$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Axor Barajas

4 stars
Campezo 4, Madrid, 28022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
78 reviews
The best

Great the place was wonderfull the service is the best and the rooms are very comfortable See full review

  • Tiko
  • Aug 19, 2014
A unique and pleasant experience

One of the best hotels next to Barajas Airport. Great food @ the restaurant. Not expensive Rooms... See full review

  • Lurogoca
  • Aug 2, 2014
Business- and traveler-friendly 4-star hotel with lots of free services
Built in 2009, the Axor Barajas is a 4-star hotel 15 minutes north of the city center of Madrid. Minutes from Madrid-Barajas Airport, IFEMA exhibition center, Madrid Municipal Conference Center and Juan Carlos I Auditorium, the hotel is perfect for business travelers and those needing access to the airport. A free shuttle bus takes guests to and from the airport and IFEMA, and parking is available (fee applies). The hotel features 217 well-appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi, free Wi-Fi and entertainment rooms.
Highlights
  • Brand-new modern and spacious 4-star hotel, built in 2009, close to conference centers and airport
  • Free shuttle bus to/from Barajas Airport, IFEMA exhibition center
  • Complimentary use of lounges, meeting room, cyber zone, Wii zone, fitness center, sauna, and Jacuzzi
Rooms
At Axor Barajas, the 217 spacious and modern standard, executive, and family rooms come with amenities such as TV with international channels, a minibar, safety deposit box, free Wi-Fi access, and a bathroom with towel warmer and hair dryer. Executive rooms also feature separate rest and work spaces, a free laptop and Wi-Fi access, copy and fax services, a bathrobe, and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The brand-new Axor Barajas hotel, built in 2009, is located 15 minutes from Madrid, and close to Madrid-Barajas Airport and the IFEMA exhibition center, both accessible by free shuttle bus from the hotel. The hotel provides superior services such as meeting rooms, an excellent restaurant and long-stay parking (fees apply). Complimentary services include Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, an Internet point with computers, a Wii zone, guest lounges, fitness center, Jacuzzi and sauna, making the Axor Barajas the perfect place to relax after a long day of travel or work.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Madrid Metro service at Barajas Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Barajas Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Plenilunio Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Parque de El Capricho (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Juan Carlos I Auditorium (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Madrid Municipal Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • IFEMA (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • National Archaeology Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, capacity of 250 people
  • Technical and audio-video equipment available
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout hotel
  • Complimentary use of small meeting room available for hotel guests
  • Catering available

Hotel Map

40.4491 -3.5823
Area served
Madrid.
Nearby airports
Madrid Barajas International Airport.
Area description
Axor Barajas Hotel Madrid is strategically located 5 minutes from Madrid-Barajas airport and the IFEMA Trade Fair Centre, the Madrid Municipal Conference Centre and the Juan Carlos I Auditorium. For your convenience, the hotel offers free transportation to both the airport and IFEMA. If you prefer shopping, the Plenilunio mall is within 5 minutes walking distance. City centre is a 15 minute drive away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Axor Barajas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Axor Barajas Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Room offers a Double bed or 2 single beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
Standard double room with one large bed or two single beds. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive room offers one king bed or two single beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
This room with one king size bed or two single beds of 1.05m. Laptop with free internet access. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.
FAMILY - ROOM
Family Room offers One double bed or two single beds and two single bunk beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
Family room ideally for families or adults traveling together, with one large beds or two beds and two single bunk beds. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 2.1 mi
  • San Blas: 2.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 2.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.9 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 4.4 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 5.5 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 5.6 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 5.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 5.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 6 mi
  • Chamberi: 6.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 6.1 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 2.1 mi
  • San Blas: 2.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 2.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.9 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 4.4 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 5.5 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 5.6 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 5.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 5.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 6 mi
  • Chamberi: 6.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 6.1 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 6.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 6.4 mi
  • Fuencarral: 6.5 mi
  • Cortes: 6.5 mi
  • Old Quarter: 6.6 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de España: 7 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 7.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 7.4 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 7.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 7.5 mi
  • Usera: 7.8 mi
  • Latina: 9.3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 9.3 mi
  • Villaverde: 9.4 mi
  • Carabanchel: 9.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Mirage Restaurant combines the tradition of service and products with the modernity of the space and development in plates. The Mediterranean cuisine restaurant is led by a Basque chef who pampers each dish and leads an excellent team of professionals. Mirage can enjoy in addition to the prepared Carte, a daily menu from Monday to Friday. Enjoy a warm and modern decor in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Axor Barajas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mammisanwaryaz
Business
Austin, TX
Apr 19, 2012

not clean and not a good value - unfriendly staff

the staff was not that friendly or courteous. The room was not clean, was dusty and very hot. There was not even a clock in my room let alone an iron, etc. I would not recommend nor stay in this hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hyde Park, New York
Jun 12, 2010

Not what they say!

We chose this hotel because it was by the airport and it stated a free shuttle. We called the hotel to tell them we would be arriving late and we required the airport shuttle. When we arrived at the shuttle location, other hotel shuttles were there but not the Axor's. We called and they told us that since it was after midnight, we had to take a taxi. The taxi cost us an additional 15 Euros. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk was a bit condescending and unhelpful. He said that the website stated the free shuttle does not run after 12am but that was not what I saw when I booked this hotel. It just said "free shuttle." I booked it because of this attribute. We requested a non-smoking room but were given a smoking room so we had to change. We needed to print out boarding passes for the next day and were told to use the computers upstairs. The computer area had no lights and no printers so again we were frustrated. By now it was 2am and we had to get up for an early flight so we decided to get do our airplane sign-in at the airport and only regretted that we hadn't done it at our hotel in Barcelona. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maxmeister
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 18, 2012

Unfriendly Staff; Clean Hotel

The hotel is clean and modern, but few frills. No ATM, metro is a block away, close to airport, distant from city center. I would probably rate this close to 4 stars if it wasn't for the totally unfriendly staff. I'm still in the hotel now, but looking forward to checking out. Staff is nearly useless. I've been in 14 countries over the last 12 months, and this is the unfriendliest hotel I've been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
May 30, 2010

The good, the bad, and the ugly

I stayed one night at the Axor en route to the U.S. after a week in Salamanca. The charming Salamancan hotel and its friendly staff really put the Axor staff to shame. They were not overly friendly nor helpful - more perfunctory and impersonal. The Axor itself is clean and modern, but that special touch that was so evident in my hotel in Salamanca was definitely missing at the Axor. The restaurant's limited menu resulted in my choosing room service instead of the dining room. This sort of impersonal and cold hotel would probably be fine for business meetings and business people, but wasn't too great as far as making you feel like you'd like to stay for more than a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It might behoove the staff to get some lessons in customer service with a smile rather than acting like they were doing their guests a favor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arizonaneuro
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 26, 2010

Axor Barajas [...] 4 star

The rooms are modern and nicely appointed. There wasn't any air conditioning and is not available until warmer summer months. Consequently, our room was uncomfortably hot even with windows open. Service was conspicuously lacking compared to most hotels,especially for a 4 star rated hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is good but is open for a limited number of hours. There are a limited number of restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, CO
Aug 17, 2010

It was clean but watch your CC statement

The hotel was not too far from the airport, relatively quiet, very modern, reasonably comfortable! The desk clerks are very pleasant, did speak some English, which was nice, but insisted on a credit card, even though we had pre-paid. There was free wifi in the rooms, a TV, nice clean bathroom, and a minisafe. There was a restaurant, room service, minibar in the room, bar downstairs, business center, and airline boarding pass kiosks in the lobby. The hallways were very dark, partly because of the dark modern woodwork, but also little LED lights dimly lit up and then went out as I walked down the hallway, It felt a little uncomfortable, but i'm sure it saves on electricity! Family rooms have 2 single beds pushed together :-( not ideal for snuggling with my husband, and bunkbeds for the children. The room was clean and modern, but nothing worked until we figured out the little innocuous looking pocket by the door was to push your room keycard into to make the power come on. However, we were only given one key, so it meant if one of us left and needed a key, everyone else was plunged into darkness! I plunged them into darkness while I went to get another key.There were clean sheets but no blankets so we put on extra clothes to sleep in as it was too hot and humid outside to sleep with the windows open, and the A/C made the room very cool very quickly. There is no pool, the spa is a small room with a couple of treadmills and mirrors on the walls.The mall is a 10 minute pleasant walk down tree lined streets away, and is HUGE!! My teen daughter was in heaven!! Huge variety of shops, restaurants, great place to eat, have a drink and peoplewatch....very civilized and exactly what I expected!!The Airline Check-In kiosks at the hotel did not work, and the huge number of people waiting to use the business room computers left us unable to confirm and print boarding passes for our flights the next day. We were advised that buffet breakfast in the restaurant was 5 Euros per person, and even though we told them that only three of us were eating, as there were 4 people booked into the room, we were charged for 4, there were no facilities to pay with cash, everything was charged to the room (and subsequently my credit card). We though we had sorted it out, and even called to confirm we had after we left, they assured us that they would remove the 5 euro breakfast charge for the 4th person. We were given no checkout paperwork when we turned our keycard in, but were told we had already paid. When we got home, we had been charged 45 Euros for breakfast!!! Still trying to get that one sorted out on the credit card!!!We pre-booked for the 8:30am shuttle the next day and were assured this was the only way to make sure we could get to the airport in time. However, there were about 45 people from 2 hotels waiting for the 19 seat shuttle, and the drivers did not consider who had made a reservation, it was a free for all!!! the children and I managed to scramble onto one shuttle bus, but my husband and luggage had to wait for the next one, and we were not able to push our way off the shuttle to wait with him. a 2nd shuttle arrived shortly after the 1st, and there were still too many people. I guess 7-10am are popular times to get to the airport! It's not a bad place to stay at all, just be sure to get everything in writing before and after you check out, and know what to expect when it comes to checking in, paying for food, booking a shuttle etc. With these things in mind, i'd stay there again because I know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get everything in writing when you leave so you are prepared for overcharges. Everything is charged to the room, so you can't pay in cash. The lights and power come on when you slot your keycard into the slot inside the door, push it down hard! You CAN see into the bathroom with the frosted glass door closed! The WiFi is free, the code is inside the folder on the table of the room. There are some English channels on the TV, get 2 keys to the room. The Mall is huge, and there is a grocery store there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asbury, PA
May 2, 2010

Did what it needed to do

Although in a commercial area by the airport, driving to the airport was not simple due to road congestion and roundabout route required to get to the airport. No where to eat other than the expensive hotel restaurant with average food. Overall, price made this a good option for a hotel to stay at the day before our flight and had no regrets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, NC
Apr 24, 2010

Axor Barajas review

In order to get anywhere you had to take a shuttle back to the airport to catch the subway which was OK but not the most convenient.On day of departure 35 people waited for 1 shuttle that held 19 and served 2 hotels. Could have done a better job of assigning shuttle service dependent on time of departure from airport possibly or adding another shuttle for peak times. front desk told everyone calling that shuttle would be there in "30 minutes" adn she wasn't too friendly - more like overwhelmed. Room was fabulous and quiet/wonderful decor!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old Bill
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 2, 2011

Long wait for shuttle

First, the hotel is exceptionally nice with well appointed first rate rooms. Free Wi-Fi with good connection. Beautiful bathroom with good supply of things you might need. PROBLEM? Waited over an hour for the shuttle! When it finally arrived (after many calls from those waiting), the shuttle was completely filled just at our terminal. When I commented on this at check-in, I was told "one of the shuttles is resting". Hardly an apology for the inconvenience to tired international passengers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant doesn't open for dinner until 8:30 PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chaki
Business
chicago
Sep 24, 2011

Amenities and hotel are nice, staff sucks

Great amenities, free wifi, computer room, wii room, clean and modern hotel room. But oh dear, the reception desk ladies are snotty and smug. Wouldn't stay here again on account of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top