$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Barcelo Margaritas

4 stars
Avda. Gran Canaria, 40, Playa del Ingls, Gran Canaria, 35100
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
11 reviews
Recommended

Very nice hotel, super good food, nice and friendly staff...... But who need Internet - it is bad... See full review

  • Marius37
  • Mar 2, 2013
Ideal Hotel

Good location, close to Yumbo Centre. Comfortable room See full review

  • M2rtin
  • May 24, 2014
Barcel Margaritas is an ideal hotel for families and for couples who are looking for a full service Holiday hotel with a wide variety of services and facilities. 490 rooms (356 double rooms, 29 double family rooms, 105 apartments), balcony, Telephone, minibar (on request and extra charge), TV Sat, Bath, air conditioning, hairdryer, safe (extra charge). Buffet restaurant, 4 bars and Disco. 2 adult and 2 children Swimming Pools, children's playground and miniclub, magnificent Tropical garden and a naturist/nudist rooftop terrace, beauty centre with sauna and massage. Entertainment program for adults and children with activities, sports and professional shows.

Barcelo Margaritas Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Bright and comfortable rooms overlooking the sea, the swimming pool or the outdoor areas. All the rooms have a balcony, air conditioning, a telephone, Sat TV, a safe, a minibar, a bathtub and a hair dryer

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Margaritas also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

27.7635 -15.5806
Area served
Playa del Ingles (Gran Canaria)
Nearby airports
International Airport:30km
Area description
Can be reached on a walk to the leisure and entertainment Gran Chaparral and Yumbo Center. The hotel offers free bus service to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas dunes.

Nearby points of interest

  • Puerto Rico de Gran Canaria: 8.8 mi
  • Colon Avenue: 25.5 mi
  • Puerto de La Luz: 27.7 mi
  • Columbus House: 1,888.9 mi
  • Port of Las Palmas: 1,889.1 mi
  • Museo Canario: 1,889.5 mi
  • Las Canteras Beach: 1,889.8 mi
  • Paseo de Las Canteras: 1,890.5 mi
  • Telde: 1,890.5 mi
  • Alfredo Kraus Auditorium: 1,891.1 mi
  • The University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria: 1,892.2 mi
  • Agüimes: 1,893 mi
  • Arucas: 1,895.4 mi
  • San Agustin Canaria: 1,899.6 mi
  • Pico de Las Nieves: 1,899.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico de Gran Canaria: 8.8 mi
  • Colon Avenue: 25.5 mi
  • Puerto de La Luz: 27.7 mi
  • Columbus House: 1,888.9 mi
  • Port of Las Palmas: 1,889.1 mi
  • Museo Canario: 1,889.5 mi
  • Las Canteras Beach: 1,889.8 mi
  • Paseo de Las Canteras: 1,890.5 mi
  • Telde: 1,890.5 mi
  • Alfredo Kraus Auditorium: 1,891.1 mi
  • The University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria: 1,892.2 mi
  • Agüimes: 1,893 mi
  • Arucas: 1,895.4 mi
  • San Agustin Canaria: 1,899.6 mi
  • Pico de Las Nieves: 1,899.7 mi
  • Maspalomas: 1,901.6 mi
  • Dunes of Maspalomas: 1,901.7 mi
  • Roque Nublo: 1,902.1 mi
  • Playa del Inglés: 1,902.2 mi
  • Aqualand Gran Canaria: 1,903.1 mi
  • Sonneland: 1,903.3 mi
  • Maspalomas Lighthouse: 1,903.5 mi
  • Cueva Pintada: 1,903.7 mi
  • Palmitos Park: 1,903.9 mi
  • Agaete: 1,906.5 mi
  • God's finger: 1,907.1 mi
  • Mogán: 1,909.5 mi
  • Amadores Beach: 1,910.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Parking (outdoor and subject to additional charge Sports available in the hotel:Tennis (advance booking required; lighting subject to additional charge) Waterpolo Aquagym Table tennis Shooting range Hopscotch Football Gym Mini club with children's swimming pool

Dining

Buffet restaurant
Buffet restaurant
2 snack bars
2 snack bars near pool
Lounge bar
only open in winter
Disco
disco at night

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Margaritas

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M2rtin
london, uk
May 24, 2014

Ideal Hotel

Good location, close to Yumbo Centre. Comfortable room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a transit from Airport to resort, very reasonable price and is door to door

Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheiky
London, England
Nov 2, 2013

Brilliant holiday

We stayed here in last two weeks of October in blazing sunshine. We were here with my sister, brother-in-law, nephew, his wife and two children aged 6 and 3. The kids had a blast in mini club and pleaded to go there. This runs for two sessions and then in the evening there is the mini dancing and singing session. The pools were nice. Food was very plentiful with choices and variation. The shows every evening were simply the best. The animation team were amazing. Sometimes they got people from outside but the entertainment team was far superior. We had a very good time. Good selection of English TV channels on the satellite flat screen telly on the wall. Good sized balcony to sit outside and watch the entertainment on the stage or people watching.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Take advantage of the free coaches that take you to the beach because the walk is long because there are hills.

Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R888D
London uk
Oct 20, 2013

Chill out week

For us the hotel was great for a relaxing week. Quiet pool area away from main pool and entertainment which suited us. Clean, best I have seen. Staff, attentive and helpful. The grounds, leafs never laid on the ground long. Kiddy play area they even cleaned the fence which enclosed the area. However it's a shame there is a charge for the wifi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marius37
Ireland
Mar 2, 2013

Recommended

Very nice hotel, super good food, nice and friendly staff...... But who need Internet - it is bad and should be for free to customers..... But hotel cool, close to city centre - far from beach, but bus taking u there for free if u lazy to walk ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Yumbo

Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlanH
Basingstoke, UK
Dec 28, 2012

Noise

My only complaint and I doubt i am the only one is the endless noise coming from the Animation team from 10am to 11pm every day/night. The structure of the Hotel means all rooms overlook the pool area. This is where the animation team is based. This means that you can't even sit on your balcony and enjoy peace and quiet. As a result I felt I had to leave the hotel everyday in search of a noise free environment. Day time might be tollerable but to effectively be living in a disco until 11pm everynight is not on, especially has they have a disco in the basement. Otherwise good food and perfect weather.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ontheone
London
Sep 28, 2012

Great Service

Great customer service: Staff polite, attentive and extremely helpful. I requested a change of room because I needed to have the windows open to allow fresh air in the room because of my sinuses and was promptly given a new room. Excellent selection of food at both breakfast and dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Fine dining requires a bit of the trek to Costa Meloneras at other end of the beach best to get there by public transport or car. Excellent shops, cafes and restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aicha
Paris, France
Mar 4, 2012

Good value for money

The staff were very polite and friendly, the rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and the bed very comfortable. The food was awesome always looking forward to go to the restaurant each day. Never ate so good in a holiday. The location is very good not far from the beach and night life. Will surely come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Kasbah is a very good place both for shopping,dinning and later in the night is disco time.

Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnny gee
London, UK
Jan 6, 2012

highly recommended

All good things to say bout this hotel good location, night;ife and beach are not far away at all great room size;split living room and bedroom;for the location, pretty amazing good service great value for your money,strongly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LNN3307
Burton on Trent
Aug 17, 2010

Would definitely go again!

Our 3-person family visited the last week of July 2010. We had a great time! We wanted a view of the pool and they did not have any rooms. However, the staff were glad to move us the next day. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. Both of the pools were lovely. The food was great! We all gained weight. Rooms are cleaned every day. Courtesy shuttle to both beaches is a bonus. Easier than walking to the beach from a hotel. Entertainment was great most of the time. Only had one night that was a little lame. It would have been nice to have kareoke more than one night. Free pour drinks. Don't worry if you want more after 11pm, because the disco is great and serves BOGOF. Yumbo Centre is a close walk, but we found better deals at the Cita (taxi €3). We loved the local Aqualand water park. They offer a 2nd visit for only €8ppp. It is worth going twice for only a €5 taxi. Don't get hooked to go see another property. It's a time share and was a total waste of our day (unless you have £9K+ to spend on a 1-week owned holiday). They gave us a DVD player, but we would have rather been at the beach. Nice property, but don't follow someone who says you might of won €500 on a scratch card. This was our 1st time to Gran Canaria and we would definitely go again; and probably to Las Margaritas (as the locals call it). They have plenty of activities for the kids; young and older. Our 14-year old liked the darts and archery. They younger kids would have a ball. Bingo every afternoon by the pool trying to win champagne. They speak all the languages. Would recommend to all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Margaritas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jersey City, NJ
Jan 13, 2010

Conveniently located, breakfasts great!

We had a good stay at the Barceló Margaritas Hotel from December 19 through December 23, 2009. The hotel is very conveniently located in Playa el Ingles area, next door to the Post office, several banks and shopping areas. We just had couple of mishaps during our stay. Upon check-in, we were assigned a room that was already booked, and we were allowed to get into that room! So had to go back to reception and request a new room. The A/C in the new room was not working, so had to call Reception to get it serviced. Also, the TV set would not turn On with the remote control, had a hard time figuring out how to turn it ON on the TV set itself. No instructions were provided. Only the essential accessories were provided in the bathroom (soap, shampoo, body gel), but they did provide a hair dryer. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, wide selection of foods, to cater the European tourists mostly. Due to the wet, cool weather, we did not try the pool. Overall, we had a good stay, no major complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We recommend a traditional Canary Island restaurant called "La Casa Vieja", which is located about 15 minute walk north from the Hotel. It is also a very short ride via taxi. The food was wonderful and they also had guitarrists playing traditional music around the tables. Great experience, we highly recommend this place.

Back to menu Return to top