NH La Maquinista Barcelona

3 stars
Sao Paulo, 33-37, Barcelona, 08030
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
10 reviews
very nice hotel

We arrived at the hotel at about 9pm and the man at the reception welcomed us very friendly in... See full review

  • glycerine02
  • Sep 16, 2013
Great hotel

Great location in terms of cost. Helpful staff. Breakfast slightly expensive but excellent quality.... See full review

  • ExtTrav
  • Oct 9, 2013
The NH La Maquinista is located in the northeastern part of Barcelona, Spain. This vibrant, international city is one of the most popular destinations in Europe and enjoys its situation at the forefront of fashion, entertainment, food and nightlife. As one of Spain's major coastal cities, Barcelona also has a rich history and culture, with stunning architecture awaiting you around every corner. NH La Maquinista is adjacent to the La Maquinista shopping and leisure center, which puts an enormous variety of fine dining establishments and entertainment venues just meters from your hotel room. Shoppers can explore major stores such as Apple, Leroy Merlin and Fnac, just to name a few, and international fashion boutiques are plentiful. NH La Maquinista, opened in 2004, consists of 92 rooms spread throughout four floors. Every room is stylishly furnished and boasts lovely hardwood floors and plenty of natural light. The La Maquinista restaurant and bar serve breakfast, lunch and dinner in a unique Mediterranean style, which combines perfectly with the Spanish surroundings and allows guests to sample true Mediterranean food and drink without leaving the hotel complex. FREE WIFI in Lobby & Rooms. Parking at cost: 15,40 euros per day (VAT included).

NH La Maquinista Barcelona Rooms

Standard Room
Warm, natural colors give our comfortable Standard Rooms a cozy and welcoming atmosphere. Hardwood floors add an elegant touch, and the natural light entering through street-facing windows give the rooms a bright and joyful demeanor. Every room comes fully-equipped with air-conditioning, satellite television, a full toiletries kit, a personal safe and wireless Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

41.4401 2.1972
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Barcelona (El Prat) - 20km
Area description
NH La Maquinista is located in the northeastern part of Barcelona, being adjacent to the La Maquinista shopping and leisure center.

Nearby points of interest

  • Camp Municipal Narcís Sala: 0.8 mi
  • Can Dragó Sports Park: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d’Història de la Immigració de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Nou Barris Central Park: 1.2 mi
  • La Sagrera Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 2 mi
  • Guinardó Park: 2.1 mi
  • Can Masdeu: 2.1 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 2.2 mi
  • Parc del Forum: 2.2 mi
  • Geology Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Barcelona International Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Blue Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Turo de la Rovira: 2.3 mi
  • Camp Municipal Narcís Sala: 0.8 mi
  • Can Dragó Sports Park: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d’Història de la Immigració de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Institute for Advanced Architecture of Catalonia: 1.1 mi
  • Nou Barris Central Park: 1.2 mi
  • La Sagrera Rail Station: 1.9 mi
  • Diagonal Mar Shopping centre: 2 mi
  • Guinardó Park: 2.1 mi
  • Can Masdeu: 2.1 mi
  • Poblenou Park: 2.2 mi
  • Parc del Forum: 2.2 mi
  • Geology Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Barcelona International Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • The Blue Museum: 2.3 mi
  • Turo de la Rovira: 2.3 mi
  • Museo de la Erotica: 2.3 mi
  • Hospital de Sant Pau: 2.3 mi
  • Diagonal Mar i el Front Marítim del Poblenou: 2.3 mi
  • Forum: 2.3 mi
  • Torre Agbar: 2.6 mi
  • Parc del Laberint d'Horta: 2.7 mi
  • Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família: 2.8 mi
  • Teatre Nacional de Catalunya: 2.9 mi
  • El Poblenou: 2.9 mi
  • La Monumental, The Bullring: 2.9 mi
  • Barri de Gracia: 2.9 mi
  • Parc de la Creueta del Coll: 2.9 mi
  • Museu Gaudí: 2.9 mi
  • Park Güell: 2.9 mi
  • Guell Park: 2.9 mi
  • Auditori: 3 mi
  • Platja de Mar Bella: 3 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 3.1 mi
  • Platja de Bogatell: 3.3 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 3.4 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 3.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 3.5 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 3.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 3.5 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 3.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 3.5 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 3.5 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 3.5 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 3.5 mi
  • Olympic Port: 3.6 mi

Dining

La Maquinista
With an elegant atmosphere, pleasant decor and comfortable furnishings, the La Maquinista restaurant can accommodate up to 50 guests at a time for any meal of the day. Mediterranean delights are prepared on-site and good natural light is accompanied by pleasant and relaxing music to create the ideal setting in which to enjoy a meal. You can also reserve a cozy and intimate smaller dining room that allows for a private meal with friends and family or a professional setting for business lunches.
Bar
BREAKFAST BUFFET: Open from 7 am till 10:30 am Monday to Friday and from 8 am till 11:30 am Saturday, Sunday and holiday. The price is 11,82 + VAT

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel provides a well-equipped conference room that can comfortably hold up to 80 people. Plenty of natural light makes business meetings a pleasant experience.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 1, 2008

reasonable cost

I liked the hotel and enjoyed the close Mechanista shopping and eating center. However, the taxi drivers did not seem to know where the hotel was located. The information office in the Mechanista center taught me how to find the Metro which I used. But the hotel was not really close to the Ramblas district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
glycerine02
Wien
Sep 16, 2013

very nice hotel

We arrived at the hotel at about 9pm and the man at the reception welcomed us very friendly in perfect English. When he realized that we are from Austria, he even started to speak german with us! In Spain, we had experienced quite a lot of difficulties when we tried to communicate in English, therefore we very pleased by the fact that he spoke perfectly English and very good German. However, the hotel is very nice. Our room was quite big and the bathroom as well. The room was equipped with a closet, a double bed, a suitcase rack and a desk. There was also a safe located in the closet but we didn't have a minibar in the room. Everything was very clean. Our window was located to the street, therefore it was quite loud in night. We didn't have breakfast, so I can't give a rating in this regard. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist asked us, if we wanted to add breakfast and he offered as a "special price". I could believe that this special price is offered to everybody who has booked the hotel without breakfast (the prices would have been 9€ p.p. for breakfast on the first day and 7€ p.p. for the following days). The hotel is suited next to a huge shopping centre (La Maquinista). We enjoyed that very much as there is a big supermarket (Carrefour) which is opened from 10a.m. to 10.p.m everyday and there are lots of restaurants on the attic floor of the shopping centre. The location is not the best, but still I would recommend this hotel to anybody who visits Barcelona for a few days. You have to walk about 10 minutes to the metro station and you have to change the metro at least one time to get to the centre. There is also a RENFE station just 15 minutes away from the hotel which takes you directly to the airport (Barcelona El Prat). Please note that the train takes you to Terminal 2. If your flight starts in Terminal 1, you have to walk through Terminal 2 and take a bus which takes you to Terminal 1. The terminals are quite far away from each other (the bus even drives on the the freeway for a few minutes). The shuttle bus which circulates between T1 and T2 is free. Altogether, we very very pleased to stay in this accomodation and we would definitely book this hotel again if we went to Barcelona again. The cost/performance ratio is very, very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try a restaurant of the La Maquinista shopping centre!

Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ExtTrav
Kuwait
Oct 9, 2013

Great hotel

Great location in terms of cost. Helpful staff. Breakfast slightly expensive but excellent quality. Loved the toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JPD80
Groningen, The Netherlands
Jul 31, 2012

Good value

Typical bussines hotel, but good value for your money. Friendly personnel, clean rooms and pretty good, though sober breakfast. The hotel is however pretty far from the metro (about a 10-15 minutes walk), so that is a thing to consider, next to the fact that it takes the metro about 15 minutes to get to the centre (Placa Catalunya).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paulobgraca
Porto, Portugal
Aug 26, 2012

Excelent clean Hotel

It was a great experience staying in this hotel for 3 nights. The room was big and very clean. It had shampoo, soap, toothbrush, tooth paste and everything that we need for our higiene. Near to La Maquinista shopping, a huge shopping where you can get everything that you may need. It is located 15 minutes from the metro station which takes you directly to the city centre. I recomend for everyone this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

La Maquinista

Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
exhausted traveller
Southport, England
Jul 26, 2012

Could have been a lot better!

The hotel was aimed at business user. No character or atmosphere at all. At reception told parking would be 13.87 eur a night, which seemed pricey. We were then encouraged to pay for breakfast at only 8.80 euros each, if we agreed then and there. We declined, hating this kind of pressure selling. Rooms functional and clean. Hotel advertised ice machine, but doesn't have one. Also that coffee would be available in reception between 5-7am if taking early flight but, when we tried to get this at 5.45am, we were told not available until after 7am. The best things about the hotel were the shopping mall close by and the Wok 2 U buffet round the corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk past entrance to hotel's underground carpark, past car showrooms, up to the lights. Turn right and walk a short way. On the left there is a buffet style restaurant. Wok 2 You, or something like that. Excellent food, lots of choice and very good value!

Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baggio
delft
Sep 5, 2012

parking

personeel geeft niet aan dat parking naast het hotel om 23uur dicht gaat, en pas om 10uur open gaat, eerste dag konden wij pas na 10uur weg, jammer,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Armen
Moscow, Russia
Sep 11, 2012

Отличный отель

Планируя 10-дневный отдых в Барселоне, ожидал худшего от отеля. На самом деле отель оказался вполне на уровне. Доброжелательный, отзывчивый персонал, удобное расположение между тремя станциями метро, рядом торговый центр, в номерах чисто, сейф и бесплатный интернет. Из недостатков - горничная, которая могла постучаться в 9 утра, если не повесить бирку "не беспокоить" и отсутствие холодильника, которое в жаркой Барселоне особенно чувствуется (за что и ставлю 4 за комфорт). В остальном - смело рекомендовал бы всем этот отель.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Прямо рядом с отелем большой торговый центр, в котором есть всё!

Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbara VL
Portugal
Jul 11, 2012

Médio

Hotel médio, mas barato. Sujo nas casas de banho. Bom staff. Estacionamento privado caríssimo, mas com «boas zonas de estacionamento circundantes. Pequeno-almoço caro para a qualidade. O pior de tudo é dizerem que têm wi-fi grátis, o que é mentira. Para se ter acesso à internet tem de se ir ao lobby do hotel, onde poucos são os lugares para se sentar e onde não existem tomadas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of NH La Maquinista Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gluka
Bologna
Aug 31, 2012

Bell'hotel ma molto scomodo per il centro

Hotel nuovo con camere belle e pulite di fianco al centro commerciale omonimo molto utile per colazioni, pranzi, cene e acquisti ma molto scomodo per raggiungere il centro e le varie attrazioni: 1 bus + 1 metro, circa mezzora a tratta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top