walking distance' to Plaza Mayor, and there was a Christmas Market going while I was visiting. Puerta de Toledo is the closest Metro stop, and the hotel is just 200 (although uphill) meters away from the station. If you want to reach the hotel by Metro coming from the airport you have to change trains twice with quite some stairs in between... but it is definitely do-able. Nice restaurants all over the place, and in particular around Plaza Mayor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

opposite of the hotel ( alittle up the street) is a fairly low-key restaurant with a bar in the front room and a few tables in the back. Great kitchen, friendly people and great wine!

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins, Colorado
Dec 8, 2009

Nice and Central!

The hotel is 'walking distance' to Plaza Mayor, and there was a Christmas Market going while I was visiting. Puerta de Toledo is the closest Metro stop, and the hotel is just 200 (although uphill) meters away from the station. If you want to reach the hotel by Metro coming from the airport you have to change trains twice with quite some stairs in between... but it is definitely do-able. Nice restaurants all over the place, and in particular around Plaza Mayor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

opposite of the hotel ( alittle up the street) is a fairly low-key restaurant with a bar in the front room and a few tables in the back. Great kitchen, friendly people and great wine!

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Nov 22, 2009

Hotel Ganivet uncormfortable

The hotels location was awesome. The rooms were clean and nice. However, the bed was terrible and I felt like I could have slept better on the floor without a blanket. The rooms were not sound proof. I could hear everything in the streets from horns to motorcyles to chatty people. I could even hear people in the hallway of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ny
Nov 22, 2009

Hotel Ganivet uncormfortable

The hotels location was awesome. The rooms were clean and nice. However, the bed was terrible and I felt like I could have slept better on the floor without a blanket. The rooms were not sound proof. I could hear everything in the streets from horns to motorcyles to chatty people. I could even hear people in the hallway of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Nov 10, 2009

Costly but nice

I was traveling with college age kids and the only thing in the room that annoyed us was the quality of the reception on the tv when we tried to watch a soccer game. We had good subway access and near by food choices so we were pretty pleased. Internet access and wifi were good as well. Nice bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Flaminco dancing was close by and the staff assisted with our reservations

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Nov 10, 2009

Costly but nice

I was traveling with college age kids and the only thing in the room that annoyed us was the quality of the reception on the tv when we tried to watch a soccer game. We had good subway access and near by food choices so we were pretty pleased. Internet access and wifi were good as well. Nice bar...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Flaminco dancing was close by and the staff assisted with our reservations

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGregg
Austin, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Modern Hotel in Central Madrid

We arrived early to Madrid but had contacted them before regarding an early check-in. They had a room when we arrived, but it was a smoking room that smelled quite bad. To the staff's credit, they did location us a non-smoking room that was great. The big negative about our stay at the hotel was my wife had her purse stolen while we were in the hotel restaurant. In the staff's defense, the thieves were quite professional, the staff was extremely helpful with our contacting the police and made efforts looking at their security cameras to identify the culprits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 10 ride Metro pass to go anywhere in the city.

Review of Ganivet

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGregg
Austin, TX
Jun 1, 2009

Modern Hotel in Central Madrid

We arrived early to Madrid but had contacted them before regarding an early check-in. They had a room when we arrived, but it was a smoking room that smelled quite bad. To the staff's credit, they did location us a non-smoking room that was great. The big negative about our stay at the hotel was my wife had her purse stolen while we were in the hotel restaurant. In the staff's defense, the thieves were quite professional, the staff was extremely helpful with our contacting the police and made efforts looking at their security cameras to identify the culprits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a 10 ride Metro pass to go anywhere in the city.

Back to menu Return to top