$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel Alixares

4 stars
View map of Paseo De La Sabica, 40, Granada & Province, 18009

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Alixares

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 4, 2009

Great base for the weekend

Both the bedroom and bathroom were small and basic, but the location is a great base for visiting the Alhambra and the city of Granada for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Zoraya restaurant has Flamenco floor show. Performers pass out baskets for tips.

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 10, 2009

Convenient location for the Alhambra

The hotel is pleasant and near the Alhambra but it is quite a distance from central Granada and the other attractions. The buffet meals were adequate but not fancy. One of our two rooms was spoiled by a smell of sewage. I think the was a leak in the drain line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reading,MA USA
Jul 12, 2009

Nice hotel away from the hetic city

Cool hotel away from downtown. great location overall. easy parking. would stay there again. rooms where clean and staff was friendly. nothing bad to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spainlover
Business
USA
Jul 1, 2009

Great Location

The staff is wonderful and helpful. The breakfast is not the best I have had in Spain, but very good! The location could not be better! The only bad thing I can say is that I had some trouble with the WiFi. It worked most of the time, but would stop randomly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manny el Torero
Business
South Florida, FL
May 28, 2009

Great atmosphere and excellent service.

Walking distance to the Alhambra (if you are planning on visiting Alhambra, make sure you buy the tickets before you get there as you might run in the problem on finding the tickets are sold out). Excellent service. If you get tired of the spaniard food which I doubt you will, you can always get a pizza delivered to your room, we did that one night and it was very good. Bring comfortable shoes as you will walk a lot especially up and down hills. Transportation from hotel to the center of town is very easy as you will find a bus stop within walking distance from the hotel. The only thing I didn't like that much was the bed, not that comfortable, but then, that is the same way for most of the old towns in Spain. Don't expect a bed that you will find even in a 3 stars US hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

While in Spain, if you ask for the "Menu del Dia" (Today's Menu), you can save a lot of money and that includes 2 dishes, bread, dessert, and most of the time one drink. The food from the "menu del dia" is very good. We've been in Spain for 2 weeks now and I have to say that we have save lot of money that way and from all the Menu del Dia we have ate, I can only say that only one was not acceptable. :)

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
May 20, 2009

Too touristy, would not stay there again

If you like big busses in front of your hotel all the time, a very expensive place to park your car, the smell of sewage in your room and a hotel away from everything BUT the alhambra, this hotel is for you. It looks great online, but if you have a desire to see real spain this is NOT your hotel. Everything you do there is extra money. Parking cost over $20 per night. Traveling into town is usually a 20 minute commute. Do yourself a favor: Get a nice hotel in Granada (which is a beautiful city) and spend money ONE TIME on the easy bus to the Alhambra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the shuttle into Granda instead of a taxi ride. 1.50 Euros for round trip vs. 7 Euro one way for taxi. Shuttle 30 and 33 take you from Alhambra entrance to the middle of downtown Granada.

Review of Hotel Alixares

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redmomd, WA
May 8, 2009

Nice hotel across from Alhambra

The hotel is literally across from Alhambra - which is great if that's your main reason for visit. However it's a bit of a hike to center of Granada. Goign to the center is all downhill so not a big deal - 15-20minutes. Coming back you will need to grab a taxi ~10 euro. The rooms are big and clean, there is a small but nice pool, and the location is very quiet. The staff spoke English very well and were helpful. There is free WiFi in the hotel but if you don't have a computer there is a computer in the lobby which is NOT free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top