$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Duc de Medinaceli, 8, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
10 reviews
A good deal

The personnel is courteus and pleasing. The rooms are pleasent and clean. The situacion is... See full review

  • Happy host
  • May 17, 2013
Lovely place

The location was excellent as it was a five minute walk to la rambla and central for beach, buses,... See full review

  • Garlic
  • Aug 5, 2014
The hotel is located in the old Palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli. Placed in the Gothic Quarter of the city, close to the Rambles, Place Catalunya and Maritime Walk. 44 rooms with air conditioning, heating, T.V. satellite, ADSL WIFI zone, box of individual safety. Lounge buffet of breakfasts and social lounge.

Hotel Map

41.3782 2.1786
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International airport.
Area description
The hotel is located in the old Palace of the Dukes of Medinaceli. Placed in the Gothic Quarter of the city, close to the Rambles, Place Catalunya and Maritime Walk.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Standard
Room with 2 single beds /1 double bed having facilities like Air conditioning ,Alarm clock,Balcony / Terrace,Bathroom amenities,Color TV,Disabled facilities,Hairdryer,Heating,Laundry service,Mini bar,Non-smoking rooms,Room service,Safe in room ,Telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.1 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.1 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.2 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.3 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.1 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.1 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.2 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.3 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.3 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.3 mi
  • IMAX Port Vell: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.4 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • La Ribera: 0.4 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.5 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.5 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.5 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.5 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garlic
Business
Portsmouth, Uk
Aug 5, 2014

Lovely place

The location was excellent as it was a five minute walk to la rambla and central for beach, buses, underground etc. Good night's sleep as quiet because down a side street and staff were helpful, booking us a taxi to airport at the end of the week. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. Coffee can be bought from the vending machine in the foyer and room was spotless every day upon our return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eating and drinking in side streets and at places like the placa reial was much cheaper than on la rambla.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Che Vampyro
Business
Texas
Oct 5, 2013

On the Ramblas!

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The staff was very helpful, polite, and professional. The best feature of the hotel was its proximity to the Ramblas (about 3 min. walk) and the beach. The airport is about a 20 min taxi drive. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good and safe deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy host
Business
Mexico
May 17, 2013

A good deal

The personnel is courteus and pleasing. The rooms are pleasent and clean. The situacion is privileged with a walking distance from the main and most popular atractions and public transport services. All that and the reasonable rates make it a GOOD DEAL for the visitor. I will like to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Beware of specials or you will end up paying more for one drink than for the meal. Check the bill allways.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dinesh111
Business
Montville, NJ
May 15, 2013

Great location and good value

Location is great. Near to the waterfront as well as the Rambla and the old city. Lots of restaurants nearby. Good shopping as well. Rooms and lobby are not five star but they are good enough for the value. It is a clean place. Staff is friendly though overworked some time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonkers777
Business
Italy
Feb 25, 2013

Ok

Overall the experience was wonderful. We did have one major issue at the end. They told us breakfast was included and free. And when wr checked out they told us we owed 16 euros per day per person. So 16 * 4. I argued with them for a long time and our confirmation didnt say included nor not included which is why we asked. They wouldn't honor what the front desk man had told us and made us pay 3 of the 4 dues. I'm very upset by that. I'm not sure what you can do about this. Let me know. Thank yoy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mvrnshkr
Business
Tacoma, Wa
Dec 12, 2012

No rooms

We chose this hotel based on reviews and it's location. We originally booked a room for two but when one more person was added to our trip, we asked to have the room changed to a room for three. We were told a three person room was not available and also that they would not refund our money, so we were forced to book a second room. When we arrived, we were told the hotel did not have room for us at all. They sent us to a different commonly owned hotel further away from our desired location. We had no choice. The second hotel appeared to be modern, but we had a number of problems. One of the rooms could accommodate three people but the hotel refused to cancel the second room. When we tried to go to the bar, we found the glass door locked by the bartender so she could study. The desk clerk was able to get her attention so she let us in. The rooms were not well insulated against hallway conversations. A couple of hours after we retired, the desk clerk banged on 1st one door and then the other demanding to be let in so he could search for a piece of luggage belonging to another guest. He actually let himself in one of the rooms when the occupants didn't answer the door quickly enough, a major privacy invasion issue. Additionally, the requested walk up calls never happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Call the hotel directly to confirm reseravations

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boudi
Business
uk
Sep 2, 2012

facilities

it is a shame that they dont offer a Kettle in their rooms,...that the breakfast buffet is overpriced, and has very few options, and the internet wifi is so poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nysurg
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 23, 2010

Great location but okay room

Great location - within walking distance from las ramblas shopping district. Room okay but book double bed and ended up with 2 single beds. Breakfast buffet was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cycle Europe
Business
Pensacola, FL
Aug 8, 2010

Nice hotel in the Gothic quarter

It would have been nice if there was complimentary safe and internet Operating the air conditioning is confusing Beautiful lobby and interior

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Many pickpockets on the street and subway - guard your valuables!!! Beware of people creating a distraction - lock your valuables in the safe - carry only the amount of money you will need before going out on the street. Loosing your wallet is a quick way to ruin a vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Medinaceli Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pecanlady
Business
west palm beach
Nov 24, 2009

nice for the price

the desk staff was very nice when we checked in, but the guy when we checked out was not too friendly and tried to charge us again even though we had our confirmation [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

the on and off tour was good and you got a discount from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top