$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Ohla Hotel Barcelona

5 stars
Via Laietana, 49, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
9 reviews
Great hotel

This hotel was great. Quiet and clean rooms. Location was great, with lots to do in the area. The... See full review

  • NWNW
  • Jul 20, 2014
Ohla Hotel - Fantastic!

This hotel is in the center of all the action, yet is amazingly quiet. Spent two nights there and... See full review

  • LAF1960
  • Jul 14, 2014
The Ohla Hotel is built on the site of a former Roman water canal and the palace of the first Count of Barcelona, Guifre el Pilos. The current building dates back 20 years and was initially the site of Barcelona's first department store (Casa Vilardell). The building was renovated under the direction of Alonso, Balaguer y Arquitectos Asociados with artistic assistance by Frederic Amat. During the renovation, the historical building facade and other historical elements of the initial building have been preserved in their entirety, whilst the interior design of the building is avant-garde in its approach, combining different white and black textures with oak wood. The end result is a 74-room boutique hotel with conference facilities, a wellness center, sundeck and a variety of dining options in a luxurious setting with all of the details and personalized service one would expect from an establishment whose goal is nothing short of excellence.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ohla Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Ohla Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Design Deluxe
These are larger rooms - 27 to 31 m2 - with views of the emblematic Calle Comtal and a modern, innovative interior design where the bathroom and guest room are combined into a single unit, differentiated only by the contrasting colours and textures, with a panoramic shower creating a raining effect.
Junior Suite
Suites measuring between 38 and 42 m2 with a lounge inside the guest room. The large windows offer spectacular panoramic views of Via Laietana or Calle Comtal. Bathrooms fitted with designer bathtubs.
Standard
Maximum comfort, tranquillity and elegance. 25 m2 guest rooms with views of the hotel's interior garden of indigenous plants. Rooms for people with reduced mobility available. Twin beds upon request.
Design
Daring and innovative spaces reflecting the latest trends in interior design and decor. An avant-garde concept where the bathroom and guest room are combined into a single unit, differentiated only by the contrasting colours and textures. Presiding over the room is a spectacular panoramic shower with a raining effect. Views of Via Laietana or the corner of calle Comtal. Rooms are approximately 25 m2.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.2 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.4 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.4 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Laietana Room (can accommodate 40 people in auditorium format) and the Comtal Room (can accommodate 16 people around a conference table). Other areas of the hotel can be reserved for private meetings and events.

Dining

Sac Restaurant
Exquisite Cataln cuisine. Lunch 1:30 to 3:30 p.m. and dinner 8:30 to 10:30 p.m. Open all year
Ohla Gastronomic Bar
Serving breakfast, tapas, light fare and more Open daily from 7:00 a.m. to 2:00 a.m.
Ohla Boutique Bar
Coffee, wine, mixed drinks, cocktails Daily from 12 noon to 2:00 a.m.
Ohla Terrassa Chill Out
Swimming pool, sundeck, night&day bar. Ideal for beverages, snacks and cocktails. Open in the summer from 11:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.7 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NWNW
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jul 20, 2014

Great hotel

This hotel was great. Quiet and clean rooms. Location was great, with lots to do in the area. The roof top pool was great too. The glass of Cava at check in was a nice touch too. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, but if I were to return I would be inclined to stay close to the beach. The boutique bar is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LAF1960
Business
Los Altos, California
Jul 14, 2014

Ohla Hotel - Fantastic!

This hotel is in the center of all the action, yet is amazingly quiet. Spent two nights there and were not disturbed by street traffic or pedestrian noise even though we were only on the 2nd floor. Very contemporary rooms with nice comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is excellent and was included in our room package. Also, don't miss out on watching the sunset with a drink on the rooftop bar. A highlight on the final night of our trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
c102250
Business
Hong Kong
Apr 23, 2014

Ohlalala,!!!!!!!

Ohlalala what a beautiful hotel, I missed to stay more? Perfect place (the gothic place) the perfect staff, all renewed building. I'm gonna miss you guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JLAL
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2013

Barcelona

Hotel Ohla was a very enjoyable experience. The hotel was conveniently located. The rooftop lounge was a grat place to end the day. Breakfast was a wonderful variety of choices. We would definitely visit Ohla again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thankful Susie
Business
Bend, Oregon
May 16, 2013

A great way to start a European Vacation

it was amazingly wonderful in all regards! We would go back there again no doubt! Loved the staff from the time we walked in the door to when we checked in and were served a glass of fine champagne. The rooms were beautiful, the food was finely prepared and delicious and again the staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The staff made excellent suggestions for us from attractions to dining, trust them to take care of what you need and want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ramrap
Business
toronto, ontario
Jun 19, 2012

Amazing Hotel

One of the best places I ever stayed. Rooms were great, rooftop terrace amazing, great location. Nicest staff as well. Arun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coffeeaddictny
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Feb 20, 2012

A Four Star trying to be Five

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Ohla in Feb 2012. There are several reasons why I think this should not be rated a 5 star hotel though. 1. We had booked a Junior Suite and was given a room on the third floor. While we are from NYC and used to street noise, the low floor and poor insulation made for a tremendous amount of noise at night. Additionally, you can hear and feel the Metro underneath. Asked to switch rooms after the first night and was accommodated to a new room on the 4th floor the next day. The new room was minimally better in terms of noise, but a lot larger. I don't think there should be this much discrepancy in the size of the room when they are both suppose to be junior suites. I would not consider any of the x06 rooms suites. 2. Concierge - While they were all nice and helpful, they lacked some basic knowledge. I had asked to book some day trips to outer Barcelona and was told only the Montserrat trip was running and was told to go to the central tourist information in placa de catalunya. I thought the point of a concierge at a five star hotel was to take care of this for me. Not being satisfied, I did a brief (5 minute) google search and found a travel site with an office 3 blocks from the hotel that offered day trips to not only Montserrat, but Sitges, Costa Brava, Pyrennes, etc. The concierge should be able to find these things out for me and not blatantly tell me no day tours exists. The good: 1. While there were problems with noise, the location in the heart of Central Barcelona, within walking distance of Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas is hard to beat. Other Comments: 1. Tried Sauc, the 1 Michelin star restaurant in the hotel. The ambience is lacking with low ceilings (secondary to it's Mezzanine location). Food is average. 2. Breakfast was average to a little above average. Can't really go wrong with breakfast. Conclusion: While the location in the heart of the city was good and allowed for easy access to most sites, I would likely stay elsewhere on a return trip to Barcelona. Hotels such as the Mandarin Oriental and Hotel Arts de Barcelona are only minimally more expensive. The Mandarin Oriental has an equally good location. If Ohla hotel fixed the noise issue and knowledgebase of their concierge staff, I would consider them an above average 4 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fortemd
Business
Goldsboro, NC
May 31, 2011

Relaxing, Contemporary, Hospitable

Very good location on Laeitana, just the right distance from the Ramblas. Within walking distance of most of old Barcelona and a quick subway ride to almost any site. Ah, yes, the subway: be prepared to the subway vibrations which we were only aware of at night when the traffic died down. If you're a light sleeper or demand complete silence while you sleep, you should bring some earplugs (as my wife did), or maybe just book a nice vacation in the country... The hotel staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. We rendezvous-ed with our two adult children (20 & 22), so we booked two rooms. We received a surprise visit from our nephew who was studying in southern France and the hotel staff were able to accommodate both him and his car (for a very reasonable price) with no previous notice (cot in my kids room). I view this as beyond the call of duty. The staff were also very helpful and patient with my Spanish. I realize that they all spoke good English, but they patiently worked through all of my requests and transactions in Spanish (which I interpreted as very mature and accommodating). The rooms were well though-out and comfortable. Great mattresses, pillows and linens. We didn't try the in hotel one star Michelin rated restaurant, but we ate twice in the tapas bar/restaurant adjacent to the lobby. Without a doubt, these were the best tapas we had during the four days we were in Barcelona. Very reasonable prices (38-50 euros/person, wine, beer, and plenty of food). Last, but not least was the roof pool/sun deck. Very good views. Excellent beverage/food service. Good music/good fun. Very relaxing! Nice place to escape the street hustle and bustle. Would do this trip again, and again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Immediately behind the hotel there is a Starbucks (where iced lattes in hot weather are understood). The street Starbucks is on is Santa Anna. It is a very narrow, quaint street lined with nice shops that leads directly (5-7 minutes) to the Ramblas. Pastry shops abound (think breakfast).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ohla Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
May 23, 2011

Ohla hotel

hotel was in good location, but rooms were too small and too plain. the hotel needs some color if it strives to be so trendy. they should learn from the W hotels who have mastered that brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top