$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Best Western Arosa

4 stars
Salud, 21- Gran Via 29, Madrid, Spain, Madrid, 28013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
49 reviews
very good

I had a good time there. thanks everything was very nice there. See full review

  • Federicoviajes
  • Jul 17, 2014
Time in Madrid

First the negatives. Room is pretty small. I believe the bed is even smaller than a twin.... See full review

  • donthaveanothername
  • Apr 29, 2014
4-star hotel close to Madrid's "Golden Triangle of Art"
Guests at the Best Western Arosa will enjoy close proximity to everything the city center in Madrid has to offer. The area surrounding the hotel, just off Gran Via, is bustling with shops, restaurants, bars and entertainment. Bus and metro service are steps away, providing sightseers an excellent opportunity to take in the splendor of the city. The hotel is a short walk to the "Golden Triangle of Art," comprising three of the most famous art museums in Madrid, and excellent dining options, including popular tapas bars.
Highlights
  • Steps from Gran Via and a short walk from attractions like the art museums and Puerta del Sol
  • Hotel amenities include free Internet access and complimentary baggage hold
  • Meeting rooms available for business guests
Rooms
The Best Western Arosa has 126 cozy and tastefully designed guest rooms, each with standard accommodations such as TV with pay movies, air conditioning, coffee- and tea-making facilities, clothing care facilities, a minibar and a safe. Bathrooms include hair dryers. Non-smoking rooms are available and all rooms feature free high-speed Internet access.
Features
A stone's throw from Gran Via in the bustling city center of Madrid, the Best Western Arosa offers visitors a great location and amenities during their stay. The hotel is close to major attractions and shopping, and steps to bus and metro service. Amenities include free Wi-Fi access, free baggage hold service, a currency exchange, parking (at a charge), and an airport shuttle (fee applies). A breakfast buffet is available at the hotel in the mornings (fee applies).
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service outside the Best Western Arosa
  • Madrid Metro station (0.1 mi/0.1km)
  • Shuttle to Barajas Airport available from hotel, fee applies (10 mi/16 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Puerta del Sol (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Royal Palace (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Royal Botanic Garden (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Two meeting rooms with capacity of up to 30 people
  • Rooms have temperature control, natural light
  • Audio-video resources
  • Free Wi-Fi access
  • Photocopying and fax services
  • Mineral water and sweets provided

Best Western Arosa Rooms

NON REFUNDABLE OFFER- SINGLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 single bed. Non refundable offer.
NON REFUNDABLE OFFER-TWIN ROOM
Standard room with 2 single beds. Non refundable offer.
NON REFUNDABLE OFFER-DOUBLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 double bed. Non refundable offer.
SINGLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 single bed.
TWIN ROOM
Standard room with 2 single beds.
DOUBLE ROOM
Standard room with 1 double bed.
EXECUTIVE ROOM
Room with 1 queen bed. FREE Buffet breakfast, FREE Minibar, FREE pay-TV the whole stay, Bathrobe and Slippers.
JAPANESE ROOM
Room with 1 double bed or 2 single beds.Latex Futon on a Tatami base.FREE Buffet Breakfast,FREE Minibar,Duvet,BVLGARI toletry,Bathrobe and Slippers

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Arosa also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.42 -3.7034
Area served
Madrid
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International (MAD. Hotel can arrange airport pick up.
Area description
EVERYTHING that you are looking for IN a city like MADRID is NEAT the Best Western Hotel AROSA. There are so many activities surrounding us that it will be difficult to know what to choose: Gran Via Avenue, the “Broadway of Madrid” where you can see the best musicals in the city or enjoy a day of shopping in the most exclusive fashion stores, Fuencarral street, in the district of Chueca, with its famous designers shops, Preciados and Carmen streets, the main pedestrian shopping streets in Madrid with hundreds of shops and department stores. Puerta del Sol, Mayor Square, the Royal Palace, the Opera House and the famous Art Triangle made up of the Prado Museum, the Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum and the Reina Sofia museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 0.2 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.3 mi
  • Cortes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de España: 0.5 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 0.5 mi
  • Fuencarral: 0.8 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 0.8 mi
  • Atocha Station: 1 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Chamberi: 1 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 1.8 mi
  • Arganzuela: 1.8 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Usera: 2.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 2.4 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 2.8 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 2.8 mi
  • Latina: 2.8 mi
  • Tetuan: 2.9 mi
  • Moratalaz: 3.2 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3.3 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.5 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 3.5 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 3.8 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5 mi
  • Villaverde: 5 mi
  • San Blas: 5.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 5.2 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.4 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.5 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 7.1 mi

Dining

19, SUSHI BAR Restaurant
19, SUSHI BAR Enjoy the best Japanese cuisine in our city. We will introduce you to the most avant-guard Japanese cuisine Lunch: from 13:30 to 16:00 Dinner:from 20:30 to 23:00 Closed Saturdays (lunch time) and Sundays
SNACK BAR
Make yourself comfortable and enjoy our Bar with your favourite drink or have a snack. Opening hours from 07:00 to 23:00
BREAKFAST Restaurant
We suggest you to begin the day with our Breakfast Buffet in which you also will find a japanese section. Times: Monday to Friday 07:00 to 11:00 Saturday&Sunday and Holydays: 07:30 to 11:30

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0100
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Arosa

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Western Maryland
Jul 6, 2011

Great Hotel, Great Location

This is an unbelievably great location right in the middle of Spain. It is about a 1/2 block from Gran Via Metro stop, and a short walk from many great attractions. The internet is free and the rooms are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hotel offers a shuttle to/ from the airport. Currently the cost is 12 Euros per person. If you can do the metro instead, the cost is 1 Euro per trip, and it ends up 1/2 block away at the Gran Via station. You will need to transfer trains to so this, but it will save you a lot of money.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
coming from Cairo
Aug 2, 2009

more like a hospital room in Madrid

we paid for one night knowing we were checking in at 5 a.m. on a long layover, very jetlagged. the room looked nothing like the website - looked like a hospital room, no color - bland beige and very bare bones. i was hoping from the website it would take on the flavor of Madrid. anyway we woke up very tired and asked the receptionists if we could please check out at 1pm instead of noon because we had only stayed half a night. they said no unless we wanted to pay 35 more euros (for one hour!) as we were checking out the man in front of us asked to be able to check out at 1pm and they told him yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
coming from Cairo
Aug 2, 2009

more like a hospital room in Madrid

we paid for one night knowing we were checking in at 5 a.m. on a long layover, very jetlagged. the room looked nothing like the website - looked like a hospital room, no color - bland beige and very bare bones. i was hoping from the website it would take on the flavor of Madrid. anyway we woke up very tired and asked the receptionists if we could please check out at 1pm instead of noon because we had only stayed half a night. they said no unless we wanted to pay 35 more euros (for one hour!) as we were checking out the man in front of us asked to be able to check out at 1pm and they told him yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sor Juana
Mexico
Jul 26, 2009

Japonese floor is 4 stars

I finally find out the rating trick. The Japanese style floor is the 4 star part of the hotel. The rest is 2 or 3 stars. They probably show the Japanese style floor when the inspectors come to give the star rating. I stayed in the hotel two time in the past two weeks. The first time I got a miserable tiny room with no light and noisy cleaning going on outside my room. When I returned, they put me on the Japanese style floor because there were no other no-smoking rooms. The Japanese style floor is more or less 4 stars. The regular rooms are not 4 stars. The buffet breakfast is good and the location is great, but the non-Japanese rooms are not worth it. Better to go to the 3 star Hotel Regina on Alcalá.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Convent of the Descalzas Reales. If you turn left going out the hotel door, you will be there in a few minutes. It is spectacular and very interesting.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sor Juana
Mexico
Jul 26, 2009

Japonese floor is 4 stars

I finally find out the rating trick. The Japanese style floor is the 4 star part of the hotel. The rest is 2 or 3 stars. They probably show the Japanese style floor when the inspectors come to give the star rating. I stayed in the hotel two time in the past two weeks. The first time I got a miserable tiny room with no light and noisy cleaning going on outside my room. When I returned, they put me on the Japanese style floor because there were no other no-smoking rooms. The Japanese style floor is more or less 4 stars. The regular rooms are not 4 stars. The buffet breakfast is good and the location is great, but the non-Japanese rooms are not worth it. Better to go to the 3 star Hotel Regina on Alcalá.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Convent of the Descalzas Reales. If you turn left going out the hotel door, you will be there in a few minutes. It is spectacular and very interesting.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
norfolk UK
Jul 24, 2009

An adiquate location for a short stay

Good location in centre of Madrid. Rooms very adiquate and good air con. Breakfast E13 and a bit expensive. In all you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sor Juana
Mexico
Jul 14, 2009

Miniature rooms.

The rooms are miniature. They also assigned me a room that looked out over a deep dark back patio. The Spanish are very strict about their hotel stars, I cannot believe they let this one get by as a 4 star hotel. The location is the great and the breakfast is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turn right going out the front door instead of left to the Gran Via, you will head towards some nice quiet cafes.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sor Juana
Mexico
Jul 14, 2009

Miniature rooms.

The rooms are miniature. They also assigned me a room that looked out over a deep dark back patio. The Spanish are very strict about their hotel stars, I cannot believe they let this one get by as a 4 star hotel. The location is the great and the breakfast is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you turn right going out the front door instead of left to the Gran Via, you will head towards some nice quiet cafes.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Jun 19, 2009

In the heart of La Gran Via

One of the advantages of the hotel is its location. Coming out of the hotel if you turn right you are very near to the streets of old Madrid where Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, etc. are found; if you turn left, you will see one of the most famous avenues, La Gran Via with its modern shops, libraries and restaurants. The shuttle announced is a private one for which one has to pay 24 euros (about $34.00).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I recommend to choose a hotel that includes breakfast, otherwise you will spend about $32.00 for a continental breakfast for two persons.Restaurants and cafeterias are expensive. In Spain the bus service is very effective so take a bus and not the metro so that you can see the city.

Review of Best Western Arosa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Jun 19, 2009

In the heart of La Gran Via

One of the advantages of the hotel is its location. Coming out of the hotel if you turn right you are very near to the streets of old Madrid where Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol, etc. are found; if you turn left, you will see one of the most famous avenues, La Gran Via with its modern shops, libraries and restaurants. The shuttle announced is a private one for which one has to pay 24 euros (about $34.00).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I recommend to choose a hotel that includes breakfast, otherwise you will spend about $32.00 for a continental breakfast for two persons.Restaurants and cafeterias are expensive. In Spain the bus service is very effective so take a bus and not the metro so that you can see the city.

Back to menu Return to top