$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

4 stars
Paseo de la Delicias 26, PASEO DE LAS DELICIAS 26, Madrid, 28045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
26 reviews
great location , near for everything important

Great staff, very helpful , great location two block from atocha train/metro services, near to... See full review

  • mamutregh
  • Dec 6, 2014
Couldn't Ask for More

My family spent three night there, in two rooms. The staff was very, very helpful upon check-in and... See full review

  • Madrid Devotee
  • Aug 14, 2012
Hotel by Atocha offers comfortable stay, excellent service, good eating
The AC Carlton Madrid is well situated for access to Atocha railway station in the heart of the city. Also nearby are the renowned Madrid art museums, the Reina Sofia, Prado, and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The area surrounding the hotel has many good dining choices, or head to the chic, on-site restaurant and sample their modern spin on traditional Spanish cuisine. The hotel has a business center for guest use, as well as meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi access in public areas. The 122 tastefully designed guest rooms provide all amenities for a comfortable stay.
Highlights
  • Close to famed Reina Sofia and Prado art galleries, Atocha railway station and Royal Botanic Gardens in Madrid
  • Elegant in-house restaurant serves a menu by chef Jose Angel Murias featuring traditional Spanish cuisine with a modern twist
  • Meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas of AC Carlton
Rooms
The 122 guest rooms at the AC Carlton Madrid are beautifully stylish, with neutral tones and modern furniture. Amenities in these spacious twin or double rooms include air conditioning, a TV, mini bar, safety box, and a bathroom equipped with a hair dryer and toiletries. Superior twin rooms are also available and come with an extra living area, tea tray, and hydromassage bathtub. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms at extra charge. Laundry and room service are also available.
Features
With Atocha railway station and the most famous Madrid art museums close by, the AC Carlton Madrid is well located for sightseeing and those wanting to explore further afield. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and tapas bars, but for guests tired after a busy day museum-hopping, the hotel's elegant restaurant serves traditional Spanish cuisine with a contemporary twist by chef Jose Angel Murias. The AC Carlton Madrid also offers meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Atocha Railway Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museo del Ferrocarril (Train Museum) (0.34 mi/0.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Three meetings rooms, capacity of 100 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.5 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.5 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 4 mi
  • Villaverde: 4 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.3 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.7 mi
  • San Blas: 4.8 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.8 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.8 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 8 mi

Dining

AC Bar
Find a tempting menu of available throughout the day at the AC Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 26
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean4746
Business
Londres, Reino Unido
Feb 25, 2012

Educational visit

Came to Madrid to check out the universities in the city, chose this hotel due to good package offered. Hotel in great location, just down the road from Atocha Metro, Renfe and Cercanías stations, and a short walk from Puerta del Sol and all the tourist attractions. Rooms well furnished and plenty of sunlight, and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If booking hotel without breakfast included, I'd recommend walking down the road to Atocha Station in the mornings, there's loads of cafés in there that aren't expensive (breakfasts in the cafés along the street is considerably more than in the station, yet still less than in the hotel)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtDria
Business
New York, NY
Sep 2, 2010

Great hotel

Excellent hotel for an affordable price. It was newly remodeled and very modern. The room was spotless, beautiful, comfortable, and really impressed me. Located near Atocha train station and art museums. A bit of a walk to the Puerta del Sol and Gran Via, but the metro is quite easy to figure out and only 1 euro per trip. The breakfast was a bit expensive (13 euro) but offered a great variety of food (and excellent coffee!) so I felt it was worth it. The staff service was outstanding and they were very friendly and helpful! My only complaint was that the water temperature in the shower was finicky and kept changing constantly. Not sure if the walls are thin or if my neighbor was just loud but noise from other rooms was an issue at times as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you love art, you can save a few euro by purchasing the Paseo del Arte pass: for just under 18 euro you get into the Prado, Museo Reina Sofia, and Museo Thyssen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamutregh
Business
caracas, venezuela
Dec 6, 2014

great location , near for everything important

Great staff, very helpful , great location two block from atocha train/metro services, near to several art foundations , and 10 minutes walk to retiro park and neptunos fountain, if you go to other cities around madrid o other states this is the place to stay. Breakfast is great i have many food and diferents kind of breakfast to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

caixa forum and retiro park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Spacetraveler
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Skip it until Marriott takes over

Stay away from this place. The arrogant attitude of the staff erased all the other benefits. I had a neighbor shouting into a cell phone. I could not find a number for reception to complain. Therefore, I went downstairs. I hardly got the words out of my mouth before the receptionist said he was a regular and one of their most important clients. I said if they don't handle this, I will. I think I got action with that threat. WHen I needed a taxi to the train station, I was told to stand on the corner with my luggage and one would automatically stop, as they pass by there all the time. I was dumped out on a street corner without a cab in sight. After a few minutes, I spotted ONE and grabbed it. Fortunately, I left plenty of time. On other questions I found the staff at the desk generally inattentive and arrogant. Marriott bought the chain. Maybe these people will ge canned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top