$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Avinguda Diagonal, 205, Barcelona, 08018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
68 reviews
Amazing hotel

The hotel is in a great location, the staff is very helpful. I would stay here again. We loved the... See full review

  • Hollaa
  • Mar 25, 2014
Silken Diagonal Terrific

We arrived at 9:15 a.m. prepared to check baggage until the 3:00 p.m. official check-in time and... See full review

  • plflamingo
  • Nov 10, 2013
Swank high-rise hotel appeals to design and architecture hawks

Located in Barcelona's Sant Marti neighborhood, right by Jean Nouvel-designed Agbar Tower, Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona is a spectacular showpiece by Catalan architect Juli Capella. The property is a striking feat of cutting-edge architecture and interior design, with dazzling contrasts of black and white on the façade and stylish contemporary guest rooms. The rooftop swimming pool and solarium offer panoramic city views. The on-site Piano Restaurant serves renowned Basque and Catalan cuisine.

Highlights
  • Striking architecture and interior design
  • Stylish contemporary guest rooms with all the trappings
  • Excellent on-site restaurant serving Catalan and Basque fare
  • Rooftop swimming pool and solarium (open seasonally)

 

Rooms

The size and configuration varies in each of the 228 rooms and suites at Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona. What they all have in common is a contemporary design with warm-tone textiles, stylized lines and an overall minimalist aesthetic. Each unit is equipped with a mini bar, direct-dial phone, safe, high-speed Internet access (fees apply in some rooms), plasma TV with satellite channel, air-conditioning and great soundproofing. The glass-walled bathrooms have an avant-garde look with hydro-massage tubs. bathrooms come stocked with design toiletries. Some rooms and suites have sea views while others overlook the Agbar Tower and Sagrada Familia.

Features

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona offers unique design elements such as a dazzling fishbowl-inspired entrance featuring a curved ceiling with water bubbles. Touches of wood and copper abound. The rooftop swimming pool and sun terrace at Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona has a bar serving snacks, sandwiches, tapas and drinks. The Piano Restaurant, recommended by the Michelin Guide, serves Basque and Catalan fresh-market cuisine for lunch and dinner Monday to Saturday. The snazzy Tecla Cafe serves buffet breakfast and snacks daily till 11 p.m. The lobby bar features live piano music. The hotel provides private garage parking onsite (fees apply). Five well-equipped rooms are available for business meetings.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Glories (L1 line)
Attractions
  • Sagrada Familia (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Paseo de Gracia (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.8 mi/2.9 km)

 

 

 

 

 

Hotel Map

41.404 2.1904
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Airport Information Not available, (BCN), 180.00, KM, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona Rooms

CLASSIC - HOTEL
Standard

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Torre Agbar: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Auditori: 0.5 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 0.5 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 0.8 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 1 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 1 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 1 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 1.1 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 1.1 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 1.1 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 1.1 mi
  • Torre Agbar: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Auditori: 0.5 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 0.5 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 0.7 mi
  • El Poblenou: 0.8 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 0.8 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 1 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 1 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 1 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 1.1 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 1.1 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 1.1 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 1.1 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 1.2 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Zoo: 1.2 mi
  • Platja de Mar Bella: 1.2 mi
  • Olympic Port: 1.2 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 1.2 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 1.2 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 1.3 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 1.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 1.3 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 1.3 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 1.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 1.4 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 1.4 mi
  • Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 1.4 mi
  • Barcelona Estació de França: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 1.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 1.4 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 1.4 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1.4 mi
  • La Ribera: 1.5 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 1.5 mi
  • Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: 1.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jill 28
Bray, Ireland
Nov 21, 2012

Great location

Great location . Contemporary hotel with very clean comfortable rooms. Breakfast expensive but not a problem as well located for a range of cafes. Staff pleasant & helpful. Would definitely recommend to others & use again on our return to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good range of cafes nearby for breakfast. Good location for metro & tram stops only 1 minute walk to both.

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leasuresuit Larry
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Nov 10, 2012

For Couples

Nice hotel for all kind of couples. Excellent public transportation anywhere. Breakfast buffet fine (if included in the room price). Free wifi, although slow. For business or pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping Center just opposite

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vasily
Business
Russia
Nov 2, 2012

Bad value for money.

It didn't reach my expectations, cause lot of small things needs to be improoved. Please print out all promotion papers otherwise You will be without breakfest or charged additional 18 EUR/person.. Free WI-FI was too slow, it was not possible to work at all and They offered better one 7EUR/day. I think for such amount of money I could get better somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daisyponcho
South wales
Oct 7, 2012

Fantastic first trip to Barcelona!!

The hotel was fantastic, the room was spotlessly clean, and it was in a great location. The rooftop pool and terrace was a great bonus, and even knowing the pool was freezing, it was still brilliant. Barcelona is the best city I have been to! And this hotel was amazing value for money, and topped off a great trip. I would highly recommend this to anyone!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barcelona's rent a bike!!

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NicKin
Milwaukee, Wi
Aug 6, 2012

There is no airport shuttle

The hotel was easy to find and beautiful. The only frustration we had was that our reason for choosing this hotel was because this site claimed it had a shuttle to the airport. We were angry when the front desk told us it did not. This added stress to the end of a fun trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karnit
Washington
Jul 30, 2012

Stylish clean but pool is too small

I stayed one night at this stylish hotel. Location was good and right next to metro giving access to all tourist attractions in Barcelona. Food was good at the restuarant and service was great! Pool on rooftop is too small so if you go there for the pool, you will be disappointed as it fits 4-6 people at a time an it is more like a bathtub/jaccuzi. Overall recommended for quality/service/location/ price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asboxerb
Business
Bay area, California
Jul 13, 2012

Ultra modern accomodidations with very friendly staff

Overall, a great experience. The staff were constantly helpful, and the hotel was beautiful. My only minor quib was that sometimes the modern architecture was not as functional. For example, the shower has a glass wall - no privacy, and the bathroom has a glass door - easy to walk into late at night. But still, I'd go here again. The rooftop pool is delightful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SHJR
South Wales, UK
Jun 28, 2012

wouldnt recommend to anyone

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights end of June 2012. First impressions were good, then we got to the room. The room itself was clean and tidy. The shower/bath only had glass walls around it, I was with a friend so not private at all! Even arriving at 11pm it was still pretty hot and the air con did not work. We called reception who promised they would fix it first thing in the morning, so we settled for a fan. The fan was so loud, we could hardly sleep, but for one night we survived. To cut a story short they did not fix the air con for the whole time we were there. even after complaining a further 3 times. We ordered breakfast to our room for 9-9.30 and they 'forgot' to bring it. I had to call and re order which messed our whole day up as we had plans. The cleaners then stole a bottle of wine from our room. When I complained to reception the cleaner said it was empty. It was not!! The bar and restaurant is also ridiculously expensive. I swear they make the prices up as they go along. The hotel did not compensate for anything. They did not even replace our bottle of wine. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I have never had to complain to a hotel before, and for the prices they charge I never thought I would have to here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas Couple
Las Vegas, Nevada
Jan 29, 2012

Barcelona

The Diagonal Hotel Barcelona was a great boutique hotel that was away from the tourist area. This hotel was easily accessible by tram, metro or bus. The Front Desk staff gave us some great restaurant suggestions and assisted us in renting a car for the day. The hotel appearred to have a lot of business travelers. It was a quiet hotel. There was a mall accross the street if you needed anything. There were only 2 english tv channels (BBC & CNBC). The bed was a little hard but think this is a european "thing" as the hotel we stayed in Rome was the same way. If you are a modest person this won't be the hotel for you. The bathroom is clear and anybody staying with you can see everything. If I ever went back to Barcelona I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Silken Diagonal Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EnamH
New York, NY, USA
Oct 5, 2011

Decent place, but more familys and couples

Location is about a 5-10 min. train ride to the Rambla. Cab is about 5-7 euros from the heart of the old city. Extremely accessible by train (trains stop at midnight during the week and all night during the weekends. Rooms are clean, a bit small. The bathrooms have glass, so when you take a shower it's a bit exposed. Fo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall across the sheet has a large modern grocery store with everything you need. Food choices as well, ranging from Italian to Chinese if you start getting sick of Tapas.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search