Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 647, Barcelona, 08005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAJEC
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 3, 2012

Business Trip

The hotel was ideally situated for my purposes and overall a good value. The Club Level "breakfast" was nothing more than donuts and croissants so the expense of breakfast was an add on. Meals in the restaurant were very good. The hotel does not have a business center and was unable to assist with printing boarding passes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
normally grumpy but....
Business
UK
Jul 25, 2014

fine family hotel

First thing that strikes you is the superb reception service. With 2 teenage children we had interconnecting rooms, which were comfortable and clean. Pool on roof is small but ok for dip to cool down after walking the city. Pool bar is a chilled haven for those occasions! Overall really good experience and would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brianmcc
Business
Philadelphia, pa
Jun 24, 2014

Great stay

My friend and I stayed at this hotel and we absolutely loved it. The staff was helpful, the hotel was super nice, and I have no complaints at all about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
European virgins
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 6, 2014

Great central location

Staff was very helpful, location was 15 to 20 minutes from most attractions, room was simple and nice. We booked a club level room, our traveling companions did not and both rooms were identical except we had robes and a non functioning coffee/expresso maker in the hall (save your money and book the standard room). We easily walked to the Ramblas, the hop on hop off buses and lots of restaurants. We also took a bit longer walk to the Sagrada Familia and Gaudi avenue, it made for an enjoyable bit of exercise. The hotels in Barcelona seem to vary in price by location, this was a great location for our mid 50's group. This hotel has a wonderful rooftop bar and pool area, great views and a lovely atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a short cab ride to the Park Gruell and plan on spending at least 3 hours their. We took the hop on hop off bus and that was great but if pressed for time. take a cab.

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Hassan's
Business
San Mateo, California
Jun 1, 2014

Wonderful experience

Excellent location, clean, nicely appointed rooms and friendly staff. Romano, the vening front desk manager was delightful and extremely helpful with advice on sights, restaurant suggestions and shopping! Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Tiny side alleys off La Rambla have wonderful boutiques. Don't hesitate to ask for a discount! Avoid touristy "paella" and "sangria" restaurants on main roads as there are tons of eateries everywhere on side streets offering much better food.

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cyang327
Business
Connecticut
May 20, 2014

Perfecto!

Was pleasantly surprised at how perfect this hotel was. Very close to the airport shuttle at Plaza Catalunya. On a main road with lots of shops/restaurants. Very friendly staff, super nice rooms, great views with the balcony. All at a very very reasonable price. Could not have asked for a better stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MFmac P
Business
Dublin
May 11, 2014

good location

We found the staff very pleasant and helpful the food good and the location perfect for our planned visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJ the Traveler
Business
NY
May 3, 2014

Great Hotel in Barcelona!

Excellent location! Great staff! Say Hi to David at the Pool Bar! Oh and there is a pool bar with great city views. Look no farther than the Gran Havana!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgeeh
Business
Isle of Man
Apr 25, 2014

Great hotel for a getaway

The wifi is slow and tempremental and the "pool" is tiny but other than that this hotel gets full marks! The location is ideal and the rooms are spacious, kitted out with a TV, sound systems, and writing desk. The rooms are clean and the whole hotel is nicely decorated. Helpful accommodating staff - would definitely revisit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smooty Belle
Business
Newcastle upon Tyne
Apr 12, 2014

Excellently chic boutique style hotel

I have taken one star away from what would have been a 5 star rating due to the fact that on the day we arrived we were told we'd be staying in a different hotel down the road. We never got to the bottom of the whys and wherefores, however, we were offered free breakfast for the duration of our stay and the first night was spent in a lovely old-fashioned hotel called Roger de Lluria, which was very comfortable. A porter wheeled our luggage across for us. The next 2 nights were spent at Gran Silken, in a small but very modern and minimalist room, we had a small entrance hall, two tvs (which we didn't really need) and a mini hi-fi which was pretty high quality. The pool was being renovated/repaired whilst we were there, but we still went to the roof-top terrace which has amazing views of Barcelona. At breakfast our Maitre'D was the most affable, helpful man whose smiles and positive manner and attitude made our day. One fly in the ointment was that during the night there seemed to be some distant door banging and we couldn't work out where it was, but I did write it down on the hotel's own review and hopefully they'll find it and fix it! The hotel was clean. It was central and although there is a very busy road outside, once you were in your room there was no discernible traffic noise. Breakfast was excellent. Great choices and wonderful bread.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Do accept any detailed map the hotel offers you, I had a Lonely Planet map which wasn't helpful and we got lost getting to the hotel, however, once we had a detailed map, we had no problems finding our way around.

Review of Silken Gran Havana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buttercup
Business
Chichester, Uk
Apr 1, 2014

Great location for short break.

The hotel is clean and very well presented. The facilities are great but sadly the pool was closed for maintenance on our visit. The location is spot on, far enough away from La Ramblas to be quiet and close enough to walk everywhere - although the taxis are very cheap and worth using. I would certainly recommend the hotel but ladies, take your own hair dryer as the ones provided are rubbish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Use the taxi service - saves getting lost which is easily done and is very cheap.

Back to menu Return to top