$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Axor Barajas

4 stars
Campezo 4, Madrid, 28022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
79 reviews
The best

Great the place was wonderfull the service is the best and the rooms are very comfortable See full review

  • Tiko
  • Aug 19, 2014
A unique and pleasant experience

One of the best hotels next to Barajas Airport. Great food @ the restaurant. Not expensive Rooms... See full review

  • Lurogoca
  • Aug 2, 2014
Business- and traveler-friendly 4-star hotel with lots of free services
Built in 2009, the Axor Barajas is a 4-star hotel 15 minutes north of the city center of Madrid. Minutes from Madrid-Barajas Airport, IFEMA exhibition center, Madrid Municipal Conference Center and Juan Carlos I Auditorium, the hotel is perfect for business travelers and those needing access to the airport. A free shuttle bus takes guests to and from the airport and IFEMA, and parking is available (fee applies). The hotel features 217 well-appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, fitness center, sauna and Jacuzzi, free Wi-Fi and entertainment rooms.
Highlights
  • Brand-new modern and spacious 4-star hotel, built in 2009, close to conference centers and airport
  • Free shuttle bus to/from Barajas Airport, IFEMA exhibition center
  • Complimentary use of lounges, meeting room, cyber zone, Wii zone, fitness center, sauna, and Jacuzzi
Rooms
At Axor Barajas, the 217 spacious and modern standard, executive, and family rooms come with amenities such as TV with international channels, a minibar, safety deposit box, free Wi-Fi access, and a bathroom with towel warmer and hair dryer. Executive rooms also feature separate rest and work spaces, a free laptop and Wi-Fi access, copy and fax services, a bathrobe, and complimentary toiletries.
Features
The brand-new Axor Barajas hotel, built in 2009, is located 15 minutes from Madrid, and close to Madrid-Barajas Airport and the IFEMA exhibition center, both accessible by free shuttle bus from the hotel. The hotel provides superior services such as meeting rooms, an excellent restaurant and long-stay parking (fees apply). Complimentary services include Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel, an Internet point with computers, a Wii zone, guest lounges, fitness center, Jacuzzi and sauna, making the Axor Barajas the perfect place to relax after a long day of travel or work.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Madrid Metro service at Barajas Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Barajas Airport (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Plenilunio Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Parque de El Capricho (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • Juan Carlos I Auditorium (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Madrid Municipal Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • IFEMA (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • National Archaeology Museum (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Three meeting rooms, capacity of 250 people
  • Technical and audio-video equipment available
  • Free Wi-Fi access throughout hotel
  • Complimentary use of small meeting room available for hotel guests
  • Catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Axor Barajas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Axor Barajas Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Standard Room offers a Double bed or 2 single beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
Standard double room with one large bed or two single beds. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.
EXECUTIVE - ROOM
Executive room offers one king bed or two single beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
This room with one king size bed or two single beds of 1.05m. Laptop with free internet access. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.
FAMILY - ROOM
Family Room offers One double bed or two single beds and two single bunk beds with Air conditioning, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable/Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite/Private bathro, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem/data port connection, Radio, Room service, Safe in room, Shaver in bathroom and Telephone.
Family room ideally for families or adults traveling together, with one large beds or two beds and two single bunk beds. Design, technology and functionality at your disposal. All rooms are exterior and equipped with latest advances, TV LCD screen with satellite channels, free wi fi and safety box. Minibar, telephone with direct line, bathroom with wide rain shower, make up mirror, towels heater. The hotel has special rooms available for handicapped. Smoker rooms, and pets are welcome.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 2.1 mi
  • San Blas: 2.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 2.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.9 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 4.4 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 5.5 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 5.6 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 5.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 5.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 6 mi
  • Chamberi: 6.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 6.1 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 2.1 mi
  • San Blas: 2.1 mi
  • Hortaleza: 2.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 3.9 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 4.4 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.9 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 5.5 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 5.6 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 5.6 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 5.8 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 5.9 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 6 mi
  • Chamberi: 6.1 mi
  • Tetuan: 6.1 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 6.2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 6.4 mi
  • Fuencarral: 6.5 mi
  • Cortes: 6.5 mi
  • Old Quarter: 6.6 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 6.9 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 7.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 7.1 mi
  • Arganzuela: 7.4 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 7.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 7.5 mi
  • Usera: 7.8 mi
  • Latina: 9.3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 9.3 mi
  • Villaverde: 9.4 mi
  • Carabanchel: 9.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Mirage Restaurant combines the tradition of service and products with the modernity of the space and development in plates. The Mediterranean cuisine restaurant is led by a Basque chef who pampers each dish and leads an excellent team of professionals. Mirage can enjoy in addition to the prepared Carte, a daily menu from Monday to Friday. Enjoy a warm and modern decor in a quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for Axor Barajas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OnHoliday
Business
Columbia, SC
Sep 18, 2010

A-OK!

We were looking for a place to stay close to Barajas airport and decided to try to Axor. With no experience with this brand, we took a chance based on the fact the facility was new. We were not dissapointed. It was a great place to stay for reasonable cost. A great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado, CO
Aug 17, 2010

It was clean but watch your CC statement

The hotel was not too far from the airport, relatively quiet, very modern, reasonably comfortable! The desk clerks are very pleasant, did speak some English, which was nice, but insisted on a credit card, even though we had pre-paid. There was free wifi in the rooms, a TV, nice clean bathroom, and a minisafe. There was a restaurant, room service, minibar in the room, bar downstairs, business center, and airline boarding pass kiosks in the lobby. The hallways were very dark, partly because of the dark modern woodwork, but also little LED lights dimly lit up and then went out as I walked down the hallway, It felt a little uncomfortable, but i'm sure it saves on electricity! Family rooms have 2 single beds pushed together :-( not ideal for snuggling with my husband, and bunkbeds for the children. The room was clean and modern, but nothing worked until we figured out the little innocuous looking pocket by the door was to push your room keycard into to make the power come on. However, we were only given one key, so it meant if one of us left and needed a key, everyone else was plunged into darkness! I plunged them into darkness while I went to get another key.There were clean sheets but no blankets so we put on extra clothes to sleep in as it was too hot and humid outside to sleep with the windows open, and the A/C made the room very cool very quickly. There is no pool, the spa is a small room with a couple of treadmills and mirrors on the walls.The mall is a 10 minute pleasant walk down tree lined streets away, and is HUGE!! My teen daughter was in heaven!! Huge variety of shops, restaurants, great place to eat, have a drink and peoplewatch....very civilized and exactly what I expected!!The Airline Check-In kiosks at the hotel did not work, and the huge number of people waiting to use the business room computers left us unable to confirm and print boarding passes for our flights the next day. We were advised that buffet breakfast in the restaurant was 5 Euros per person, and even though we told them that only three of us were eating, as there were 4 people booked into the room, we were charged for 4, there were no facilities to pay with cash, everything was charged to the room (and subsequently my credit card). We though we had sorted it out, and even called to confirm we had after we left, they assured us that they would remove the 5 euro breakfast charge for the 4th person. We were given no checkout paperwork when we turned our keycard in, but were told we had already paid. When we got home, we had been charged 45 Euros for breakfast!!! Still trying to get that one sorted out on the credit card!!!We pre-booked for the 8:30am shuttle the next day and were assured this was the only way to make sure we could get to the airport in time. However, there were about 45 people from 2 hotels waiting for the 19 seat shuttle, and the drivers did not consider who had made a reservation, it was a free for all!!! the children and I managed to scramble onto one shuttle bus, but my husband and luggage had to wait for the next one, and we were not able to push our way off the shuttle to wait with him. a 2nd shuttle arrived shortly after the 1st, and there were still too many people. I guess 7-10am are popular times to get to the airport! It's not a bad place to stay at all, just be sure to get everything in writing before and after you check out, and know what to expect when it comes to checking in, paying for food, booking a shuttle etc. With these things in mind, i'd stay there again because I know what to expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get everything in writing when you leave so you are prepared for overcharges. Everything is charged to the room, so you can't pay in cash. The lights and power come on when you slot your keycard into the slot inside the door, push it down hard! You CAN see into the bathroom with the frosted glass door closed! The WiFi is free, the code is inside the folder on the table of the room. There are some English channels on the TV, get 2 keys to the room. The Mall is huge, and there is a grocery store there too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MEXICO CITY
Aug 4, 2010

EXCELLENT IS VERY GOOD HOTEL

THE HOTEL IS VERY NICE CLEAN ESPACIUS EXCELLENT. THE PRICE IS GREAT I REALLY LIKE IT A LOT I WAS ALL OVER SPAIN AND THIS ONE WAS ONE OF THE BEST

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian Traveler
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jul 2, 2010

Great Value for The Price

Check-in quick with efficient. friendly staff. Room was all that cold be expected. I just wish that there were hotels at home that would measure up to the standards of this hotel. Much better than other hotels that I have stayed in Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was close to a great shopping mall. This was good for last minute purchases before returning home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poncho Diaz
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Jun 17, 2010

Great deal for business traveling

If you need a hotel near the airport this is the best option, located in factory/corporate area perfect for business traveling. The hotel is pretty new and the staff is great!! If you want something centric for tourism this won't be the best alternative dough the price/benefit is great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a shopping mall just a few blocks where you would have several dinning options, shopping, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spain vacationer 2010
Business
Texas
Jun 14, 2010

Great hotel, Can't beat the price!

THe hotel was great. Clean! NEW and realy big rooms. Service was excellent. They have 2 electronic check in terminals in the lobby to check in for your flight 24 hours in advance and it prints the boarding passes. Hotel personal spoke very good english.The lobby bar ver nice. I would stay there again. And if on a budget, only about 15 Euros to the center of town by taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hyde Park, New York
Jun 12, 2010

Not what they say!

We chose this hotel because it was by the airport and it stated a free shuttle. We called the hotel to tell them we would be arriving late and we required the airport shuttle. When we arrived at the shuttle location, other hotel shuttles were there but not the Axor's. We called and they told us that since it was after midnight, we had to take a taxi. The taxi cost us an additional 15 Euros. When we arrived at the hotel, the desk clerk was a bit condescending and unhelpful. He said that the website stated the free shuttle does not run after 12am but that was not what I saw when I booked this hotel. It just said "free shuttle." I booked it because of this attribute. We requested a non-smoking room but were given a smoking room so we had to change. We needed to print out boarding passes for the next day and were told to use the computers upstairs. The computer area had no lights and no printers so again we were frustrated. By now it was 2am and we had to get up for an early flight so we decided to get do our airplane sign-in at the airport and only regretted that we hadn't done it at our hotel in Barcelona. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anicafl
Business
Pembroke Pinesw, FL
Jun 3, 2010

Nice Hotel, close to he airport

I'm reserve in this hotel because the next day my brother has 6.30AM fly and I'm 10.30 AM. Hotel is super clean, state of the art, big room my have 4 beds.Quiet, really I don't have time to see around. To go to Madrid I need to take the bus to Avda de las Americas ad from there the subway. You can take a taxi, always available in front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
May 30, 2010

The good, the bad, and the ugly

I stayed one night at the Axor en route to the U.S. after a week in Salamanca. The charming Salamancan hotel and its friendly staff really put the Axor staff to shame. They were not overly friendly nor helpful - more perfunctory and impersonal. The Axor itself is clean and modern, but that special touch that was so evident in my hotel in Salamanca was definitely missing at the Axor. The restaurant's limited menu resulted in my choosing room service instead of the dining room. This sort of impersonal and cold hotel would probably be fine for business meetings and business people, but wasn't too great as far as making you feel like you'd like to stay for more than a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

It might behoove the staff to get some lessons in customer service with a smile rather than acting like they were doing their guests a favor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Axor Barajas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, UT
May 19, 2010

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel was fantastic. The shuttle was prompt at the airport -- great after a long day of travel. The hotel is spotless, very modern, and beautiful. We stayed in a family room that easily accommodated the "children" who are really young adults. The hotel completely supports technology, has public areas with Wii games, and a nice fitness center. We loved everything about it and would stay here again. It was perfect for out long layover in Madrid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top