Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Diagonal, 205, Barcelona, 08018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jernandez
Business
austin tx
May 27, 2011

Could have been better

The hotel is very clean and modern in the lobby and the rooms, at first glance, are nice as well. However, things that turned me off about the room were: 1) the mechanical blinds are very loud and you can hear it when the room (on either side) opens/closes their blinds, 2) the shower, while pretty to look at, made it impossible to keep water from splashing on the restroom floor, 3) the hallway ceilings were leaking what I assume was water, 4) bed was hard (though I think this is a European thing), 5) there was a sizable waterstain on the chair in our room. Overall, my impression of this place was 'Could have been better' for what was paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The prices for food in the hotel are a little steep. However, there is a shopping center across the street that has a few options if you are in a rush. If you have more time, hop on the Metro (also a shot walk) and head to Las Ramblas or Passieg de Gracia where you won't be disappointed.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY,NY
May 17, 2011

Decent location, poor hotel

Hotel was in nice area close to central Barcelona, there was a mall next door, looks newer from the outside and the lobby was in good condition. Now for the bad, the halls were kind of scary, ok, but now for the bad the room didn't seem very clean, the air conditioning worked poorly. In the process of it getting fixed I believe my unattended wedding ring was stolen. The bathroom was this bizarre glass room in the middle of the room. I have stayed in Silken's before and they were generally good. This was disappointing, and not because of the unique rooms so much as the rooms being worn(poor functioning air conditioning, water stained ceiling, worn carpet, furnishings, bath fixtures, etc) and not clean. I should have stayed in the Novotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new haven
Apr 6, 2011

good hotel

the hotel was modern location is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 13, 2011

Great convenient location

beautiful, clean, very close to METRO. Highly recommend this hotel. If your traveling with friends and have to share the room..the shower facilities aren't private since its all in GLASS..but still beautiful and modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

getting the metro pass is worth it..recommend purchasing the pass with 10 trips

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 11, 2010

Great Stay!

Great location...great price! Easy to get to from the airport taking the train...just exit at the Glories Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The little bar next to the Hotel is great. The pour heavy handed.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Oct 7, 2010

Very nice hotel-close to subway stop

Modern rooms, very clean, upscale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Provincetown, MA
Oct 4, 2010

Stunning & comfortable modern design

The hotel is visually stunning, from the lobby to the guest rooms & pool. Designed in the modernist style that Barcelona has become known for. Rooms are comfortable and excitingly "moderne". However, there is no airport shuttle, even though this website says they do have one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia PA
Jun 14, 2010

Nice & Clean

I lodged at the Silken Barcelona for a conference at a nearby conference and for that it's location was perfect -- just 1 1/2 blocks away. Otherwise the hotel is in the more northern part of town, not in walking distance from the old center at all. The close by shopping center is a bit generic. The rooms have great views and great beds. The hotel breakfast is nice too but 17 euros is too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Globeflyer
Business
Amsterdam
Mar 12, 2010

Good stay at the Silken Diagonal

Good stay. The rooms are not that big, not too small either. What I liked was the glass bathroom 'walls', with a slider so that you can shower and look through the room. Walls are rather thin, I could hear my neighbour shower en hear people in the hallway (sounds of doors closing). Matrasses are harder than average, but I still sleeped very well. Location is pretty good, 5 minutes metro and you arrive at the Catalunya square. Hotel staff at the reception spoke english very well. Cleaning staff did not. wifi is free, reception staff print out a paper with a username and password. just ask for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, UT
Feb 12, 2010

pretty nice place

The hotel was fine, and convenient to the metro. a selling feature for me was the rooftop pool and deck, but this was closed in the winter. The rooms were comfortable and well designed, but noisy electric blinds in surrounding rooms were bothersome. Internet was real slow. The staff was helpful and attentive, but they were perpetually understaffed. The price was right, i would rate this a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the metro station just a few hundred meters away allowed me to access any part of the city easily.

Back to menu Return to top