$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Best Western Arosa

4 stars
Salud, 21- Gran Via 29, Madrid, Spain, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
49 reviews
very good

I had a good time there. thanks everything was very nice there. See full review

  • Federicoviajes
  • Jul 17, 2014
Time in Madrid

First the negatives. Room is pretty small. I believe the bed is even smaller than a twin.... See full review

  • donthaveanothername
  • Apr 29, 2014
4-star hotel close to Madrid's "Golden Triangle of Art"
Guests at the Best Western Arosa will enjoy close proximity to everything the city center in Madrid has to offer. The area surrounding the hotel, just off Gran Via, is bustling with shops, restaurants, bars and entertainment. Bus and metro service are steps away, providing sightseers an excellent opportunity to take in the splendor of the city. The hotel is a short walk to the "Golden Triangle of Art," comprising three of the most famous art museums in Madrid, and excellent dining options, including popular tapas bars.
Highlights
  • Steps from Gran Via and a short walk from attractions like the art museums and Puerta del Sol
  • Hotel amenities include free Internet access and complimentary baggage hold
  • Meeting rooms available for business guests
Rooms
The Best Western Arosa has 126 cozy and tastefully designed guest rooms, each with standard accommodations such as TV with pay movies, air conditioning, coffee- and tea-making facilities, clothing care facilities, a minibar and a safe. Bathrooms include hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available and all rooms feature free high-speed Internet access.
Features
A stone's throw from Gran Via in the bustling city center of Madrid, the Best Western Arosa offers visitors a great location and amenities during their stay. The hotel is close to major attractions and shopping, and steps to bus and metro service. Amenities include free Wi-Fi access, free baggage hold service, a currency exchange, parking (at a charge), and an airport shuttle (fee applies). A breakfast buffet is available at the hotel in the mornings (fee applies).
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service outside the Best Western Arosa
  • Madrid Metro station (0.1 mi/0.1km)
  • Shuttle to Barajas Airport available from hotel, fee applies (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Puerta del Sol (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Royal Botanic Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms with capacity of up to 30 people
  • Rooms have temperature control, natural light
  • Audio-video resources
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Photocopying and fax services
  • Mineral water and sweets provided

Hotel Map

40.42 -3.7034
Area served
Madrid
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International (MAD. Hotel can arrange airport pick up.
Area description
EVERYTHING that you are looking for IN a city like MADRID is NEAT the Best Western Hotel AROSA. There are so many activities surrounding us that it will be difficult to know what to choose: Gran Via Avenue, the “Broadway of Madrid” where you can see the best musicals in the city or enjoy a day of shopping in the most exclusive fashion stores, Fuencarral street, in the district of Chueca, with its famous designers shops, Preciados and Carmen streets, the main pedestrian shopping streets in Madrid with hundreds of shops and department stores. Puerta del Sol, Mayor Square, the Royal Palace, the Opera House and the famous Art Triangle made up of the Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Arosa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Best Western Arosa Rooms

NON REFUNDABLE OFFER- SINGLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 single bed. Non refundable offer.
NON REFUNDABLE OFFER-TWIN ROOM
Standard room with 2 single beds. Non refundable offer.
NON REFUNDABLE OFFER-DOUBLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 double bed. Non refundable offer.
SINGLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 single bed.
TWIN ROOM
Standard room with 2 single beds.
DOUBLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 double bed.
EXECUTIVE ROOM
Room with 1 queen bed. FREE Buffet breakfast, FREE Minibar, FREE pay-TV the whole stay, Bathrobe and Slippers.
JAPANESE ROOM
Room with 1 double bed or 2 single beds.Latex Futon on a Tatami base.FREE Buffet Breakfast,FREE Minibar,Duvet,BVLGARI toletry,Bathrobe and Slippers

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.4 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.8 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.8 mi
  • Latina: 2.8 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.9 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.5 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.8 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5 mi
  • Villaverde: 5 mi
  • San Blas: 5.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.2 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.4 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.5 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Dining

19, SUSHI BAR Restaurant
19, SUSHI BAR Enjoy the best Japanese cuisine in our city. We will introduce you to the most avant-guard Japanese cuisine Lunch: from 13:30 to 16:00 Dinner:from 20:30 to 23:00 Closed Saturdays (lunch time) and Sundays
SNACK BAR
Make yourself comfortable and enjoy our Bar with your favourite drink or have a snack. Opening hours from 07:00 to 23:00
BREAKFAST Restaurant
We suggest you to begin the day with our Breakfast Buffet in which you also will find a japanese section. Times: Monday to Friday 07:00 to 11:00 Saturday&Sunday and Holydays: 07:30 to 11:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0100
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Arosa

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermosillo, Sonora
Jul 30, 2011

Horrible Experience in Madrid

Horrible experience, the hotel entrance was really hard to find due to renovations. The Hotel front desk was in the second floor and the hotel staff was extremly rude. They decided to give me the room they wanted without considering my reservation preferences and wanted to charge me more because "they gave me a different room", after they made me wait an hour more for the room to be ready. The room that was asigned to me was in the under "construction area" so my window was blocked by a catwalk. Upon my departure i asked for my invoice and the guy in front desk actually said to me "Ask it to the ones that paid your room" [...]. Overall the rooms are average, but the staff is extremly rude, and to a certain point discriminative to the [...] clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is really near to the hotel

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nabadabadoo
UAE
Jul 13, 2014

Way worse than advertised

The room was tiny, with a wooden floor. When I asked for a bigger room, I was told to pay 35 additional Euros per night. The bed was uncomfortable, set in a corner. The room stank and when I saw the cleaners spray air freshner in a neighboring room I requested it for mine but they plainly refused. Old style tv with very little choice. Internet login had to be requested only for 24 hours at a time. Only once did I get it for 72 hours. At least this room was no way near 4-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermosillo, Sonora
Jul 30, 2011

Horrible Experience in Madrid

Horrible experience, the hotel entrance was really hard to find due to renovations. The Hotel front desk was in the second floor and the hotel staff was extremly rude. They decided to give me the room they wanted without considering my reservation preferences and wanted to charge me more because "they gave me a different room", after they made me wait an hour more for the room to be ready. The room that was asigned to me was in the under "construction area" so my window was blocked by a catwalk. Upon my departure i asked for my invoice and the guy in front desk actually said to me "Ask it to the ones that paid your room" [...]. Overall the rooms are average, but the staff is extremly rude, and to a certain point discriminative to the [...] clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is really near to the hotel

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BiancaT
Business
McLean, VA
Jan 16, 2013

Location only

Hotel has the smallest lobby and elevator I have ever seen... and I traveled a lot.. Also, it needs urgent renovation, as everything is outdated..tiles cracked, furniture scratched. Stuff speaks barely English, none in restaurant... strange.. Location is the best... that saved the day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to Grande Via, then left, then on the fist big intersection (50m) after English corner, go semi-left down to walking street full of different fabulous restaurants... priced from lower to higher... I wish I knew about it immediately..

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
remanet
munich
Apr 13, 2010

not so bad

Heater was not working properly at all. the matress was not comfy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
remanet
munich
Apr 13, 2010

not so bad

Heater was not working properly at all. the matress was not comfy at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
coming from Cairo
Aug 2, 2009

more like a hospital room in Madrid

we paid for one night knowing we were checking in at 5 a.m. on a long layover, very jetlagged. the room looked nothing like the website - looked like a hospital room, no color - bland beige and very bare bones. i was hoping from the website it would take on the flavor of Madrid. anyway we woke up very tired and asked the receptionists if we could please check out at 1pm instead of noon because we had only stayed half a night. they said no unless we wanted to pay 35 more euros (for one hour!) as we were checking out the man in front of us asked to be able to check out at 1pm and they told him yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
coming from Cairo
Aug 2, 2009

more like a hospital room in Madrid

we paid for one night knowing we were checking in at 5 a.m. on a long layover, very jetlagged. the room looked nothing like the website - looked like a hospital room, no color - bland beige and very bare bones. i was hoping from the website it would take on the flavor of Madrid. anyway we woke up very tired and asked the receptionists if we could please check out at 1pm instead of noon because we had only stayed half a night. they said no unless we wanted to pay 35 more euros (for one hour!) as we were checking out the man in front of us asked to be able to check out at 1pm and they told him yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Onsp
Israel
Oct 14, 2011

2.5 starrs hotel in a cover of 4 stars

Bad looking shower, non-stable internet connection, no bath brush, in noon - no hot water (you have to call them to fix it). Elevators - Most horrible thing ever - 1 elevator is for 2 people, the other is for 4: In the morning you just cannot get one because they're full all the time. Sometime they can forget cleaning your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pub Crawel of Sandemans NewEurope. It's the best!

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sor Juana
Mexico
Jul 26, 2009

Japonese floor is 4 stars

I finally find out the rating trick. The Japanese style floor is the 4 star part of the hotel. The rest is 2 or 3 stars. They probably show the Japanese style floor when the inspectors come to give the star rating. I stayed in the hotel two time in the past two weeks. The first time I got a miserable tiny room with no light and noisy cleaning going on outside my room. When I returned, they put me on the Japanese style floor because there were no other no-smoking rooms. The Japanese style floor is more or less 4 stars. The regular rooms are not 4 stars. The buffet breakfast is good and the location is great, but the non-Japanese rooms are not worth it. Better to go to the 3 star Hotel Regina on Alcalá.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Convent of the Descalzas Reales. If you turn left going out the hotel door, you will be there in a few minutes. It is spectacular and very interesting.

Back to menu Return to top