AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

4 stars
Paseo de la Delicias 26, PASEO DE LAS DELICIAS 26, Madrid, 28045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
25 reviews
Couldn't Ask for More

My family spent three night there, in two rooms. The staff was very, very helpful upon check-in and... See full review

  • Madrid Devotee
  • Aug 14, 2012
near atocha train station

This is a lovely hotel - good value - an easy 10 min walk from Atocha train station. Spacious, well... See full review

  • lwff
  • Oct 14, 2011
Hotel by Atocha offers comfortable stay, excellent service, good eating
The AC Carlton Madrid is well situated for access to Atocha railway station in the heart of the city. Also nearby are the renowned Madrid art museums, the Reina Sofia, Prado, and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The area surrounding the hotel has many good dining choices, or head to the chic, on-site restaurant and sample their modern spin on traditional Spanish cuisine. The hotel has a business center for guest use, as well as meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi access in public areas. The 122 tastefully designed guest rooms provide all amenities for a comfortable stay.
Highlights
  • Close to famed Reina Sofia and Prado art galleries, Atocha railway station and Royal Botanic Gardens in Madrid
  • Elegant in-house restaurant serves a menu by chef Jose Angel Murias featuring traditional Spanish cuisine with a modern twist
  • Meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas of AC Carlton
Rooms
The 122 guest rooms at the AC Carlton Madrid are beautifully stylish, with neutral tones and modern furniture. Amenities in these spacious twin or double rooms include air conditioning, a TV, mini bar, safety box, and a bathroom equipped with a hair dryer and toiletries. Superior twin rooms are also available and come with an extra living area, tea tray, and hydromassage bathtub. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms at extra charge. Laundry and room service are also available.
Features
With Atocha railway station and the most famous Madrid art museums close by, the AC Carlton Madrid is well located for sightseeing and those wanting to explore further afield. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and tapas bars, but for guests tired after a busy day museum-hopping, the hotel's elegant restaurant serves traditional Spanish cuisine with a contemporary twist by chef Jose Angel Murias. The AC Carlton Madrid also offers meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Atocha Railway Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museo del Ferrocarril (Train Museum) (0.34 mi/0.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Three meetings rooms, capacity of 100 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Bidet

Hotel Map

40.4051 -3.6935
Area served
Madrid
Nearby airports
Madrid International Airport Barajas, (MAD), 20.00, KM, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.5 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.5 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 4 mi
  • Villaverde: 4 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.3 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.7 mi
  • San Blas: 4.8 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.8 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.8 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 8 mi

Dining

AC Bar
Find a tempting menu of available throughout the day at the AC Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spacetraveler
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Skip it until Marriott takes over

Stay away from this place. The arrogant attitude of the staff erased all the other benefits. I had a neighbor shouting into a cell phone. I could not find a number for reception to complain. Therefore, I went downstairs. I hardly got the words out of my mouth before the receptionist said he was a regular and one of their most important clients. I said if they don't handle this, I will. I think I got action with that threat. WHen I needed a taxi to the train station, I was told to stand on the corner with my luggage and one would automatically stop, as they pass by there all the time. I was dumped out on a street corner without a cab in sight. After a few minutes, I spotted ONE and grabbed it. Fortunately, I left plenty of time. On other questions I found the staff at the desk generally inattentive and arrogant. Marriott bought the chain. Maybe these people will ge canned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickels and Dimes
Business
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Not the greatest place to stay...

First I would like to say the rooms were nice and the housekeeping staff does a great job! I did however feel that the front desk staff was not very helpful and that the hotel seemed to nickel and dime you. Wifi in the room costs FIFTY EUROS!!! I have stayed at 5 star hotels all across the world and I have never seen such high costs. My friend left his passport at a previous hotel and needed to get in contact with them to have them mail it. The staff member checking us in did not want to help and just told him there is a public phone in the lobby for 1 Euro / Minute. After spending 6 Euros on a phone that did not work she decided she would call the hotel from the front desk herself but refused to let him speak to the hotel and then tried to charge him for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TVL
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2010

Carlton Hotel Madrid

The room and location are OK, but the staff was not helpful at all. It seems that money is the only thing they see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Great hotel but poor front office staff

Unfortunately, we started off on the wrong foot with staff. We had a problem with our passports and the front office staff would not let us use the telephone to make a few calls. They referred us to the public phone but even that one did not work. Despite the hotel being in a very good location and awesome rooms, the first experience and thereafter just left us with a poor feeling throughout our stay. I can only rate it 3 stars due to horrible, poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton, WI
Aug 31, 2009

location alright, staff less so

The location was not bad. It was two blocks from a metro line, three or four blocks from the Reina Sofia and Atocha train station so was a great place to start our stay in Madrid. The staff was a bit unhelpful, we had to wait a long time to get someone to help us even though there were two people behind the desk. Once we even gave up. We didn't have any problems with checking in or out, there just had to be no one else around when you went to the desk, or you would not be helped. The room was clean and trendy with a great updated bathroom including a jet tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay here if you want to be close to the Atocha train station, but there are better hotels more central to the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean4746
Business
Londres, Reino Unido
Feb 25, 2012

Educational visit

Came to Madrid to check out the universities in the city, chose this hotel due to good package offered. Hotel in great location, just down the road from Atocha Metro, Renfe and Cercanías stations, and a short walk from Puerta del Sol and all the tourist attractions. Rooms well furnished and plenty of sunlight, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If booking hotel without breakfast included, I'd recommend walking down the road to Atocha Station in the mornings, there's loads of cafés in there that aren't expensive (breakfasts in the cafés along the street is considerably more than in the station, yet still less than in the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MizZ
Business
Canton mi
Aug 15, 2012

Great

Great experience! Very low cost. Great accommodation for extra bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 25, 2011

Very Nice Hotel - Great Location

This was a very nice hotel. Clean and modern with very friendly staff. It was a little noisy, on a busy street. But the location was worth it as all of the places we visited were within walking distance. The train station and a metro stop were only a couple of blocks away if we did not want to walk. We used the metro after visiting the Palacio Real as it was a bit of a hike after a long day. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive. We went elsewhere for breakfast. I also wish there had been free wireless internet access in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford OR
Nov 4, 2010

Great location

Good location near the train station, Retiro Park, & El Prado. Lots of little Bar/Cafeterias close by for breakfast. We used the on/off bus & the metro. Took the train to Segovia & Toledo for day trips & then to move to Barc. The hotel was kind enough to let us check in early upon arrival. Friendly staff & clean comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Retiro Park & the Jardín Botanico are lovely places to stroll & take a breather from the busy city sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOP
Business
MEXICO CITY
Jan 6, 2010

NICE LOCATION

THEIR ROOMS ARE COMFORTABLE AND NICE BREACKFAST IS SPLENDID

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top