$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Nou De La Rambla 36, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
20 reviews
Great location, modern hotel

Great location, just off Las Ramblas and near Barcelonetta. Very friendly helpful desk staff, gave... See full review

  • Kat
  • Jun 11, 2015
Les Ramblas

This hotel is located close to the port and attractions. Our only disappointment was that the room... See full review

  • chattyK
  • Nov 20, 2014
Onix Liceo is set just 200 meters from Barcelona's famous Ramblas, next to Gaudi's Palau Guell. This stylish hotel offers a sun terrace, and free WI-FI and ADSL internet access. This design hotel has comfortable public spaces with modern art. There is a business center and lounge. Free water, tea and coffee and fruit are available 24 hours a day. Rooms are spacious and elegant, with climate control. They all have a minibar and LCD satellite TV. The hotel offers a varied buffet breakfast every morning. Children from 0-5 years have FREE breakfast. Hotel Registration Number: HB-4333

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona Rooms

DOUBLE /TWIN
DOUBLE /TWIN Rooms are spacious and elegant, with climate control. They all have a minibar and LCD satellite TV.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.1 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.2 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.2 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.2 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.1 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.2 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.2 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.2 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.3 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.4 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.5 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.5 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.5 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.5 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.5 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sandy65
Business
Tennessee
Sep 11, 2013

Vacation

The air conditioning I'd not work very well in the rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EugeneM
Business
Canada
Nov 17, 2012

Good location,but other things not so great.

Good location,but other things are not so great. I can't tell it is 4 star hotel, 3 max. Ibis with 3 stars more comfortable. Sound insulation isnt good, and street outside can be noisy, so bring earplugs. Beds are quite bad. Wireless signal is weak. No restaurant, only breakfasts available Nice patio, friendly and helpful staff, tea/coffee/water available anytime for free. Subway stations, sea, La Rambla close by. I'd recommend this hotel but only for short term stay and to somebody who doesn't care much about the comfort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent service, tasty lasagna, tiramisu at Rossini restaurant at place Rial. They even brought us some lemoncello after the meal for free :)

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jax Pam
Business
Jax Fl
Jun 16, 2013

Great Location

Front desk awesome, very helpful...Learn Spanish as it will come in very handy LOL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Myungwon K.
Business
Coquitlam
Mar 24, 2015

OK room

The hotel is location was really good but the room was too small. It would be nice for booking for short period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armelle
Business
Nice, France
Nov 6, 2011

Good value for the price!

The hotel is situated just off the Ramblas in rather a drab street. However with the warm welcome from reception we were pleasantly surprised. They have introduce some character with Morrocan style arches. There is a pleasant back courtyard with a small pool too. The room was perfectly adequate for the price paid with a good sized bathroom. We were on the 4th floor overlooking the street with a small balcony. Slightly noisy at night but not enough to stop us sleeping. No tea making machine in the room but use of a coffee/tea machine, fruit and internet in the lounge. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found a very good restuarant with reasonable prices besides St. Augustin Church.

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John6000
Business
São Paulo, Brasil
Dec 19, 2011

Onix Liceo

Helpful pleasant staff. Excellent location. Easy internet access. Clean. I only missed a table and chair in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I bought the Barcelona card at the airport but the discounts on museums are negligible. It hardly seemed worthwhile unlesss you use public transport an awful lot and get a lot of the 10% museum discounts.

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
viajerasola
Business
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Barca for One

This hotel is great. I have stayed twice previously at the other Onix (Rambla) and this was my first time at the Liceo. Loved the 24-hour H20 station, free water, tea, coffee, and fruit. The rooms are nice--but one downside, no safe box in the room. The hotel is more contemporary, into digital art, but not a bad vibe in the place. Another downside is the location; while it is excellent because it is literally 2 minutes or less from Las Ramblas, it is located on a shady little street--fine during the day, but a bit creepy at night if you're a woman alone. Just be alert, but no one really bothers you. Two computers for free access to the internet and free printing. I thought most of the staff was very helpful-not overly friendly, but no one in Barcelona is really like that. They answered all my questions and assisted me with anything I needed. Really good showers! Metro stop 5 minutes away walking. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Several major stores--H&M, Nike Store, El Corte Ingles--all located at the top or along Las Ramblas. Perfect place to be if you like to shop for nice things or just want some basic tourist souvenirs!

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJB1234
Business
London
Jan 18, 2012

Great hotel and location

Very good hotel, great location for bars / restaurants and metro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Queen Vic is a great bar next door

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ElizabethEE
Business
Wiesbaden, Germany
Mar 20, 2012

Accommodating Staff in a Great Location

My husband and I had a romantic holiday to Barcelona and stayed at the Onix Lieco. We were particular on our hotel selection as we were tired at the dreary, expensive, and sub par hotels Europe usually provides. The Onix surpassed our expectations and is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in Europe (a close second to a larger business chain). The staff had amazing recommendations for any meal we thought of (Tapas, seafood, lunch, etc) and were conscientious of price as well as value. A nice perk is the complimentary coffee/tea/fruit/and bottled water they have available. The only complaints were that the air conditioning didn't work correctly but we were unsure if it was because we were there in March and the system may have not been turned on yet. Also, the bed (which was a true American King) was too firm for my husbands taste. Overall a wonderful place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Crema Cocina is located in the Plaça Reial and serves a wonderful and somewhat inexpensive cuisine.

Review of Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amir123
Business
Israel
Mar 28, 2012

Great location at a reasonable price

Located on same street as Palau Guell and the Opera House, rooms are a bit small but clean with good smell and decor. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a vacation in Barcelona where you can simply walk to any of the main attraction and shopping areas Breakfast served at the hotel is very nice and not too expansive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Quimet & Quimet bar on Poeta Cabanas 25 St. Amazing atmosphere excellent tapas food

Back to menu Return to top