Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

5 stars
Pau Claris, 122, Pau Claris, 122, Barcelona, 08009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Location

We stayed in Barcelona for 2 days before our cruise and 1 day after our return. We chose the AC... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 2, 2011
Perfect Choice for Barcelona

There are so many hotels in Barcelona that it is very easy to find anything you like; but it's also... See full review

  • DavidinSF
  • Sep 8, 2009
Discover Barcelona while enjoying the defining luxuries of the Renaissance Barcelona Hotel. Conveniently situated in the heart of Barcelona, Spain, the hotel's location puts travelers near bountiful shopping, fine restaurants and a wealth of entertainment. Within walking distance of Paseo de Gracia, the city's world-renowned avenue filled with impressive architecture, exceptional shopping and prominent business destinations, this stylish hotel in Barcelona aptly offers exceptional service and contemporary designs. Whether traveling for business or leisure, the lodging's well-appointed guest rooms feature luxury bedding ensembles, individual climate control, high-speed Internet, cable/satellite service and modern bathrooms to provide travelers with everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience in Barcelona, Spain. On-site steakhouse dining and a relaxing lounge offer exciting food and beverage options and the hotel's impressive event venues are ideal for business meetings, conferences and social events.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Gift shop
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bidet

Hotel Map

41.3925 2.1674
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Barcelona Airport El Prat, (BCN), 15.00, KM, NE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.1 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.2 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.2 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.1 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.2 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.2 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.5 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.5 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.5 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.6 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.7 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.7 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.8 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.8 mi

Dining

CUIT Bar & Lounge
Cuit Bar & Lounge’s unique design inspired by local Catalan architecture is the perfect place to unwind and taste local Barcelona flavors. Our tapas-style lounge allows you to sample traditional Spanish Platillos with signature cocktails.
CRU Steakhouse
Fresh ingredients, new tastes, vibrant ambience and the best steaks are what make this steakhouse in Barcelona a cut above the rest. We only use the best cuts of USDA-certified Black Angus beef and pair each meal with a premium selection of fine wines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
9 out of 9
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Gatehead
Apr 19, 2011

Hmmm

Good staff and helpful . Quite warm for the time of year and extremely disappointed with the stuffiness of the room . The aircon didnt work and found it detrimental to the room ambience . Would have found it dificult to stay there mid summer . Free bar consists of a bottle of San Miguel between 2 !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
New York City, NY
Nov 8, 2009

Good Location & good business hotel

Good hotel aimed mostly at business travelers. The front desk was friendly and the location is walking distance to most tourist destinations. Walking to the beach is a little long. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but a little dark. Balcony views from the back side are nothing special. Rooftop is great with a very small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Holly Golightly
Oklahoma City OK
Jul 28, 2009

Wonderful hotel!

The hotel was central to everything! Large room for a European hotel. Beautiful marble bathroom. Very clean. Beautiful rooftop view of the city. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Fat Tire Bike Tour the first or second day of your stay! It shows you the whole city and is fabulous!

Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
eastbourne
Jun 7, 2011

lovely room, good location

We had a lovely spacious room with a view to the Sagrada Familia.The reception and cleaning staff were all v friendly. The restaurant was closed in the evenings until 1st June but we had not intended to eat in the hotel anyway so it was no problem to us. The sun terrace and pool is quite small, but again this was no problem to us as we were out most of the time. The hotel is a short walk to the main square and La Rambla and Gracia(one of the main shopping streets) quite close to the metro stations. So if you are`nt worried about being close to the beach and Port Olympic it`s in a good place. All in all its a good place stay if you want to shop and sight see. Its not a particularly attractive building(just an ordinary business hotel feel to it). Ideal for a city break.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
fols
Trumbull CT
Nov 22, 2011

Nice stay. Great area.

Friendly staff, great location. Very comfortable for three of us. We stayed there for three nights and really were able to relax. We had a lot of rain so we did spend more time than usual in the hotel. may daughter loved the free internet access in the lobby and my husband and I sat and had a glass of wine. Nothing really fancy but as hotels go in Europe it was lovely and spacious. We could walk everywhere. I would stay there again. it's not cheap and we stayed in a nice hostel our last two nights but we were never in the room and it was small. Depends what you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
amike
Orange County, CA
Dec 27, 2011

Perfect starting point for any Barcelona visit

The hotel is located right in the center of the city within easy walking distance to most attractions (Placa de Catalunya, Sagrada Familia, La Rambla etc.). The train station is also just a block away which makes it very easy to get to and from the airport. Currently the hotel is being renovated and there are scaffoldings all around the building but I did not notice any noise early in the morning or at night so it was not a problem. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Europa2011
PA
Aug 7, 2011

Convenient for pre/post-cruise

Just a couple of blocks away from Plaza Cataluyna which was very convenient yet not being so close to La Rambla made the area more quiet and relaxing. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Beds were OK. The rooftop deck is a peaceful spot with nice views of the city. The small pool is just enough to cool off on a hot summer day. The mini-bar in the room had nice cool drinks that were included in the price. No snacks though. The hotel staff was very accommodating to call in a cab quickly for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try taking the Aerobus from the airport (**CASH only). It is 5.30 euros a person as opposed to using a taxi which would run you 35+ euros depending on # of people and luggage. They run very frequently and drop you off by Plaza Cataluyna (their last stop of about 3 or 4 total). Then it is a pretty short walk (4 blocks) to the hotel or grab a taxi if you don't want to lug around luggage.

Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Centreville, VA
Aug 2, 2011

Great Location

We stayed in Barcelona for 2 days before our cruise and 1 day after our return. We chose the AC Diplomat for all 3 nights. We were very pleased with the location, close to the main Plazas and we could easily walk to dinner and sightseeing. Hotel had full size hair dryer, and many personal care items. Friendly. Very helpful and many English speaking employees.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the "Hop on, Hop off" bus tour! It really helps you get a feel for the area!

Review of Renaissance Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
DavidinSF
San Francisco, CA
Sep 8, 2009

Perfect Choice for Barcelona

There are so many hotels in Barcelona that it is very easy to find anything you like; but it's also easy to make a mistake. We took a chance with this hotel and have absolutely no regrets. Perfect location; walking distance to everything important, yet on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle of La Rambla. Nicely appointed hotel. Rooms big enough. Super clean. Good service. Free wiFi in the lobby and for pay in the rooms. If back in Barcelona would absolutely come back to the same place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cal Pep, Tapas 24, Comerc 24

Back to menu Return to top