$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

4 stars
Paseo de la Delicias 26, PASEO DE LAS DELICIAS 26, Madrid, 28045
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
56 reviews
good rest at a great location

Quiet, functionally decorated room which allows for a good night rest. Hotel is situated at a great... See full review

  • Lawino
  • Apr 18, 2014
Couldn't Ask for More

My family spent three night there, in two rooms. The staff was very, very helpful upon check-in and... See full review

  • Madrid Devotee
  • Aug 14, 2012
Hotel by Atocha offers comfortable stay, excellent service, good eating
The AC Carlton Madrid is well situated for access to Atocha railway station in the heart of the city. Also nearby are the renowned Madrid art museums, the Reina Sofia, Prado, and Thyssen-Bornemisza. The area surrounding the hotel has many good dining choices, or head to the chic, on-site restaurant and sample their modern spin on traditional Spanish cuisine. The hotel has a business center for guest use, as well as meeting rooms and free Wi-Fi access in public areas. The 122 tastefully designed guest rooms provide all amenities for a comfortable stay.
Highlights
  • Close to famed Reina Sofia and Prado art galleries, Atocha railway station and Royal Botanic Gardens in Madrid
  • Elegant in-house restaurant serves a menu by chef Jose Angel Murias featuring traditional Spanish cuisine with a modern twist
  • Meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas of AC Carlton
Rooms
The 122 guest rooms at the AC Carlton Madrid are beautifully stylish, with neutral tones and modern furniture. Amenities in these spacious twin or double rooms include air conditioning, a TV, mini bar, safety box, and a bathroom equipped with a hair dryer and toiletries. Superior twin rooms are also available and come with an extra living area, tea tray, and hydromassage bathtub. Wi-Fi access is available in all rooms at extra charge. Laundry and room service are also available.
Features
With Atocha railway station and the most famous Madrid art museums close by, the AC Carlton Madrid is well located for sightseeing and those wanting to explore further afield. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and tapas bars, but for guests tired after a busy day museum-hopping, the hotel's elegant restaurant serves traditional Spanish cuisine with a contemporary twist by chef Jose Angel Murias. The AC Carlton Madrid also offers meeting rooms, a business center and free Wi-Fi access in public areas.
Transportation
  • Madrid bus service (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Madrid Metro service (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Atocha Railway Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Barajas Airport (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Centro de Arte Reina Sofia (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Museo del Ferrocarril (Train Museum) (0.34 mi/0.6 km)
  • Royal Botanical Garden (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Prado Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Thyssen-Bornemisza Museum (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Buen Retiro Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Plaza Mayor (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Puerta del Sol (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Three meetings rooms, capacity of 100 people
  • Audiovisual equipment available
  • Business center
  • Free Wi-Fi access in public areas

Hotel Map

40.4051 -3.6935
Area served
Madrid
Nearby airports
Madrid International Airport Barajas, (MAD), 20.00, KM, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
TV
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Bidet

Nearby points of interest

  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.6 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Atocha Station: 0.3 mi
  • Atocha Rail Station: 0.8 mi
  • Cortes: 0.9 mi
  • Old Quarter: 0.9 mi
  • Arganzuela: 0.9 mi
  • Puerta de Toledo: 1 mi
  • Descalzas Reales: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de la Villa: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Oriente: 1.3 mi
  • Puente de Vallecas: 1.4 mi
  • Usera: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza de España: 1.6 mi
  • Campo del Moro: 1.6 mi
  • Fuencarral: 1.9 mi
  • Chamberi: 2 mi
  • Moratalaz: 2.5 mi
  • Latina: 2.7 mi
  • Nuevos MInisterios Rail Station: 2.8 mi
  • Carabanchel: 3 mi
  • Casa de Campo: 3.5 mi
  • Castellana Avenue North: 3.7 mi
  • Tetuan: 3.9 mi
  • Arturo Soria Metro Station: 4 mi
  • Villaverde: 4 mi
  • Villa de Vallecas: 4 mi
  • Ciudad Lineal: 4.1 mi
  • Vallecas: 4.3 mi
  • Chamartin Rail Station: 4.7 mi
  • San Blas: 4.8 mi
  • IFEMA and Campo de las Naciones: 5.8 mi
  • Hortaleza: 5.8 mi
  • Madrid Golf Park: 8 mi

Dining

AC Bar
Find a tempting menu of available throughout the day at the AC Bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Madrid Devotee
USA
Aug 14, 2012

Couldn't Ask for More

My family spent three night there, in two rooms. The staff was very, very helpful upon check-in and indeed, throughout our stay. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The location was exactly what we wanted (close to Retiro and Prado). The free wi-fi in the lobby was more than sufficient for our needs. The free minibar (non-alcoholic) was a nice perk. Even though this is a "business" hotel, it served our family very well. Only thoughts on improvements: soundproofing on rooms is not the best, and noise from the street and other rooms was a minor issue. Also, the beds left a little to be desired. We would definitely stay again, and encourage others to do so as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
May 25, 2011

Very Nice Hotel - Great Location

This was a very nice hotel. Clean and modern with very friendly staff. It was a little noisy, on a busy street. But the location was worth it as all of the places we visited were within walking distance. The train station and a metro stop were only a couple of blocks away if we did not want to walk. We used the metro after visiting the Palacio Real as it was a bit of a hike after a long day. The breakfast buffet was a little expensive. We went elsewhere for breakfast. I also wish there had been free wireless internet access in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Medford OR
Nov 4, 2010

Great location

Good location near the train station, Retiro Park, & El Prado. Lots of little Bar/Cafeterias close by for breakfast. We used the on/off bus & the metro. Took the train to Segovia & Toledo for day trips & then to move to Barc. The hotel was kind enough to let us check in early upon arrival. Friendly staff & clean comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Retiro Park & the Jardín Botanico are lovely places to stroll & take a breather from the busy city sites.

Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOP
MEXICO CITY
Jan 6, 2010

NICE LOCATION

THEIR ROOMS ARE COMFORTABLE AND NICE BREACKFAST IS SPLENDID

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Italy
Dec 8, 2010

Fair accomodation in Madrid

Nice hotel in the Atocha area of Madrid. Room are well furbished and maintained. Closed to Atocha station, the hotel is a little far from main commercial area (Puerta del Sol / Salamanca area) but it is closed to main museums (Prado, Reina Sofia & Tyssen). Reception is fast but not very welcoming... Ask for high floor room to prevent street noises as the hotel is positioned on a high traffic street. I would reccomend it to everyone looking for a reasonably priced accomodation in a semi central area of Madrid (if you don't like to walk... look for something else).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

EMT Bus connect the airport to Atocha station and then it is a short walk to the hotel. This is the cheapest / easy way to reach the city center.

Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larsKey
kansas City
Jun 2, 2011

out of town center but can walk

Friendly and helpful staff. Large very clean and stylish rooms. Free mini bar soft drinks. Internet in lobby. Close to atocha and metro. A neighborhood that is not solely tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtDria
New York, NY
Sep 2, 2010

Great hotel

Excellent hotel for an affordable price. It was newly remodeled and very modern. The room was spotless, beautiful, comfortable, and really impressed me. Located near Atocha train station and art museums. A bit of a walk to the Puerta del Sol and Gran Via, but the metro is quite easy to figure out and only 1 euro per trip. The breakfast was a bit expensive (13 euro) but offered a great variety of food (and excellent coffee!) so I felt it was worth it. The staff service was outstanding and they were very friendly and helpful! My only complaint was that the water temperature in the shower was finicky and kept changing constantly. Not sure if the walls are thin or if my neighbor was just loud but noise from other rooms was an issue at times as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you love art, you can save a few euro by purchasing the Paseo del Arte pass: for just under 18 euro you get into the Prado, Museo Reina Sofia, and Museo Thyssen.

Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York State
Jun 8, 2011

Nice Experience

This Hotel was perfect for us. Clean room, nice neighborhood, within walking distance to the Plaza Mayor, The Palace, Atocha Train Station,Art Museum, and Madrid Tour Bus. Street is lined with bakeries, boutiques, and plenty of places to enjoy the local food and drink. We encountered a helpful, English speaking staff. Room is modern with plasma TV, and a small refrigerator which is stocked with "free, non alcoholic beverages".Work station in lobby. Breakfast buffet, with various offerings ,available for 14 Euro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Dec 12, 2009

Hotel Carlton in Madrid

Very nice hotel at a reasonable price. Large room by European standards. Easy access to many main attractions (museums). We had selected this hotel because we were traveling by train to and from other locations in Spain, and the train station was very close and easily accessible. We only stayed here our first and last nights in Spain, so we didn't spend much time touring Madrid, but this hotel is close to many museums(Prado). The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. It is located on a busy street, so street-side rooms are noisy. We didn't eat there, so I can't speak to the quality of the restaurant. Overall a good experience, and we would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nathanworldtraveler
NYC, NY
Jan 14, 2010

Very Enjoyable Hotel

The staff were very friendly and helpful without being pushy. The rooms were clean, decent sized and modern looking. When we arrived our shower water was not going down and they immediately rectified the situation, sending a repair person within minutes of our call to fix the drain. I only wish they supplied a hotwater or coffee pot in the room like other hotels. I would definitly stay here again as the bang for buck and location were great. They are minutes from the Reyna Sofia but in a quieter and safe neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reyna Sofia is a 2 minute walk away, the Prado is between 5 -10 minutes away, and the Renfe train station is 2-5 minutes away. The Large park is also between 2-5 minutes

Review of AC Hotel Carlton Madrid by Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
czartex
Houston. Texas
May 9, 2011

Very good hotel and location.

The room was large and comfortable. The restrooms are also large. For the price we were very happy with the condition of the hotel, cleanliness,and the rooms were made ready daily. The hotel provided daily toiletries. The room also had a small refrigerator with some complimentary drinks and this was a very nice added feature. Be advised that the 2 elevators are small and you can fit no more than four people at a time. If you are using the trains to arrive or depart then the Atochu rail station is within walking distance. Don't worry you do not hear the trains at the hotel. You are within walking distance if you like to some of the museums like the Prado, El Retiro park with the crystal palace and the fallen angel, and to the Botanical Gardens. The other sites like the Royal Palace and Cathedral you will have to take the metro which is close by or a taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to do a lot of sight seeing buy the Madrid pass in advance, start the day early and plan you intinerary. It is hard to do everything you want in a short period due to tourist lines at some of the locations and places closing down for lunch. If you purchase the tourist pass make sure and check because the Line for entry at the museums, Royal Palace will be differnt then for the general public. This will allow you to get ahead of some of the Lines.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search