$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Diagonal, 205, Barcelona, 08018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
30 reviews
Amazing hotel

The hotel is in a great location, the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again. We loved the... See full review

  • Hollaa
  • Mar 25, 2014
A great place to get around Barcelona

A great stay. There was a problem with our room and the helpful staff rectified this with an... See full review

  • Cecilia B.
  • Jun 16, 2015
  • Sagrada Familia (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Paseo de Gracia (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

 

 

 

 

 

General

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona offers unique design elements such as a dazzling fishbowl-inspired entrance featuring a curved ceiling with water bubbles. Touches of wood and copper abound. The rooftop swimming pool and sun terrace at Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona has a bar serving snacks, sandwiches, tapas and drinks. The Piano Restaurant, recommended by the Michelin Guide, serves Basque and Catalan fresh-market cuisine for lunch and dinner Monday to Saturday. The snazzy Tecla Cafe serves buffet breakfast and snacks daily till 11 p.m. The lobby bar features live piano music. The hotel provides private garage parking onsite (fees apply). Five well-equipped rooms are available for business meetings.

Location

Located in Barcelona's Sant Marti neighborhood, right by Jean Nouvel-designed Agbar Tower, Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona is a spectacular showpiece by Catalan architect Juli Capella. The property is a striking feat of cutting-edge architecture and interior design, with dazzling contrasts of black and white on the façade and stylish contemporary guest rooms. The rooftop swimming pool and solarium offer panoramic city views. The on-site Piano Restaurant serves renowned Basque and Catalan cuisine.

Dining
  • Barcelona International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Glories (L1 line)
Rooms

The size and configuration varies in each of the 228 rooms and suites at Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona. What they all have in common is a contemporary design with warm-tone textiles, stylized lines and an overall minimalist aesthetic. Each unit is equipped with a mini bar, direct-dial phone, safe, high-speed Internet access (fees apply in some rooms), plasma TV with satellite channel, air-conditioning and great soundproofing. The glass-walled bathrooms have an avant-garde look with hydro-massage tubs. bathrooms come stocked with design toiletries. Some rooms and suites have sea views while others overlook the Agbar Tower and Sagrada Familia.

Property features

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona offers unique design elements such as a dazzling fishbowl-inspired entrance featuring a curved ceiling with water bubbles. Touches of wood and copper abound. The rooftop swimming pool and sun terrace at Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona has a bar serving snacks, sandwiches, tapas and drinks. The Piano Restaurant, recommended by the Michelin Guide, serves Basque and Catalan fresh-market cuisine for lunch and dinner Monday to Saturday. The snazzy Tecla Cafe serves buffet breakfast and snacks daily till 11 p.m. The lobby bar features live piano music. The hotel provides private garage parking onsite (fees apply). Five well-equipped rooms are available for business meetings.

Highlights
  • Striking architecture and interior design
  • Stylish contemporary guest rooms with all the trappings
  • Excellent on-site restaurant serving Catalan and Basque fare
  • Rooftop swimming pool and solarium (open seasonally)

 

Nearby attractions

Striking contemporary hotel by Agbar Tower in Sant Marti

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Glories (L1 line)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

★★★
$79
4.1 / 5 9 reviews
★★★★
$139
2.5 / 5 4 reviews
★★★
$80
3.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★
$101
5.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona Rooms

CLASSIC - HOTEL
Standard

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre Agbar: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Auditori: 0.5 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 0.5 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 0.8 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 1 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 1 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 1 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 1.1 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 1.1 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 1.1 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 1.1 mi
  • Torre Agbar: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Auditori: 0.5 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 0.5 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 0.8 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 1 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 1 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 1 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 1.1 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 1.1 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 1.1 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 1.1 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 1.2 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Platja de Mar Bella: 1.2 mi
  • Olympic Port: 1.2 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 1.2 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 1.2 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 1.3 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 1.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 1.3 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 1.3 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 1.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 1.4 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 1.4 mi
  • Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 1.4 mi
  • Barcelona Estació de França: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 1.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 1.4 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1.4 mi
  • La Ribera: 1.5 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 1.5 mi
  • Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: 1.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adam2013
Couples
Houston TX
Aug 22, 2013

Nothing special

Small room they charge tourist tax for every day?!!! Whole barcelona overrated go to madrid or other parts of Spain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY,NY
May 17, 2011

Decent location, poor hotel

Hotel was in nice area close to central Barcelona, there was a mall next door, looks newer from the outside and the lobby was in good condition. Now for the bad, the halls were kind of scary, ok, but now for the bad the room didn't seem very clean, the air conditioning worked poorly. In the process of it getting fixed I believe my unattended wedding ring was stolen. The bathroom was this bizarre glass room in the middle of the room. I have stayed in Silken's before and they were generally good. This was disappointing, and not because of the unique rooms so much as the rooms being worn(poor functioning air conditioning, water stained ceiling, worn carpet, furnishings, bath fixtures, etc) and not clean. I should have stayed in the Novotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, UT
Feb 12, 2010

pretty nice place

The hotel was fine, and convenient to the metro. a selling feature for me was the rooftop pool and deck, but this was closed in the winter. The rooms were comfortable and well designed, but noisy electric blinds in surrounding rooms were bothersome. Internet was real slow. The staff was helpful and attentive, but they were perpetually understaffed. The price was right, i would rate this a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the metro station just a few hundred meters away allowed me to access any part of the city easily.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jernandez
Couples
austin tx
May 27, 2011

Could have been better

The hotel is very clean and modern in the lobby and the rooms, at first glance, are nice as well. However, things that turned me off about the room were: 1) the mechanical blinds are very loud and you can hear it when the room (on either side) opens/closes their blinds, 2) the shower, while pretty to look at, made it impossible to keep water from splashing on the restroom floor, 3) the hallway ceilings were leaking what I assume was water, 4) bed was hard (though I think this is a European thing), 5) there was a sizable waterstain on the chair in our room. Overall, my impression of this place was 'Could have been better' for what was paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The prices for food in the hotel are a little steep. However, there is a shopping center across the street that has a few options if you are in a rush. If you have more time, hop on the Metro (also a shot walk) and head to Las Ramblas or Passieg de Gracia where you won't be disappointed.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
new haven
Apr 6, 2011

good hotel

the hotel was modern location is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Central Florida
Jun 2, 2011

Different, but handy

We used this location to extend a tour. Fifteen minutes from the port, 20 minutes from the airport, and walking distance (30 minutes) to the Sagada Family Basilica. Ave Diagonal provides easy access to the train, metro, bus, and taxis. Across the street is a large shopping mall with a food court. We enjoyed walking down the Avenue. Many parks large and small. We explored some side streets during our walks and enjoyed treats from some small shops, especially the bakeries. On Saturday there was a huge flea market close to the hotel. Interesting to watch the people buying and selling the same treasures we sell here. The only problem we had at the hotel was that prior to check-in I left a carry-on bag at the hotel. After check-in it was brought up to the room. The bag had contained a fine bottle of Maderia wine. The bottle was broken in many pieces and my clothes drenched. No laundry service was available until Monday. I left for 17-hours of airplane travel smelling like stale wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Sagada Family Basilica, Fabulous. Nice shops and resturaunts in the immediate area. It has been under construction for over 100 years. Look in the sky and you will see the bell towers and cranes surrounding the Basilica. You can use them as a walking guide. Admission to the interior is from 14 to 18 Euros a piece, cash only. Expect a 30 minute wait if you are not part of a large tour.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Serena R.
Couples
West Hollywood
Jan 9, 2015

Christmas in barcelona

We spent Christmas in barcelona and stayed here. I wasn't wild abt how small the room was at all. It was very close to the Glories subway stop which is very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joelietroelie
Couples
Ghent, Belgium
Apr 1, 2014

Short citytrip

Very Nice hotel. Maybe a little to far from the city centre

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Bosco, tapasbar behind the cathedral

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas Couple
Couples
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 29, 2012

Barcelona

The Diagonal Hotel Barcelona was a great boutique hotel that was away from the tourist area. This hotel was easily accessible by tram, metro or bus. The Front Desk staff gave us some great restaurant suggestions and assisted us in renting a car for the day. The hotel appearred to have a lot of business travelers. It was a quiet hotel. There was a mall accross the street if you needed anything. There were only 2 english tv channels (BBC & CNBC). The bed was a little hard but think this is a european "thing" as the hotel we stayed in Rome was the same way. If you are a modest person this won't be the hotel for you. The bathroom is clear and anybody staying with you can see everything. If I ever went back to Barcelona I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asboxerb
Business
Bay area, California
Jul 13, 2012

Ultra modern accomodidations with very friendly staff

Overall, a great experience. The staff were constantly helpful, and the hotel was beautiful. My only minor quib was that sometimes the modern architecture was not as functional. For example, the shower has a glass wall - no privacy, and the bathroom has a glass door - easy to walk into late at night. But still, I'd go here again. The rooftop pool is delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top