$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Catalonia Las Cortes

4 stars
Prado, 6, Madrid, 28014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Beautiful hotel in a great area of the city

This hotel was so beautifully appointed and classic. I was beyond impressed! See full review

  • Lbomb
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in Madrid

I highly recommend this boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. See full review

  • asianchiki
  • May 26, 2014
Stylish, centrally located hotel housed in 18th century palace

Housed in a small former palace in the exclusive Las Letras section of the city, the Catalonia Las Cortes offers its guests 21st century facilities and amenities all in 18th century splendor. Arrive to a classical ambiance in the public spaces, original paintings, and a sweeping main staircase. The hotel also provides guests with a fully equipped, modern business center with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the facility. The convenient location of the hotel places it within walking distance of many of Madrid's most famous cultural and historical attractions, as well as the dining, shopping, and nightlife for which the Spanish capital is known.

3 Reasons To Stay:

· Charming location in bohemian Las Letras, close to the Puerta del Sol and the Prado

· Onsite restaurant features delicious cuisine, with nightlife venues in walking distance

· Fully equipped business center, complimentary Wi-Fi and two large meeting rooms

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

The Catalonia Las Cortes offers 65 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, each uniquely decorated in a classical style that continues the ambiance found in the hotel's public areas. Some rooms even feature original frescoes painted on the ceilings. Accommodations feature large windows that let in plenty of light, and some offer a small private balcony. All guestrooms and suites include air conditioning, a flat screen satellite television, direct dial telephone, a minibar, and an en suite marble bathroom. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access is available in all accommodations at the Catalonia Las Cortes, and guests can request rooms with access for disabled guests. Room service is also available.

Things To Do:

· Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

· Gran Via (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Museo Nacional del Prado (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Reina Sofia (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

· Parque del Retiro (0.6 mi/1 km)

· Royal Palace of Madrid (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Sabatini Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Plaza de Toros (2.2 mi/3.6 km)

Hotel Map

40.4146 -3.6998
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
MAD Airport (Barajas).
Area description
Located in Madrid's famous "Barrio de las Letras", or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. AVE (high Speed train) is located by Atocha station; just 1.3 Km from the hotel; it just takes 5 minutes by taxi or 12 minutes if you decide to make a walk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Las Cortes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

Twin
Room with one twin bed includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).
Twin
Room with two twin beds includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.2 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.9 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.1 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.7 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.7 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • San Blas: 5 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant with international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Las Cortes

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 20
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cand v
London uk
May 27, 2013

comfortable and very helpful staff

The room was fabulous, quiet and well equipped, the bathroom was marbled and of generous proportions, the staff were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure that our, four day, stay was pleasurable. We have stayed in many hotels around the world but never have encountered such dedicated staff. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask where the locals eat

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianne 'n Jim
Chicago
Oct 1, 2012

We loved this hotel!

The Catalonia Las Cortes is all a great boutique hotel should be. Our room was very large and beautiful, and the staff bent over backwards to make sure our every request was met. We had a problem with a slow-draining tub, and they fixed it in 5 minutes. More towels? No problem. But the best thing was the staff at the front desk. They made all our restaurant and side trip reservations in no time flat and had wonderful suggestions. On the whole, the friendliest, most helpful staff of any hotel of any trip. We loved Madrid, and this hotel was part of the reason why!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best meal we've ever enjoyed in our lives was at Diverxo. This is expensive fine dining for those who enjoy food as delicious art. We heard about it from Anthony Bourdain and hesitated at first because we weren't sure we wanted Asian fusion food in Madrid, but in the end, we wanted to make sure to eat in another great world class restaurant. Every single bite was a revelation.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foxy
Australia
Aug 19, 2012

Absolutely great !

We did some rental car touring of Spain and didn't want to take all our bags with us - The hotel very kindly offered to look after them for us for the duration... The hotel itself is very centrally located directly opposite Santa Ana Plaza. The staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. Our room (409) overlooked the red slate roofs of the neighboring buildings and provided a very pleasant outlook. The room itself was large and the bathroom huge! It was immaculately clean. The hotel appeared recently renovated... Take small suitcases as you will need to prioritize whether the lift takes people or suitcases (LOL) !!! All in all we had a great time at this hotel and would have loved to have stayed longer - Even the prices were great value for money!! The breakfast was to die for -Abundant smoked salmon, hams, cheeses, American style eggs... Couldn't wish for more!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thousands of restaurants close by...

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rayboy
Doylestown, PA, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Madrid Bookends to a Costa Del Sol Getaway

This hotel is perfectly situated for access to the key sites of Madrid and the wonderful plazas, restaurants and night life that make up the Madrid "experience". We stayed 3 nights in the standard double and one night in the best accomodations available. It is clean, quiet, and comfortable. Very respectable without the unnecesary extravagance ( and $$$) we observed of other plusher places we observed nearby. Staff were helpful and dependable though I would not say overtly friendly. We didn't dine in the restaurant with 100's of local options within blocks. Perfect for our purposes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Mijas for affordable shopping.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillT
Maryland
Sep 26, 2011

Good value and location

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite nice with a good staff. The location was excellent. We were only in Madrid for 2 days, and some wonderful sights were within reasonable walking distance. Of course after all that walking we needed good meals. There were numerous tapas restaurants close to the hotel. We look forward to returning to Madrid and the Catalonia Las Cortes will be our hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 1, 2011

Just Book Madrid

This is probably the worst hotel we've stayed during our two week trip in Spain. Do not believe [...] reviews. Staff is even surprised that people are raving about this hotel. There is absolutelly nothing and i mean nothing to rave about. Ordinary as ordinary can be. At times it feels like a cheap Motel. Reception area, bar, rooms and just overall decor is tasteless and horrible. You will not feel special throughout your stay. Hotel ME is located just around the corner. I wish I knew this before booking this hotel. It is a day and night in comparison. Just pay a little bit extra but you wont regret it at the end. I hope the staff gets this review. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt lake city, Utah
Nov 10, 2010

Great location, comfortable rooms.

Excellent location. Near the Prado, restaurants and shopping. Room tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
56 yr old 30 yrs married
Arlington, TX
May 28, 2009

Excellent location, sweet accomodation

We ended up staying in the same room we stayed in last fall, in the back corner of the hotel with 2 windows that let in great sunlight with a view of the roof tops of other buildings. Clean, quiet, superb a/c, great shower, big thick towels....everything you want in a fine hotel. The breakfast and staff are excellent! Our second stay was as good as the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search