$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Catalonia Las Cortes

4 stars
Prado, 6, Madrid, 28014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
25 reviews
Great hotel in Madrid

I highly recommend this boutique hotel. The staff was friendly and the rooms were spacious and clean. See full review

  • asianchiki
  • May 26, 2014
comfortable and very helpful staff

The room was fabulous, quiet and well equipped, the bathroom was marbled and of generous... See full review

  • cand v
  • May 27, 2013
Stylish, centrally located hotel housed in 18th century palace

Housed in a small former palace in the exclusive Las Letras section of the city, the Catalonia Las Cortes offers its guests 21st century facilities and amenities all in 18th century splendor. Arrive to a classical ambiance in the public spaces, original paintings, and a sweeping main staircase. The hotel also provides guests with a fully equipped, modern business center with complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the facility. The convenient location of the hotel places it within walking distance of many of Madrid's most famous cultural and historical attractions, as well as the dining, shopping, and nightlife for which the Spanish capital is known.

3 Reasons To Stay:

· Charming location in bohemian Las Letras, close to the Puerta del Sol and the Prado

· Onsite restaurant features delicious cuisine, with nightlife venues in walking distance

· Fully equipped business center, complimentary Wi-Fi and two large meeting rooms

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

The Catalonia Las Cortes offers 65 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites, each uniquely decorated in a classical style that continues the ambiance found in the hotel's public areas. Some rooms even feature original frescoes painted on the ceilings. Accommodations feature large windows that let in plenty of light, and some offer a small private balcony. All guestrooms and suites include air conditioning, a flat screen satellite television, direct dial telephone, a minibar, and an en suite marble bathroom. Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access is available in all accommodations at the Catalonia Las Cortes, and guests can request rooms with access for disabled guests. Room service is also available.

Things To Do:

· Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

· Gran Via (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Museo Nacional del Prado (0.4 mi/0.6 km)

· Reina Sofia (0.5 mi/0.8 km)

· Parque del Retiro (0.6 mi/1 km)

· Royal Palace of Madrid (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Sabatini Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)

· Plaza de Toros (2.2 mi/3.6 km)

Catalonia Las Cortes Rooms

Twin
Room with one twin bed includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).
Twin
Room with two twin beds includes air conditioning, marble baths, direct phone lines, a mini bar, free wireless internet connection, satellite TV with canal and safe. Laundry and dry cleaning service (chargeable).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Catalonia Las Cortes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.4146 -3.6998
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
MAD Airport (Barajas).
Area description
Located in Madrid's famous "Barrio de las Letras", or writer's district, it is just a few metres from Plaza Santa Ana square and equally closes to the city's main shopping and leisure districts. AVE (high Speed train) is located by Atocha station; just 1.3 Km from the hotel; it just takes 5 minutes by taxi or 12 minutes if you decide to make a walk.

Nearby points of interest

  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.1 mi
  • Cortes: 0.2 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.4 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.7 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 0.8 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.2 mi
  • Chamberi: 1.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.4 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.9 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.2 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.9 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.1 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.2 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.6 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.7 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.1 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4.7 mi
  • Villaverde: 4.7 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • San Blas: 5 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.5 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.6 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Restaurant with international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Las Cortes

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 1, 2011

Just Book Madrid

This is probably the worst hotel we've stayed during our two week trip in Spain. Do not believe [...] reviews. Staff is even surprised that people are raving about this hotel. There is absolutelly nothing and i mean nothing to rave about. Ordinary as ordinary can be. At times it feels like a cheap Motel. Reception area, bar, rooms and just overall decor is tasteless and horrible. You will not feel special throughout your stay. Hotel ME is located just around the corner. I wish I knew this before booking this hotel. It is a day and night in comparison. Just pay a little bit extra but you wont regret it at the end. I hope the staff gets this review. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2011

Absolutely loved it!

Beautifully decorated and wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Prado.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2011

Absolutely loved it!

Beautifully decorated and wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Prado.

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jun 1, 2011

a winner!

The best location in Madrid, steps from Plaza Santa Ana's great assortment of tapas restaurants, and just a few mins walk from the Prado, the Reina Sophia, and Thyssen-Bornemiza museums. Lovely hotel in an historic building, with good sized rooms, nicely appointed. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our 3 nights stay. We'll definitely return here on our next trip to madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jun 1, 2011

a winner!

The best location in Madrid, steps from Plaza Santa Ana's great assortment of tapas restaurants, and just a few mins walk from the Prado, the Reina Sophia, and Thyssen-Bornemiza museums. Lovely hotel in an historic building, with good sized rooms, nicely appointed. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our 3 nights stay. We'll definitely return here on our next trip to madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
Mar 9, 2011

Highly recommended!

I was in Madrid on business and enjoyed this hotel immensely. Centrally located in a quiet neighborhood (and that itself is unbeatable), the hotel's staff were helpful and cheerful. While the hotel lobby is small, it's big enough to meet up with colleagues for a cafe con leche - and it's comfortable. Besides, the neighborhood is hopping. Just up the street is Plaza Santa Ana, a fabulous square filled with famous restaurants and tapas places. And if you're there for the museums, it takes about ten minutes to walk to the Prado. This hotel was recommended by friends. I am grateful for the tip and would recommend it to anyone. I would always stay there when visiting Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out a place just up the street, Lizarran, which is famous for its little open faced sandwiches from the Basque Region, called pinchos. You pick up a plate at the bar and choose what you like, and take it to your table. These aren't expensive and are just the thing for a light supper. The place has a fun atmosphere and also, amazing desserts. Enjoy!

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
Mar 9, 2011

Highly recommended!

I was in Madrid on business and enjoyed this hotel immensely. Centrally located in a quiet neighborhood (and that itself is unbeatable), the hotel's staff were helpful and cheerful. While the hotel lobby is small, it's big enough to meet up with colleagues for a cafe con leche - and it's comfortable. Besides, the neighborhood is hopping. Just up the street is Plaza Santa Ana, a fabulous square filled with famous restaurants and tapas places. And if you're there for the museums, it takes about ten minutes to walk to the Prado. This hotel was recommended by friends. I am grateful for the tip and would recommend it to anyone. I would always stay there when visiting Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out a place just up the street, Lizarran, which is famous for its little open faced sandwiches from the Basque Region, called pinchos. You pick up a plate at the bar and choose what you like, and take it to your table. These aren't expensive and are just the thing for a light supper. The place has a fun atmosphere and also, amazing desserts. Enjoy!

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oma
philadelphia pa
Mar 5, 2011

catalonia las cortes

great location, friendly staff, lovely clean rooms. we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the frontdesk secured our tickets for the Prado, therefore no wait

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oma
philadelphia pa
Mar 5, 2011

catalonia las cortes

great location, friendly staff, lovely clean rooms. we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the frontdesk secured our tickets for the Prado, therefore no wait

Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt lake city, Utah
Nov 10, 2010

Great location, comfortable rooms.

Excellent location. Near the Prado, restaurants and shopping. Room tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top