$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 7, 2014 Check-out: Dec 8, 2014

Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

4 stars
Consell de Cent, 51-53, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
22 reviews
Christmas in Barcelona

The hotel was excellent. We were very dissatisfied with the restaurant. The waitress was rude and... See full review

  • Bestmom1
  • Feb 11, 2014
Let Down By Breakfast

Overall, this was a good-looking, funky hotel, centrally located. One of the best features was that... See full review

  • Vixie
  • Jul 11, 2013
Sleek rooms and spa rolled into one modern central hotel

Located in the central Montjuic area, the modern Vincci Arena is a six-floor hotel done up in an elegant, modernist style. A hop and a skip from the central Sants train station and Plaza Espanya, the hotel is ideally located for exploring Barcelona's attractions. The 84 contemporary rooms showcase a full spectrum of upscale trimmings. The on-site fitness center provides workout facilities. Massages (fees apply) are available at the small spa with a steam room and sauna. The hotel also features a terrace bar and a private car park (surcharge).  

Highlights
  • Contemporary rooms with all the trimmings
  • Central location a stroll away from Plaza Espanya and Sants train station
  • Fitness center and small spa on the premises
Rooms

The 84 soundproofed guest rooms at Vincci Arena showcase a swank contemporary look with bright colors and a stylish ambience. The hotel has 11 executive rooms, three of which have a private balcony and Jacuzzi offering fantastic views of the Montjuic hill. All guest rooms come equipped with safes, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, direct-dial telephone, Internet connection, satellite TV, mini bar and air-conditioning.

Features

Vincci Arena offers room service (light snacks only), baby-sitting facilities (subject to pre-booking), laundry, VIP room service, breakfast in bed, tourist information desk, fax and photocopying, entertainment ticket sales, plus car and bicycle hire. Fees apply for all of these services. Massages are available in the small spa, for a surcharge. The hotel also features a Japanese garden and a lobby bar that serves drinks and snacks. Two well-equipped meeting rooms are available for business visitors. The reception is open 24 hours and stocks daily newspapers. The location of Vincci Arena is excellent, a five-minute stroll to Sants train station and a ten-minute walk from Plaza Espanya. Las Ramblas is also within walking distance.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Closest metro stops: Tarragona (on the L3 line) and Hostafrancs (on the L1 line)

 

Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Port Olimpic (2.7 mi/4.4 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Room with one twin bed includes safe, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, direct dial telephone, internet cable connection free, wifi connection chargeable, LCD satellite TV, mini-bar, air-conditioning and a wide range of welcome amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Dona i Ocell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.2 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.4 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.5 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.2 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.3 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.4 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.5 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.6 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.8 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.8 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.8 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.9 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.9 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 0.9 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1.1 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • El Raval: 1.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.2 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.2 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1.2 mi
  • Jardí Botànic de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.3 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 1.3 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 1.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.3 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 1.3 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.3 mi

Dining

Lorenzo Restaurant & Bar
Open daily serving breakfast, lunch (Monday to Friday) and dinner with a delightful and personalized service in a relaxed intimate setting offering also an outdoor terrace. Monday to Friday 11:00h to 24:00h (Fridays until 01:00h) Weekends and Bank Holidays " 11:00h to 13:00h and 17:00h to 01:00h Enjoy authentic Spanish Tapas with a beer or glass of wine for only 3.00
Coffee on the go
Enjoy a take-away coffee and croissant. Available from Lorenzo Bar 08:00h to 10:30h
Express Lunch
Enjoy a main meal, a beer, a glass of wine or a soft drink and a coffee for only 9.90. Available from Lorenzo Bar & Restaurant weekdays from 13:00h to 16:00h.
Dinner
Enjoy the best of Mediterranean and Spanish cuisine at the Lorenzo Bar & Restaurant from 19:30h to 22:30h.
Room Service
Also you can have Room Service from Monday to Sunday from 07:00 to 23:00h continuously

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conference
Business
Liverpool, Merseyside, UK
Mar 24, 2012

Very good business trip

Modern and tasteful decor, in a good size room, with a lot of thought put into the little details that would make the experience that much more memorable (lighting, very comfortable mattress, safe box in the room). Good location, with easy access from the airport (bus or suburban train), in the vicinity of Miro park, and with museums within walking distance. Effective staff, fluent in English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the National Museum of Art

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 24, 2009

excellent hotel for tourism and business

The hotel is very stylish and modern. Spacious rooms. Very well cleaned daily. Near to the metro and there are stops for the tourist bus just outside the door. A good base for tourism. I would happily stay here again in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the metro rather than the tourist bus. The metro is quicker, cheaper, and gets you to all the places you need without getting stuck in the heat or traffic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Nov 20, 2009

excellent base for a barcelona adventure

I only have good memories of this hotel. The decor is modern and very plush and cool. The room was decorated to a very high standard, with a fantastic lighting system, a huge headboard which is quite a feature, high quality blackout curtains, and many little touches like the various wallpapers, high quality built in wardrobes, and an immaculate bathroom. All these things add up to make you smile every time you enter the room. The room was very sophisticated and modern, but had a lot of charm also, something which can not be said of some new hotels. I visited in September and I stayed for 8 nights... 5 nights on business and then for 3 nights of tourism. Every time i entered the lobby the receptionists would say hello and greet me with a smile. The room was immaculately cleaned daily and on time. I have noticed some comments about the hot corridors... this is true, when you step out of the elevator the corridors are hot... i think this is may be due to the way the room numbers are illuminated?? but once you enter your room you are engulfed by air con so it wasn't much of a problem. In fact it made me laugh every time i walked down the corridor thinking about the reviews that i'd read! The hotel is located a short walk to the espanya and hostafrancs metro stops. For tourism i would strongly recommend getting the metro rather than the tourist bus. The metro in barcelona is very efficient and we rarely had to wait more than 10 minutes for a metro, in fact most of the time it was 2 or 3 minutes. I have stayed in barcelona before, and paid a similar daily rate for a room, but in comparison this hotel was far superior and i have had a much better experience staying here. It is a four star hotel and the price reflects that, but it offers fantastic value for money. I would happily stay in this hotel again next time i am in barcelona. in fact... i wish vincci had hotels in more cities around the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to metro stop, then to las ramblas for open air restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bestmom1
Business
Morrisville, pa
Feb 11, 2014

Christmas in Barcelona

The hotel was excellent. We were very dissatisfied with the restaurant. The waitress was rude and the food was sub par. Everything else was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't eat in the hotel. It is not good food the the waitress was very rude. Not a language or cultural problem my daughter lived in Spain and is fluent in the language .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooklyn to Barcelona
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 10, 2009

Chique, sexy, and classy

First time in Spain or Europe... perfect way to introduce ourselves to a new culture. Very modern, hip, yet humble at the same time. Staff was always eager to help us out. We were constantly bombarding them with questions of how to get from point A to Z, and they took it all in stride and were very helpful, and even threw in recommendations of their own. Super conveniently located, in walking distance to the Metro and shops. Perfect for couples!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Font Magica on Friday or Saturday night...an absolute must see when visiting Barcelona, and it short walking distance from the hotel. Believe it may only be seasonally active (we went in early May for the around 30 min magic light show).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happy costumer
Business
ireland
Oct 18, 2010

Fab location and gorgeous hotel

We got the hop on bus while we were there this way we didn miss a thing and could fit everything into two days if we really wanted to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HaveFunWillTravel
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 22, 2011

Perfect Spot for Vacationers in Barcelona

My guest and I stayed at Vincci Arena during our vacation in Barcelona. The hotel staff worked to accommodate us and provide us with a room that suited our needs, and were also helpful with printing out a voucher for the Barcelona Card. The location is perfect for tourists since it's about 5 minutes casual walk to the main metro lines at the Espanya station as well as the dozens of bus lines that stop along the circle. It's 4 blocks away from the first stop from and the last stop to the airport on the Aerobus, so for 5.30 EUR per person for a 15 minute express trip, it works out really well. It's also 5 minutes away from the main mall in Espanya, so there's always somewhere to go if you have a craving for ice cream, sandwiches, or shopping. It was so convenient heading out for sightseeing during the day at places like Sagrada Familia, Las Ramblas, and the Olympic Park, and then stopping back for a break or nap at the hotel before heading out again. The location is also far enough from the busy activity of the main Espanya area to provide a quiet neighborhood and setting to relax and sleep in. One thing that the hotel could improve on would be to provide ice machines in the hallways since they only have mini-bars in the rooms that are designed to only keep the drinks provided by the hotel cool. The hallways are also quite warm due to the special lighting that they have; if they switched to cooler LED lighting, I'm sure they will resolve this minor inconvenience and perhaps save electricity usage in the process. However, their air conditioning was very good, and my guest and I were kept sufficiently cool as needed, so this was not an issue inside the room. Overall, I had a great experience staying at Vincci Arena, and I would definitely recommend this hotel for any tourists or business travelers looking for a convenient location that is comfortable and well situated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Barcelona Card if you are planning to travel around a lot by local transportation. It's a great investment and extremely convenient, especially if you travel to multiple locations per day. It works on both the metro lines and local bus lines, so it's essentially an unlimited pass to the city for the number of days that you purchase. Cards are activated on the first day of usage and not the date that they are listed with when you purchase them through Orbitz, so you can stack cards one after the other to cover trips longer than 5 days. Do be careful to keep the card undamaged and dry, as we did encounter issues if the card becomes moist while being carried in the pocket or if the magnetic strip is bent or damaged. Remember to tear out and bring the coupons from the Barcelona Card book that you receive when you redeem your voucher for the card - while the card gives discounts for shopping and restaurants, some places require the coupons in order to receive the discount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vixie
Business
UK
Jul 11, 2013

Let Down By Breakfast

Overall, this was a good-looking, funky hotel, centrally located. One of the best features was that there was a good quality WiFi connection, not just in the reception area but also in your room. Unfortunately, on our first morning after requesting to have the breakfast (we had not included breakfast in our booking), we were told the price in a curt manner by the receptionist who indicated by the expression on her face that we were cutting it fine for the end of service. This was at 10.25am, breakfast was served til 11am. We arrived in the restaurant, not more than 20 paces from reception and had barely 5 minutes to put any food on our plates before the staff started clearing away breakfast 30 minutes early. By 10.45, it was all put away. It was apparent that the receptionist had known clearing away would begin early but was still happy to take our money. Disappointing Customer Service, although I will say that this was limited only to that member of staff and the others were all very courteous and professional. A kettle in the room would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ken - jamon king
Business
Lancaster PA
Oct 26, 2009

Clean, modern hotel - liked it a lot.

Hotel was clean and modern and we enjoyed the stay. The helpfulness of the staff was mixed but I will chalk some of that up to my limited spanish skills. Hotel was located close to the Metro, which was nice, but it was not close to many areas of interest. We were on the Metro several times a day. It runs very reliably and is easy to navigate compared to NYC. We did see one botched pick pocketing attempt that was a little unsettling for a small town guy. It was very easy to get to the Barcelona Sants station for our day trips to Girona and Sitges. The train to Monserrat left nearby as well. Breakfast was way overpriced for what was offered. There are a few small places nearby for coffee, etc. We would go back again to the hotel in a heartbeat...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Learn the Metro and you will spend $1 per person instead of $15 each way for a cab to Las Ramblas and the other main popular areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Arena Barcelona Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Statue
Business
Bitburg, Germany
Mar 14, 2011

"Really nice and great location"

Was very clean and location was near a lot of sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top