$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Le Meridien Barcelona

5 stars
View map of La Rambla 111, La Rambla 111, Barcelona, 08002

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
21 reviews
great location and service

we would stay again and again as the staff was very helpful and location was perfect The Room are... See full review

  • MANINDER S.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Perfect location, nicest staff

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I have to say that the location cannot be... See full review

  • Jahall
  • Feb 18, 2014
A hotbed of avant-garde design smack in the middle of Las Ramblas

The location of Le Meridien Barcelona, right on Las Ramblas, gives this sophisticated hideaway a prestigious spot among the city's many properties. In addition to richly appointed rooms and suites, this hotel of choice for visiting celebrities offers a wide array of top facilities. The fine-dining Cent Ontze restaurant dishes out renowned Catalan fare. The recently opened Discovery Spa offers a range of body treatments. The ground-floor Illy Caffé has an extensive menu of top coffees.

Highlights
  • Top location right on iconic Las Ramblas
  • Modern Catalan fare at Cent Ontze restaurant
  • A range of treatments at Discovery Spa
  • The ambience of glitz and glam
Rooms

The rooms and suites at Le Meridien Barcelona feature a seamless blend of traditional design and contemporary trends. Rooms are decorated in rich, warm hues with walnut timbers, colorful modern artwork, natural satin-finish fabrics, leather furniture and wool carpets that show a street plan of Eixample. The frosted windows that illuminate the entrance to the rooms, with drawings of Gaudi's emblematic buildings, give a décor nod to the Modernist master. High-tech trimmings include an interactive TV with a 42-inch plasma screen. The en-suite bathrooms sport a soothing rain shower. High-speed Internet is available (fees apply). Other perks include a custom-designed bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, a trouser press, as well as coffee and tea station. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites showcase views over Las Ramblas. 

Features

At Cent Ontze restaurant, the chef cooks up a creative culinary storm with high-quality ingredients hand-picked at La Boqueria, the famed food market steps away. The accent is on Catalan cuisine, featuring dishes such as bream fillet with pumpkin purée and Santa Pau beans, pork fillet with quince jelly and sautéed mushrooms and Catalan cream caramel with biscuit ice-cream. The tasting menu (which changes weekly) is a feast and the daily menu an excellent deal. The food theme continues at Discovery Spa, which features treatments with chocolate and fruit. Le Pop Bar showcases live DJ-spun tunes and saxophone from Thursday to Saturday.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Catalunya (on the L1 and L3 lines)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Port Olimpic (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Meridien Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Le Meridien Barcelona Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Barber shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Le Pop Cocktail Bar
Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates senses with an exciting blend of libations, music, and savoir vivre. A master mixologist adds a modern twist to the ritual of cocktail hour with sparkling creations.
Longitude Bar 02º 10'
Incorporated in our HUB space is Longitude Bar 02º 10’, which serves illy® coffee and a range of fine teas and juices throughout the day. Fresh cakes, biscuits, and pastries—including the local flavour of our Le Méridien éclair—are also available.
CentOnze Restaurant
CentOnze Restaurant invites the discovery of unexpected flavours of Barcelona. Seasonal, sustainable ingredients directly from La Boquería Market are minimally manipulated into such elaborate, refined creations as tapas and platillos.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Le Meridien Barcelona

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 4, 2009

The Truth

The location was fantastic! Concierge was good, but not great. Evening front staff were the most helpful- daytime staff did the minimum to help- definitely did NOT go out of their way. Room was ok, but right next to the elevator- didn't get cleaned till the very end of the day, & then didn't pick up the dirty glasses- I had to ask for new, clean ones! No night service in the room either(turndown service). I have stayed in other hotels of similar standard & had much better interactions with the staff- Being booked completely isn't an acceptable excuse for not being helpful! I am a very experienced traveler & I wouldn't go back, but would look at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A must for foodies is the Boqueria market in Barcelona- a very short walk from the hotel- fantastic place to see & taste great local food- from fruits & veggies to meats & cheese. Had hot cod croquets in the am that were fabulous! People very friendly! Don't miss it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super daughter
Business
London
Apr 18, 2013

Excellent hotel

1st floor rooms are very small which makes temperature difficult to controll, however very quiet at back of hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Luka
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 23, 2013

Excellent Value

Great location near Las Ramblas but on a quiet street. Maybe a mile from the port, and easy walking distance to many tourist destinations. Staff was courteous, helpful and offered good suggestions for restaurants and attractions. Room was very clean, nice size and comfortable. Free water bottles each day and complimentary coffee were nice touches. Usual quality we've come to expect from Le Meridien hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to negotiate prices. Many stores willing to bargain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Apr 18, 2011

very good and safe bet for novice

clean and safe and convinient hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKVIPER
Business
Millstone, NJ
Jul 8, 2010

Le Meridien Barcelona

Le Meridien was a great choice for our family vacation. It is right on the Ramblas at about mid-way. You can walk up to the square or down to the pier where the aquarium is. Beds were super comfortable, they have half a dozen computers available for free internet access, and a reasonable gym with weight machines, elipticals, and tread mills. Only downside is it is right on the Ramblas so you here the scooter noises a bit, but a great choice to get a feel for the city without having to take taxis everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2011

Fantasitic Location

Great location for walking or hopping on the bus. Friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed because rooms are a little worn but the staff changed our room and made sure we were completely satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Closer to a 3.5 star

This hotel is located right off the busy strip of Las Ramblas, the location is really great, it's walking distance to sightseeing, restuarants, shopping and the metro. But the hotel is average at best, the lobby is small, the staff is not too friendly, and there is always a long wait for the concierge. There is no roof top overlooking the city (as many other hotels nearby have), the restuarant was overpriced and the food was not that great, and there is no pool/spa. It is a nice standard hotel, but I expected more from a 5 star. I would rate this hotel a 3.5 star at best and would not likely stay here again for leisure. I would stay here if I were on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I reccomend the hop on/hop off bus which takes you everywhere. Be watchful of your wallet and purse in Las Ramblas, we saw this guy on a bike try to steal this lady's purse and she fought to get it back. I would also buy a 10 trip pass on the metro, saves you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 10, 2009

le meridien barcelona

The hotel has undergone renovations. It is lovely but not 5 star. Very often we were ignored by the front desk. They tried to make up for not calling us for our wake up call however if that had been the day we wee leaving we would have missed our plane. They sais they called twice. They did not.There is no pool nor roof area. Location is wonderful directly on Las Ramblas which also added to the noise level. The bathrooms are surrounded by etched glass, not walls, and take up a large portion of the room. The sliding glass door does not close completely so there is NO privacy. I am not a fan of this. Rooms are cleaned once a day and the linens are lovely. No turn down service at night which I consider 5 star. I would not stay here again. I wanted old and unique and what I got was modern and not appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingTonyUSA
Business
USA
May 28, 2009

Great hotel. Rooms may vary.

Great location, great staff. We stayed there for two nights and had a great room on the 3rd floor. Very modern, great beds and cool shower and bath. We returned a week later and stayed one last night. This room was on the 5th floor. The room was a bit smaller than our first stay, but was still nice. However, the walls (or ceilling) were VERY thin. A neighbor had a wake up call at 5 AM which we heard. When they took a shower, it sounded as if the shower in our room was in use! The staff recommends the cafe/bar across the street - don't go unless you're looking to hang out with college age people. Certainly don't go if you want anything more than olives or cheese to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is right out the front door. It's a tourist spot, but very lively and entertaining. DO watch your valuables! On our first night there, a woman in our hotel had her valuables stolen right out of her closed bag. She didn't feel them unzip the bag and remove the items. Beware of the young women who proposition men at night along the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jahall
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 18, 2014

Perfect location, nicest staff

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I have to say that the location cannot be beat. La Boqueria market, gothic quarter, paseo de gracia (where you will see some of Gaudi's work), plaza cataluyna are all in walking distance...everything else is a quick metro or cab ride away. The staff are fantastic and accommodating....they were even able to get us tickets to the FC Barcelona game an hour before it started. An overall wonderful stay both times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy la Boqueria market in the morning for a bite to eat...go towards the back where prices may be cheaper. It may take some patience to snag a seat, but well worth it...great experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top