$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 7, 2015

Catalonia Las Cortes

4 stars
View map of Prado, 6, Madrid, 28014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Catalonia Las Cortes

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BillT
Business
Maryland
Sep 26, 2011

Good value and location

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is quite nice with a good staff. The location was excellent. We were only in Madrid for 2 days, and some wonderful sights were within reasonable walking distance. Of course after all that walking we needed good meals. There were numerous tapas restaurants close to the hotel. We look forward to returning to Madrid and the Catalonia Las Cortes will be our hotel of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 1, 2011

Just Book Madrid

This is probably the worst hotel we've stayed during our two week trip in Spain. Do not believe [...] reviews. Staff is even surprised that people are raving about this hotel. There is absolutelly nothing and i mean nothing to rave about. Ordinary as ordinary can be. At times it feels like a cheap Motel. Reception area, bar, rooms and just overall decor is tasteless and horrible. You will not feel special throughout your stay. Hotel ME is located just around the corner. I wish I knew this before booking this hotel. It is a day and night in comparison. Just pay a little bit extra but you wont regret it at the end. I hope the staff gets this review. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
St. John the Divine
Business
New York, NY
Jul 11, 2011

Absolutely loved it!

Beautifully decorated and wonderful, friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Prado.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Jun 1, 2011

a winner!

The best location in Madrid, steps from Plaza Santa Ana's great assortment of tapas restaurants, and just a few mins walk from the Prado, the Reina Sophia, and Thyssen-Bornemiza museums. Lovely hotel in an historic building, with good sized rooms, nicely appointed. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better place for our 3 nights stay. We'll definitely return here on our next trip to madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, USA
Mar 9, 2011

Highly recommended!

I was in Madrid on business and enjoyed this hotel immensely. Centrally located in a quiet neighborhood (and that itself is unbeatable), the hotel's staff were helpful and cheerful. While the hotel lobby is small, it's big enough to meet up with colleagues for a cafe con leche - and it's comfortable. Besides, the neighborhood is hopping. Just up the street is Plaza Santa Ana, a fabulous square filled with famous restaurants and tapas places. And if you're there for the museums, it takes about ten minutes to walk to the Prado. This hotel was recommended by friends. I am grateful for the tip and would recommend it to anyone. I would always stay there when visiting Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out a place just up the street, Lizarran, which is famous for its little open faced sandwiches from the Basque Region, called pinchos. You pick up a plate at the bar and choose what you like, and take it to your table. These aren't expensive and are just the thing for a light supper. The place has a fun atmosphere and also, amazing desserts. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
oma
Business
philadelphia pa
Mar 5, 2011

catalonia las cortes

great location, friendly staff, lovely clean rooms. we enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the frontdesk secured our tickets for the Prado, therefore no wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt lake city, Utah
Nov 10, 2010

Great location, comfortable rooms.

Excellent location. Near the Prado, restaurants and shopping. Room tastefully decorated and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
56 yr old 30 yrs married
Business
Arlington, TX
May 28, 2009

Excellent location, sweet accomodation

We ended up staying in the same room we stayed in last fall, in the back corner of the hotel with 2 windows that let in great sunlight with a view of the roof tops of other buildings. Clean, quiet, superb a/c, great shower, big thick towels....everything you want in a fine hotel. The breakfast and staff are excellent! Our second stay was as good as the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Catalonia Las Cortes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sea Girt, NJ
May 23, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location

The hotel was newly-renovated (2006) and it showed.It looked impeccably maintained. I would recommend it without qualification. The only reason I would not give it a fifth star is because the room was a little small, just a double bed with a small sitting area, but this is a restored palacio and I'm sure they had limited space. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near Museo de Prado and Parque de Retiro. We spent a couple of hours each afternoon relaxing in the park. Don't miss it; just walk in any direction and you'll find something unexpected and amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top