$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

4 stars
Gran Via, 11, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
16 reviews
Classy Hotel on Gran Via

The staff is fantastic and always willing to help you locate a sight, make a reservation, or just... See full review

  • Charlie E
  • Dec 4, 2014
LOVED. IT.

I really loved this hotel. It was well placed for me, but I prefer hotels just outside of the hot... See full review

  • A.ndriana
  • Mar 20, 2014
Lovingly restored historic building located on the iconic Gran Via
Built in 1917 and part of the Heritage Community of Madrid, the De las Letras Hotel& Restaurante offers guests a unique and attractive combination of original canopies, glazed tiles, and beautiful staircases and chic, modern interior design components and amenities. Located on the world famous Gran Via, the hotel is close to the cultural hub of the city, as well as many major historical attractions. Fully restored in 2005, the hotel is topped by a spectacular terrace that offers magnificent views across the city. Guests find quotations from famous works of literature and poetry silkscreened on the hotel's walls, paying homage to its artistic surroundings and its name (which translates to "of the letters"). Original stone sculptures are located throughout the building
3 Reasons to Stay:
  • Extraordinary location on Madrid's famous Gran Via, with the finest shopping and nightlife
  • Restaurante DL and DL's Lounge offering local cuisine, cocktails, and live music
  • Spa offering massage services and Jacuzzi, and business center with three meeting rooms
De las Letras Hotel & Restaurante Rooms

The 103 guestrooms at the De las Letras Hotel & Restaurante are distributed over six floors and are built around interior patios on each floor. The rooms continue the design concept of the hotel's public spaces by featuring brightly colored walls upon which quotations from famous authors and poets have been printed in attractive calligraphy. All guestrooms feature large windows and high ceilings, while the Plus and DL rooms have large solarium terraces, which offer exquisite views of the city. Rooms emphasize contemporary furnishings and include two twin or one king bed with a pillow menu, a flat screen plasma television, individual climate control, and an en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries.  High-speedInternet access is available in all guestrooms at the De las Letras Hotel & Restaurante (fees may apply), and non-smoking rooms are available.

Things to Do:

· Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

· Puerta del Sol (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

· Museo Nacional del Prado (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

· Parque del Retiro (0.6 mi/1 km)

· Sabatini Gardens (0.7 mi/1.1 km)

· Reina Sofia (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Royal Palace of Madrid (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Plaza de Toros (2.1 mi/3.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard rooms, available on all floors of the building; light, warm, decorated with designer furniture and with various orientations, bathrooms with bathtub and shower, double pillows, personalized amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.6 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.3 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.8 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1.1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.6 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.3 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.9 mi
  • Latina: 2.9 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.4 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.4 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.4 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.7 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • San Blas: 4.9 mi
  • Villaverde: 5 mi
  • Vallecas: 5 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.3 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.4 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are meeting rooms located in the first floor which can help up to 200 people.

Dining

DLs
DLs Restaurant has an original and contemporary a la carte menu, offering market cuisine with creations adapted to every season, allowing guests to combine their dishes to their own tastes, using different sauces and garnishes. This a la carte menu is offered all year round, alongside a Japanese menu of great creativity and quality
Lounge Bar
The Lounge Bar is open from 7.00am to 1.00am seven days a week and until 3.00am on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, with live performances by DJs and a great variety of cocktails and mixed drinks. There is also a breakfast menu, a la carte menus with day-long service, mini DLs, afternoon tea, etc.
The Restaurant and Lounge Bar have very unique shapes and features, a long bar in stainless steel, black rubber and blue glass, furniture lacquered in red and specially designed to separate the different sections, spectacular lighting on the basis of mobiles made from ostrich eggs and a great screen on which literary texts are projected.
Bocablo
This peaceful and elegant space serves breakfast and snacks by day before transforming into a lively lounge by night.
Atico De las Letras
Located on the seventh floor this bar offers stunning views of the city. At night guests can soak up the live music by a DJ whilst enjoying a delicious cocktail. A special snack menu is available at any time of day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DdMonkey
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2012

3 great nights in Madrid

The De Las Letras is a lovely hotel in a stellar location in Madrid. I spent most of my time out and about in the city, so I can't really comment on the bar or restaurant or other services in the hotel. What I can say, though, is that the location was perfect, the building itself was very attractive, my room was clean and well cared for and I really had no complaints upon checkout. If I could have wished for anything, it would have been a shower with stronger water pressure, but it wasn't a major problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlie E
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 4, 2014

Classy Hotel on Gran Via

The staff is fantastic and always willing to help you locate a sight, make a reservation, or just explain local culture. The rooms facing the front of the hotel are noisy as Gran Via is very busy even into the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.ndriana
Business
Madrid, Spain
Mar 20, 2014

LOVED. IT.

I really loved this hotel. It was well placed for me, but I prefer hotels just outside of the hot spots. The staff was super friendly. The inside of the hotel had a beautiful, traditional staircase and the rooms were modern chic. The rooms were a bit on the small side but comfortable and had plenty of outlets. If I return to Madrid, I am coming back to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
culture
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 18, 2013

perfect location for seeing the sites

Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jubeancaster
Business
ancaster ON
Sep 29, 2013

Funky hotel in a very busy area

The hotel has a chic vibe. It is located on Gran Via which is VERY busy but convenient to everything. The room is very modern and comfortable but a bit on the dark side. Closet space was awkward and there are no dressers for your clothes...fine for a short stay. Breakfast was good but I was not pleased that I was not given the discounted price that is offerred if you eat every day you are staying. I could not eat breakfast on my last day as l left at 4 am and they pena'ized me so no breakfast discount for the days l did stay AND ate breakfast there. Staff were helpful and friendly but very busy. Music that was streamed in the hotel main areas was fantastic. Rooftop patio although cute did not offer much of a view of Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andalusian dreamer
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 4, 2013

Excellent hotel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The decor was all about books! and there were a lot of them around to read. Delicious breakfast. Unpretentious. It very near the Prado, one can walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Prado is a 10 minute walk, and the staff marks it on the map for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DdMonkey
Business
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2012

3 great nights in Madrid

The De Las Letras is a lovely hotel in a stellar location in Madrid. I spent most of my time out and about in the city, so I can't really comment on the bar or restaurant or other services in the hotel. What I can say, though, is that the location was perfect, the building itself was very attractive, my room was clean and well cared for and I really had no complaints upon checkout. If I could have wished for anything, it would have been a shower with stronger water pressure, but it wasn't a major problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SBH1956
Business
Boston
Oct 20, 2012

Stylish boutique hotel

This was our favorite hotel during a two-week visit to Spain. The decor was unique, with a literary theme, The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a very large, modern room overlooking the Gran Via. Street noise was an issue, so seek a room off the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

At 11 am, a free guided walking tour starts from Puerta del Sol.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 15, 2010

It's OK!

The service is poor, but the room is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Part-time Nomad
Business
New York, NY
Nov 14, 2010

Urban Find

Don't be misled by the unpromising entrance to this hotel, on a transitional section of the busy Gran Via. The doorway and entrance hall look more like those of a student rooming house: but this is a chic, comfortable, beautifully restored urban treasure. The rooms are well-appointed and tastefully furnished with hip minimalism, the bathrooms ditto; the charming roof garden and pleasant ground-floor lounge and restaurant are pluses. I loved it and would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De las Letras Hotel and Restaurante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 10, 2010

Convenient location, reasonable price

Staff were friendly, enough. Room was comfortable and clean. Although, we asked for double bed and got two side by side singles. Hotel is on one of the main streets so it is very noisy. The sound of garbage truck and emergency sirens woke me up several times during the night. Hair dryer is from the 50's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the hotel staff. Sorry, i don't remember the exact details right now.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top