$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

NH Calderon

4 stars
Rambla de Catalunya, 26, Barcelona, 08007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
25 reviews
Great location

Room was very comfortable and the location was great See full review

  • Barca5
  • Mar 16, 2013
Great Location

Excellent location. Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms and delicious breakfasts. Pillows in the rooms are... See full review

  • Sweet Pete OAP
  • May 27, 2014
With an excellent location on the charming Rambla de Catalunya, NH Caldern hotel is surrounded by the most exciting attractions of the city. It is just 100 meters away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and less than 5 minutes away from Gaudi's Casa Batllo. Paseo de Gracia, an area with the finest fashion shops of the city, is also close to the hotel. Restaurants and terraces where you can taste the best tapas, shops, culture and business come together in this unique area. The hotel has a cocktail bar and restaurant where you can taste Mediterranean cuisine prepared with fresh market products and enjoy stunning views of the Rambla de Catalunya. In the morning, the best way to start the day is the spectacular NH Antiox breakfast, which goes a step beyond healthy breakfasts, and is made from a long list of foods rich in antioxidants. Fantastic views of the city are available from the rooftop swimming pool and terrace. Moreover, the hotel offers a fitness center with sauna and a business center. Leave the worries of your day behind in our 255 comfortable and recently renovated guest rooms. If business or a special event brings you to Barcelona, we have eight meeting spaces with a maximum capacity of 200 people, suitable for all types of events. FREE WIFI in Lobby & Rooms. Parking at cost: 29,15 euros per day (VAT included).

Hotel Map

41.3895 2.1661
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Barcelona (El Prat) - 15km
Area description
With an excellent location on the charming Rambla de Catalunya, NH Calderon hotel is surrounded by the most exciting attractions of the city. It is just 100 meters away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and less than 5 minutes away from Gaudi's Casa Batllo. Paseo de Gracia, an area with the finest fashion shops of the city, is also close to the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed NH Calderon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

NH Calderon Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious and serene, our Standard Rooms are anything but standard! Warm colors, beautiful wood floors, and modern furnishings set the stage for a comfortable, enjoyable stay. Rooms feature a bathroom with hair dryer, AC, minibar, safe, and Wi-Fi Internet access.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.4 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.4 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.5 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.5 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.5 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.5 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.6 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.6 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.6 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.6 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.6 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.7 mi

Dining

El Calderon
Dine on Mediterranean cuisine created using the freshest quality produce at El Calderon restaurant, complemented by the finest wines from our cellar. A daily lunch menu lets you choose between three starters, three main dishes, and three desserts. Our dessert menu is constantly evolving, allowing you to try something new with every visit.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Bring your special event or meeting to Barcelona! Our hotel offers eight meeting rooms which can accommodate anywhere from 5 to 180 guests. The unique configurations and superior amenities make them ideal for conferences, meetings, conventions, show rooms and banquets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for NH Calderon

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KB Bourie
France
Sep 22, 2012

NH Calderon Barcelona

This is a very nice hotel and the location is absolutely perfect. Although it is right in the busy part of Barcelona, the rooms are quiet. Breakfast is a bit pricey, but one can just walk out of the hotel and there are loads of cafes and restaurants right at the door step. We would definitely go back there [ hopefully soon!]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

A traveller must go at the week end to see the "magic fountain" show which is free. The easiest way is to go by metro to Plaça d'Espanya. The show is all year round after sunset [ Friday and Saturdays only in winter]

Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RosyRosie
New York State
Mar 17, 2014

Overpromised on everything but location

Their "24 hour wifi" was actually only 24 hours of wifi, then 10 euro for every additional 24 hours. Their up to date gym was two old bikes, a stairstepper, and a bowflex type machine, all horribly in disrepair. My minifridge was not cold enough to keep milk from spoiling overnight. My "king bed" was two twins pushed together. Location is perfect, onsite dollar to euro change desk was highly conventient. Staff spoke passable English which was much appreciated. Not worth what I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rene's dining a few blocks away was fantastic, reccomend a reservation. Everything is within walking distance from this hotel, from the Palau to Park Guell (if you don't mind a little uphill hike) to the Sagrada Familia.

Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ET Calgary
Calgary Canada
Jan 10, 2014

NH Calderon - handy

Close to downtown, metro, restaurants. Taxi station at the end of the block which is very handy when we needed one. The sink and bathtub drains very slowly which makes it yucky when taking a shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware of pick pockets -we witness one in the metro. They work in teams.

Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jun 17, 2010

Very nice place to stay

Super location, very quiet rooms, helpful staff, spotless rooms. Sorry, did not try in hotel food service since so many close-by places to eat. Hotel is very "green" so bring your own bath soap and hair conditioner...and a face cloth if you like/need one. Would stay here again with no hesitation, don't think you can beat the location and overall great hotel experience. Only queen size bed or two twins seemed to be available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy Jacks
NY, NY
Mar 30, 2013

Comfortable room, great location

Helpful staff, great roof with pool and view. Early check in is free, and staff let us stay an hour and a half past check out for free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dpster
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 18, 2011

Terrific place at a reasonable price

We were very pleased with our short stay at this simple business class hotel before our Barcelona cruise. The hotel is on a relatively quiet street, just a block or two from anything and everything you would ever want in the heart of Barcelona. The price we got through Orbitz was a steal for a place of this quality in such a great area. Everything about the hotel itself was very pleasant. Check-in went very smoothly and our room was ready even though we arrived before check-in time. The room was ample-sized (bigger than we expected for a large European city) and very modern and stylish, with unusual wood floors and excellent beds. The bathroom was very up-to-date. The only issue I had was figuring out how to operate the lights, but once the staff explained it, things were fine. The desk staff was both helpful and friendly, patiently answering several questions and offering help like providing adaptors so I could charge my Blackberry. All in all, this is a very nice place to stay if you want to be in a central location in a modern hotel charging a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GinaOOB
Dublin
Nov 12, 2013

Husbands 50th Birthday present

Our stay in Barcelona was lovely, hotel was lovely however before we left the airline we booked our flights with cancelled our flight. Flights at the same time with another airline were more expensive & when we asked if we could get a refund on the hotel or postpone our trip we were told under no circumstance would we get a refund. This left us with having to pay a higher price on the flights just so we couldn't lose all our money. This I'm afraid to say soured our trip as it was expensive enough to start with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole the Travel Critic
New York, NY, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Location Location & Location!

Our experience was terrific! The location couldn't have been better, the hotel staff was courteous and English speaking ( a plus). The only thing that I wish could have been better was the air conditioning system in our suite. One room in the suite was overwhelming cold & the other felt like the Sahari desert. Overall, I would defintely stay their again, but I did feel obligated to be truthful about the a/c.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Flamenco Show recommended by the hotel was awesome!

Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sher A
Israel
Apr 11, 2013

Great vacation

Comfort beds, good location, kind service. Except for the room being a little stuffy (double windows), we were very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azlena
Chicago
Nov 7, 2013

Good Location

NH is located in the perfect place. The stay was great, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and the employees was great and spoke good English. I only had two things minor things I didn't like one, The hotel didn't have adapters for American plugs and two, Ice, the hotel didn't have a ice bucket. Me and my boyfriend drink most of the time in our room and had to go out to get ice to keep our drinks cold. There two minor things but I didn't like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of NH Calderon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Paul, MN
Jul 20, 2011

Great location, clean rooms

All staff were friendly. Right in main tourist area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Aerobus is in Catalunya (2 blocks away). Leaves every 5 min to/from airport with only 1 other stop. It is about 20-30 minute ride to airport. Only 5,30Euro each. Pay at busstop. If you can hoof it 2 blocks this beats a taxi at 35-40 Euros.

Back to menu Return to top