$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

4 stars
Consell de Cent, 51-53, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
68 reviews
Christmas in Barcelona

The hotel was excellent. We were very dissatisfied with the restaurant. The waitress was rude and... See full review

  • Bestmom1
  • Feb 11, 2014
Let Down By Breakfast

Overall, this was a good-looking, funky hotel, centrally located. One of the best features was that... See full review

  • Vixie
  • Jul 11, 2013
Sleek rooms and spa rolled into one modern central hotel

Located in the central Montjuic area, the modern Vincci Arena is a six-floor hotel done up in an elegant, modernist style. A hop and a skip from the central Sants train station and Plaza Espanya, the hotel is ideally located for exploring Barcelona's attractions. The 84 contemporary rooms showcase a full spectrum of upscale trimmings. The on-site fitness center provides workout facilities. Massages (fees apply) are available at the small spa with a steam room and sauna. The hotel also features a terrace bar and a private car park (surcharge).  

Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with all the trimmings
  • Central location a stroll away from Plaza Espanya and Sants train station
  • Fitness center and small spa on the premises
Rooms

The 84 soundproofed guest rooms at Vincci Arena showcase a swank contemporary look with bright colors and a stylish ambience. The hotel has 11 executive rooms, three of which have a private balcony and Jacuzzi offering fantastic views of the Montjuic hill. All guest rooms come equipped with safes, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, direct-dial telephone, Internet connection, satellite TV, mini bar and air-conditioning.

Features

Vincci Arena offers room service (light snacks only), baby-sitting facilities (subject to pre-booking), laundry, VIP room service, breakfast in bed, tourist information desk, fax and photocopying, entertainment ticket sales, plus car and bicycle hire. Fees apply for all of these services. Massages are available in the small spa, for a surcharge. The hotel also features a Japanese garden and a lobby bar that serves drinks and snacks. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available for business visitors. The reception is open 24 hours and stocks daily newspapers. The location of Vincci Arena is excellent, a five-minute stroll to Sants train station and a ten-minute walk from Plaza Espanya. Las Ramblas is also within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Closest metro stops: Tarragona (on the L3 line) and Hostafrancs (on the L1 line)

 

Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Port Olimpic (2.7 mi/4.4 km)

Hotel Map

41.3768 2.1459
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN).
Area description
Located near the Fairs area of Fira and Plaza de Espana and next to the newly open commercial center "Las Arenas". Very well communicated with all city motorways, the hotel is just a few steps away from the main train and coach station of Barcelona-Sants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one twin bed includes safe, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, direct dial telephone, internet cable connection free, wifi connection chargeable, LCD satellite TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and a wide range of welcome amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dona i Ocell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.2 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.4 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.5 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.2 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.4 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.5 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.8 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.8 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.8 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.9 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.9 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1.1 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • El Raval: 1.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.2 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1.2 mi
  • Jardí Botànic de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.3 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 1.3 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 1.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.3 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 1.3 mi

Dining

Lorenzo Restaurant & Bar
Open daily serving breakfast, lunch (Monday to Friday) and dinner with a delightful and personalized service in a relaxed intimate setting offering also an outdoor terrace. Monday to Friday 11:00h to 24:00h (Fridays until 01:00h) Weekends and Bank Holidays " 11:00h to 13:00h and 17:00h to 01:00h Enjoy authentic Spanish Tapas with a beer or glass of wine for only 3.00
Coffee on the go
Enjoy a take-away coffee and croissant. Available from Lorenzo Bar 08:00h to 10:30h
Express Lunch
Enjoy a main meal, a beer, a glass of wine or a soft drink and a coffee for only 9.90. Available from Lorenzo Bar & Restaurant weekdays from 13:00h to 16:00h.
Dinner
Enjoy the best of Mediterranean and Spanish cuisine at the Lorenzo Bar & Restaurant from 19:30h to 22:30h.
Room Service
Also you can have Room Service from Monday to Sunday from 07:00 to 23:00h continuously

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Memyself I
London
Jan 9, 2014

Unforgetable (bad experience)

Booked to stay here for 8 days to experience Barcelona at New Years Eve. On arrival confirmed with receptionist 8 days. I went to my room. Door key would not turn on lights. Call reception, bellboy cam over and turned all lights immediately loud humming sound. He informed me that would go in 5 mins and all rooms were like that. Not convinced I did not unpack. I couldn't tolerate with this for 8 days being a light sleeper and noise sensitive. 20 mins still same noise, called reception again, took 15 miins for bell boy to come with new keys to another room. Asked guests at room opposite me if they had same noise they entered and said "No". I was given new room with no humming at all. Put on door knob do not disturb and went to bed. Awoken by a persistent knocking in the morning and someone trying to open my door. Went to door to find cleaner there, I showed her the sign and closed the door and went back to sleep. Woken by telephone ringing at 12.30 it was reception they said I was late in checking out and that I had to leave "immediately" I told her that she was confused and that I booked 8 nights and this was only my first night. She said "No, you are confused and you must leave now" I got dressed and took my booking confirmation down to reception and show it to the receptionist who was a different one from the day before. She agreed that she had made the mistake, I asked her how it could have happened when it was confirmed yesterday on checking in and that I would not pay 320 Euros to come to Barcelona for a day. A heartfelt apology did not ensue. During my stay I asked to speak to the manager many times and was given different days when he would come. BBC news had a lower volume than the rest of the (10 or so channels of which only one other is English) when I called they said it could not be resolved, until I left it was unresolved. There were no stretch mats, free weights or water in the gym. However, the sauna was good, but the steam room did not work. Good size room with chair and nice lounge, very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Place De Espana

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bookinghotel
Business
Fribourg CH
Sep 15, 2009

Modern and Noisy, Hairy...

Nice Hotel in principle but small wall and noisy. Room was often half cleaned, I made the test of leaving a paper behind the bathroom rubbish, 3 days to remove it. Hair were still present in the bathtube when I arrived... Nice staff, english speaking spanish guys (difficult to find...)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Omes
LA
Jan 1, 2013

Wi-Fi Issues

Wish there was wi-fi available in the room instead of just the lobby. Otherwise a pleasant stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bestmom1
Morrisville, pa
Dec 28, 2013

Mom and daughters get away

Great location to airport bus stations and metro. House keeping was great, front desk was fantastic. Helpful friendly and always nice. My main complaint is the dinning. Very disappointed in the resturant service and food. waitress/ hostess was rude, not helpful, and food was below average. We ate at the hotel for Christmas dinner! No decorations, no holiday music, no special menu, and the waitress was just awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris Bski
Warsaw, Poland
Sep 22, 2009

Dark, Loud, Hot -- But Good Location

THE BAD: Construction across the street, facing many of the rooms. Loud most of the day. Don't expect to change for several months. Rooms on first floor away from construction face a wall, making them super dark. Dark hallways (for the effect) hot as hell. Not sure why. The first tiny room we received had steaming hot water flushing the toilet. THE GOOD: Staff friendly and moved us to a better room after one night. Great location. 5 mins from metro. Good deal on rooms from Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From airport take the A1 bus (5 euros) to Plasa d'Espanya (less than 30 mins) and the hotel is only a couple blocks away. That's also the nearest metro stop, very convenient for getting to the center.

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hats
London
Jul 27, 2014

Perfect location lovely hotel

Had to wait ages to check in past check in time to find to single beds for a couple not ideal. Do not eat in the restaurant incredibly slow even though no one is eating in it! Waited 50 mins as they burnt out pizza to be given some disgusting cheese and stale bread, to wait another 30 mins to actually receive our dinner. Pre booked bikes but had to wait as one had a tire problem which should have been sorted out beforehand, kindly said we could have bikes for two days because of wait. Lovely hotel very modern and clean in a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arenas is great place to eat views all around

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bestmom1
Morrisville, pa
Feb 11, 2014

Christmas in Barcelona

The hotel was excellent. We were very dissatisfied with the restaurant. The waitress was rude and the food was sub par. Everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat in the hotel. It is not good food the the waitress was very rude. Not a language or cultural problem my daughter lived in Spain and is fluent in the language .

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn to Barcelona
Brooklyn, NY
May 10, 2009

Chique, sexy, and classy

First time in Spain or Europe... perfect way to introduce ourselves to a new culture. Very modern, hip, yet humble at the same time. Staff was always eager to help us out. We were constantly bombarding them with questions of how to get from point A to Z, and they took it all in stride and were very helpful, and even threw in recommendations of their own. Super conveniently located, in walking distance to the Metro and shops. Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Font Magica on Friday or Saturday night...an absolute must see when visiting Barcelona, and it short walking distance from the hotel. Believe it may only be seasonally active (we went in early May for the around 30 min magic light show).

Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy costumer
ireland
Oct 18, 2010

Fab location and gorgeous hotel

We got the hop on bus while we were there this way we didn miss a thing and could fit everything into two days if we really wanted to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie
Not Provided
Oct 13, 2009

Very new and trendy hotel. Just

Very new and trendy hotel. Just don't understand why their halls are so warm. They have 80plus rooms so it does not feel like a huge and impersonal hotel. Near the Plaza Espana which is 4 metro stations from Plaza Catalunya or the main tourist area. I was comfortable and happy with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search