Ayre Gran Hotel Colon Madrid ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$57
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016
4.2 /5
Overall score
97%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.8
Value:
4.4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Room - Courtyard View
  • Size: 226 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Double Room - Courtyard View
  • Size: 226 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Family Room
  • Size: 236 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Family Junior Suite
  • Size: 355 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Triple Room
  • Size: 226 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3

Overview

Ayre Gran Hotel Colon Madrid has been completely renovated and is ideal for business or leisure, situated just minutes from the Art Walk and Parque del Retiro. Take a short stroll to arrive at Goya Street, famed as one of the most fashionable shopping areas in Madrid. Enjoy the art of Madrid right in the Ayre Gran Hotel Colon Madrid as the restaurants, lobbies, cafeteria and meeting rooms shimmer with frescos and stained glass created by the famous Spanish master, Manuel Ortega, whose work includes the stained glass windows in Almudena Cathedral.

Rooms

The Ayre Gran Hotel Colon Madrid offers a range of refreshing rooms from single rooms to suites, all of which are well equipped and comfortable. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi and can choose a room with its own Jacuzzi and living rooms, allowing for private lunches. The recently refurbished Ayre Gran Hotel Colon Madrid is modern in design and features smart air-conditioned rooms with contemporary furniture, stylish frescos on the wall and stained glass windows. Take an evening stroll after dinner in the peaceful and pleasant hotel gardens. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Have an evening out on the town or spend quiet time alone at an establishment that blends a quiet location with exciting nightlife at plenty of nearby bars and restaurants.

Highlights

  • Just 10 minutes from Goya Street, the most fashionable shopping area in Madrid
  • Fantastic stained glass frescos and windows created by famous Spanish artist Manuel Ortega
  • Specialist team of staff is experienced in organizing conventions, meetings, or banquets.

Nearby attractions

  • Parque del Buen Retiro (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Palacio de Deportes de Madrid (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Goya Street (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museo del Prado (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

Policies

  • Cot free for children from 0 to 2 years old (on request)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Dining

Ibiza Restaurant
You can taste our variety in our consolidated lunch "buffet a la carte" daily from 13h00 to 16h00. Or feel new sensations in your dinners with our seasonal menu, our tasting menu and wonderful garden views. Privileged environment where we expect our cocktails and smoothies or and a complete menu of snacks.The closest one to Barcelona's Trade Fair Centre is ideal for enjoying the excellent cuisine without having to interrupt your working day.
Lobby Bar
a relaxed atmosphere of our Lobby Bar and the careful attention of our room service.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
AYRE GRAN HOTEL COLN provides guests with 11 meeting rooms and 6 office with capacities ranging from 6 to 250 people. They are the ideal setting for holding any type of meeting, conference, seminar, etc. All are well equipped with the most modern technical and audiovisual means.

Recommendations for you

Vincci Soho

★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$91

Paseo Del Arte

★★★★
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$77
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$187
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$61

NH Madrid Sur

★★★
Guest score 5.0 / 5
$63
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$85

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Doctor on call
  • Currency exchange

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.2 /5 Overall score

97% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.4/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.2/5
  • Comfort: 4.2/5
  • Location: 3.8/5
  • Value: 4.4/5

Good value for money

Would recommend Tue, Nov 10, 2015
I requested a non-smoking room and this wish was granted except for the fact that room had a strong smoke odor. Staff was as expected for Europe standar (acceptable service). Bar did no have too much choices and for some reason you need to pay every time something is served. My card was charged multiple times (my bank have several fees for this transactions, beware ). About location, is is near train and metro stations, but probably too far from almost anything important in the city...except for retiro park

| Guaynabo Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Closer to suburbs but amazing hotel!

Would recommend Tue, Oct 13, 2015
The location was a little further out from the center of the city. This made for a quiet afternoon. The WiFi at this hotel was the best we had all week. There was 3 restaurants attached to hotel that were convenient. Although we didn't eat at them they seemed busy and food smelled good. Hotel was very clean and fairly quiet. Made for a nice retreat. Close enough to metro and bus stations to make for easy transport.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very good hotel

Would recommend Fri, Jul 10, 2015
The hotel was very clea, good location, and the staff was very helpful and friendly. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

| Miami Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good for couples

Would recommend Mon, Sep 23, 2013
Very friendly staff, nice rooms, location was fine. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Time saver

Train station close by

| Copenhagen Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great hotel

Would recommend Thu, Jul 11, 2013
Great friendly staff, offered us an extra night when asked without any problems

| Leicester Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stay

Would recommend Wed, Jul 10, 2013
Great stay. Good comfortable room and helpful staff.

| Orange County, California Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Wanted to like this hotel...

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 9, 2013
I stayed for 4 nights at the Ayre Gran Colon early July. The hotel is rather large and split between two buildings (although they are connected). I unfortunately had gone to the wrong building and while I was able to check in, I was left to lug my luggage myself around to the other side. My bedroom walls badly needed a paint/wash. The wall was quite heavily marked. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been vaccumed (I was able to tell the previous guest had long, blonde, curly hair). The throw and cushions on the bed also looked like they needed a rinse in the washing machine. At breakfast the next morning I was seated at a table with a coffee stained table cloth, with my cutlery placed on top of hair. The receptionists were not warm and welcoming at this hotel. There was no warmth, friendliness or any sense of welcoming to any of the team. I am not used to walking past a reception in a hotel and being stared at, or not even acknowledged. The service in the cafe, bar was no better. Staff were hard to find to take a drinks order, pay your bill... I was also charged for breakfast even though I am sure my booking had breakfast included (I had deleted the email so could not prove this). Overall I was very disappointed. The hotel was revamped a few years ago - but it appears they have not bothered to maintain it. All you want in a hotel is for it to be clean and comfortable. The Ayre Grand Colon is neither. I would not recommend it and will not stay there again.

Entertainment hint

I have two!! Not so much insider tips but things you should do in Madrid... 1) Círculo de Bellas Artes - has a roof top bar that is quite cool. Have a Heineken shandy and lay back and enjoy the sun and the view 2) Bike ride along the Manzanares river. You can hire a bike from Rio bikes (I think its called) and have a lovely cycle down the river for €4 an hour rental.

| Bristol, UK Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Excellent City Break Location

Would recommend Wed, May 29, 2013
Myself, my 18 year old daughter and my mother stayed at Gran Colon for three nights. The hotel is beautiful, very modern with lovely garden area to sit and relax with a beer! Although outside of the city centre there were excellent local bus routes within 2 minutes walking distance of the hotel. It took just 15 minutes into the city, operating every 10 minutes and just EUR1.50 per person. The hotel bar and restaurant service was excellent, breakfast was exemplary with a huge choice and great value, set us up for the day's sightseeing. Staff very helpful with maps and information on tours. Great weekend had by all - no complaints!!!!

Shopping hint

Definitely go to El Rastro market - on every Sunday - in the city centre - absolutely great. Hotel staff will direct you

| Ireland Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great value for money !

Would recommend Sun, Mar 18, 2012
I booked this hotel due to 50% discount offer so it was great value for money ! hotel staff were really nice, it was always clean and fresh.

Nightlife hint

Go on a pub crawl ! pick the one by the bear by the sol metro station especially if its your first few days and you have no idea where about are the clubs :)

| Nottingham, UK Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

vacation

Would recommend Wed, Sep 28, 2011
It's very clean and comfort. May not be in the most popular area but public transportation accessible and easy to get to everywhere. Very quiet to get a good night sleep for the busy next day.

Money saver

Carrefour Express is 3 bus stop south to get every fruit and drinking water for cheap price.

| Philadelphia, PA, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Atocha Rail Station 0.9 mi
Puente de Vallecas 1.2 mi
Moratalaz 1.2 mi
Atocha Station 1.3 mi
Cortes 1.7 mi
Old Quarter 1.7 mi
Descalzas Reales 2 mi
Chamberi 2.1 mi
Arganzuela 2.2 mi
Plaza de la Villa 2.2 mi
Fuencarral 2.3 mi
Puerta de Toledo 2.3 mi
Plaza de Oriente 2.3 mi
Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station 2.6 mi
Campo del Moro 2.7 mi
Usera 2.7 mi
Arturo Soria Metro Station 2.9 mi
Ciudad Lineal 3.2 mi
San Blas 3.3 mi
Castellana Avenue North 3.3 mi
Villa de Vallecas 3.3 mi
Vallecas 3.4 mi
Tetuan 3.7 mi
Latina 4.1 mi
Chamartin Rail Station 4.1 mi
Carabanchel 4.4 mi
IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones 4.4 mi
Hortaleza 4.7 mi
Casa de Campo 4.7 mi
Villaverde 4.9 mi
Madrid Golf Park 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$57
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 22, 2016