$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Catalonia Las Cortes

4 stars
Prado, 6, Madrid, 28014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Beautiful hotel in a great area of the city

This hotel was so beautifully appointed and classic. I was beyond impressed! See full review

  • Lbomb
  • Jul 30, 2014
Great hotel in Madrid

I highly recommend this boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. See full review

  • asianchiki
  • May 26, 2014
Stylish, centrally located hotel housed in 18th century palace

Housed in a small former palace in the exclusive Las Letras section of the city, the Catalonia Las Cortes offers its guests 21st century facilities and amenities all in 18th century splendor. Arrive to a classical ambiance in the public spaces, original paintings, and a sweeping main staircase. The hotel also provides guests with a fully equipped, modern business center with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the facility. The convenient location of the hotel places it within walking distance of many of Madrid's most famous cultural and historical attractions, as well as the dining, shopping, and nightlife for which the Spanish capital is known.

3 Reasons To Stay:

· Charming location in bohemian Las Letras, close to the Puerta del Sol and the Prado

· Onsite restaurant features delicious cuisine, with nightlife venues in walking distance

· Fully equipped business center, complimentary Wi-Fi and two large meeting rooms

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

The Catalonia Las Cortes offers 65 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, each uniquely decorated in a classical style that continues the ambiance found in the hotel's public areas. Some rooms even feature original frescoes painted on the ceilings. Accommodations feature large windows that let in plenty of light, and some offer a small private balcony. All guestrooms and suites include air conditioning, a flat screen satellite television, direct dial telephone, a minibar, and an en suite marble bathroom. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access is available in all accommodations at the Catalonia Las Cortes, and guests can request rooms with access for disabled guests. Room service is also available.

Things To Do:

· Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

· Gran Via (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Museo Nacional del Prado (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Reina Sofia (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

· Parque del Retiro (0.6 mi/1 km)

· Royal Palace of Madrid (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Sabatini Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Plaza de Toros (2.2 mi/3.6 km)

Hotel Map

40.4146 -3.6998
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
MAD Airport (Barajas).
Area description
Located in Madrid's famous "Barrio de las Letras", or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. AVE (high Speed train) is located by Atocha station; just 1.3 Km from the hotel; it just takes 5 minutes by taxi or 12 minutes if you decide to make a walk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Las Cortes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

Twin
Room with one twin bed includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).
Twin
Room with two twin beds includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.2 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.9 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.1 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.7 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.7 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • San Blas: 5 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant with international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Las Cortes

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lbomb
Denver, CO
Jul 30, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a great area of the city

This hotel was so beautifully appointed and classic. I was beyond impressed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cand v
London uk
May 27, 2013

comfortable and very helpful staff

The room was fabulous, quiet and well equipped, the bathroom was marbled and of generous proportions, the staff were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure that our, four day, stay was pleasurable. We have stayed in many hotels around the world but never have encountered such dedicated staff. We will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask where the locals eat

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marianne 'n Jim
Chicago
Oct 1, 2012

We loved this hotel!

The Catalonia Las Cortes is all a great boutique hotel should be. Our room was very large and beautiful, and the staff bent over backwards to make sure our every request was met. We had a problem with a slow-draining tub, and they fixed it in 5 minutes. More towels? No problem. But the best thing was the staff at the front desk. They made all our restaurant and side trip reservations in no time flat and had wonderful suggestions. On the whole, the friendliest, most helpful staff of any hotel of any trip. We loved Madrid, and this hotel was part of the reason why!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The best meal we've ever enjoyed in our lives was at Diverxo. This is expensive fine dining for those who enjoy food as delicious art. We heard about it from Anthony Bourdain and hesitated at first because we weren't sure we wanted Asian fusion food in Madrid, but in the end, we wanted to make sure to eat in another great world class restaurant. Every single bite was a revelation.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Foxy
Australia
Aug 19, 2012

Absolutely great !

We did some rental car touring of Spain and didn't want to take all our bags with us - The hotel very kindly offered to look after them for us for the duration... The hotel itself is very centrally located directly opposite Santa Ana Plaza. The staff were extremely pleasant and welcoming. Our room (409) overlooked the red slate roofs of the neighboring buildings and provided a very pleasant outlook. The room itself was large and the bathroom huge! It was immaculately clean. The hotel appeared recently renovated... Take small suitcases as you will need to prioritize whether the lift takes people or suitcases (LOL) !!! All in all we had a great time at this hotel and would have loved to have stayed longer - Even the prices were great value for money!! The breakfast was to die for -Abundant smoked salmon, hams, cheeses, American style eggs... Couldn't wish for more!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thousands of restaurants close by...

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
new yorker5
New York, NY
Aug 5, 2012

Great, centrally located hotel

I was only in Madrdid for one night, but staying at the Catalonia Las Cortes allowed me to see much of the area around the Prado. The hotel rate was an excellent value - this hotel is truly a find. The rooms were very nice (and I usually stay in the Four Seasons or W hotels when traveling for work) and staff very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and was highly impressed at the hotel quality given the prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Iris T
New Jersey
Jul 29, 2012

Perfect location. Nice boutique feel

Perfect location. Nice boutique feel. Near airport bus shuttle. Near museums, restaurants and shopping yet very quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2011

Absolutely loved it!

Beautifully decorated and wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Prado.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Jun 24, 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a very

This is a lovely hotel in a very convenient area of Madrid. Our room was very well furnished, if a little bit small. We were situated next to the elevator, but the hotel is so well designed and soundproofed we didn't hear any noise from it or from the hallways. The staff were very professional and courteous. The hotel is in a fabulous location in the centre of old Madrid and very close to the Prado, Thysson, Atocha station and the Plaza Mayor and Royal Palace. We'd definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jun 1, 2011

a winner!

The best location in Madrid, steps from Plaza Santa Ana's great assortment of tapas restaurants, and just a few mins walk from the Prado, the Reina Sophia, and Thyssen-Bornemiza museums. Lovely hotel in an historic building, with good sized rooms, nicely appointed. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our 3 nights stay. We'll definitely return here on our next trip to madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
Mar 9, 2011

Highly recommended!

I was in Madrid on business and enjoyed this hotel immensely. Centrally located in a quiet neighborhood (and that itself is unbeatable), the hotel's staff were helpful and cheerful. While the hotel lobby is small, it's big enough to meet up with colleagues for a cafe con leche - and it's comfortable. Besides, the neighborhood is hopping. Just up the street is Plaza Santa Ana, a fabulous square filled with famous restaurants and tapas places. And if you're there for the museums, it takes about ten minutes to walk to the Prado. This hotel was recommended by friends. I am grateful for the tip and would recommend it to anyone. I would always stay there when visiting Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out a place just up the street, Lizarran, which is famous for its little open faced sandwiches from the Basque Region, called pinchos. You pick up a plate at the bar and choose what you like, and take it to your table. These aren't expensive and are just the thing for a light supper. The place has a fun atmosphere and also, amazing desserts. Enjoy!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search