$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Le Meridien Barcelona

5 stars
View map of La Rambla 111, La Rambla 111, Barcelona, 08002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Le Meridien Barcelona

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeeM
Virginia, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfect Location in Barcelona

Right off Las Ramblas, the main street in the center of Barcelona one block from the highly efficient metro, near many restaurants and bars. Internet provided but you must re-log on every 30 mins. Barcelona is a walking town (in our case the weather was perfect) and this hotel made the Gothic area as well as the shopping areas readily available. Also, do not miss the "farmers market" about a block down Las Ramblas toward the sea. Barcelona is a great city, not to be missed. Excellent architecture of well built and well kept buildings and very clean streets. At the top of my list of world favorite cities and I have been to a large number of major cities in the world. The Gaudi church and the Roman Ruins were my favorite visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roman ruins in the Gothic section of town, toward the sea and off to the north from the hotel. Excavations from the 6th century showing incredible technology of the times. There is a 10 minute film that is most educational inside the museum.

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 3, 2011

Fantasitic Location

Great location for walking or hopping on the bus. Friendly and helpful staff. We were disappointed because rooms are a little worn but the staff changed our room and made sure we were completely satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKVIPER
Business
Millstone, NJ
Jul 8, 2010

Le Meridien Barcelona

Le Meridien was a great choice for our family vacation. It is right on the Ramblas at about mid-way. You can walk up to the square or down to the pier where the aquarium is. Beds were super comfortable, they have half a dozen computers available for free internet access, and a reasonable gym with weight machines, elipticals, and tread mills. Only downside is it is right on the Ramblas so you here the scooter noises a bit, but a great choice to get a feel for the city without having to take taxis everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RKW
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 16, 2010

Great, Great, Great

Great hotel, great location, great staff...it doesn't get any better. While the room was small by N American standards we weren't in it that much...it was clean and comfortable, with an awesome bathroom/shower. The staff are extremely helpful, the restaurant was great and the food excellent. Location was super...right on LaRamblas about a block from the Metro...very central to key attractions. Metro was easy to use, and not expensive by European standards. All in all a wonderful hotel...definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be very careful with your wallet/purse/satchel. We were continuously warned about pickpockets/purse snatchers and met up with some travellers who had just been robbed. This is a very well organized, systematic profession in Barcelona...they are not afraid to physically assault you and/or knock you over to distract you and get to your valuables. Keep your wallet in your front pocket and your purse/satchel firmly under your arm or in front of you at all times. Be careful if walkng in some of the narrower walkways/roads if pedestrian traffic is minimal...even along La Ramblas

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 18, 2010

great hotel, great location

La Rambla is a busy boulevard and can be noisy. We were initially given a room on the 2nd floor but I requested a higher floor before even checking out the 2nd floor room. They let us check out a smoking room on the 5th floor. It didn't smell smoky at all and it was a great room for us - EXTREMELY QUIET. The hotel was immaculately clean as was the room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. We ate at the restuarant and enjoyed our meal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 10, 2010

Perfect spot!

Le Meridien was great! It was right in the middle of everything and a beautiful hotel. Don't be afraid to take the Metro there from the airport, super easy. The staff was extremely helpful. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Pla if you're celebrating a special occassion. A little pricey, but worth it. Amazing food! For everyday easting Taller de Tapas was great and inexpensive.

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Closer to a 3.5 star

This hotel is located right off the busy strip of Las Ramblas, the location is really great, it's walking distance to sightseeing, restuarants, shopping and the metro. But the hotel is average at best, the lobby is small, the staff is not too friendly, and there is always a long wait for the concierge. There is no roof top overlooking the city (as many other hotels nearby have), the restuarant was overpriced and the food was not that great, and there is no pool/spa. It is a nice standard hotel, but I expected more from a 5 star. I would rate this hotel a 3.5 star at best and would not likely stay here again for leisure. I would stay here if I were on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I reccomend the hop on/hop off bus which takes you everywhere. Be watchful of your wallet and purse in Las Ramblas, we saw this guy on a bike try to steal this lady's purse and she fought to get it back. I would also buy a 10 trip pass on the metro, saves you money.

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 10, 2009

le meridien barcelona

The hotel has undergone renovations. It is lovely but not 5 star. Very often we were ignored by the front desk. They tried to make up for not calling us for our wake up call however if that had been the day we wee leaving we would have missed our plane. They sais they called twice. They did not.There is no pool nor roof area. Location is wonderful directly on Las Ramblas which also added to the noise level. The bathrooms are surrounded by etched glass, not walls, and take up a large portion of the room. The sliding glass door does not close completely so there is NO privacy. I am not a fan of this. Rooms are cleaned once a day and the linens are lovely. No turn down service at night which I consider 5 star. I would not stay here again. I wanted old and unique and what I got was modern and not appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellmore, NY
Nov 7, 2009

Our Stay at Le Meridien Barcelona

Le Meridien was a conveniently located base for sightseeing and dining. The atmosphere was exciting and stylish. We enjoyed using the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket around the corner and La Boqueria a few blocks away are time and money savers. They also helped you to feel like a local resident.

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 4, 2009

The Truth

The location was fantastic! Concierge was good, but not great. Evening front staff were the most helpful- daytime staff did the minimum to help- definitely did NOT go out of their way. Room was ok, but right next to the elevator- didn't get cleaned till the very end of the day, & then didn't pick up the dirty glasses- I had to ask for new, clean ones! No night service in the room either(turndown service). I have stayed in other hotels of similar standard & had much better interactions with the staff- Being booked completely isn't an acceptable excuse for not being helpful! I am a very experienced traveler & I wouldn't go back, but would look at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A must for foodies is the Boqueria market in Barcelona- a very short walk from the hotel- fantastic place to see & taste great local food- from fruits & veggies to meats & cheese. Had hot cod croquets in the am that were fabulous! People very friendly! Don't miss it!!

Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 21, 2009

Good location, friendly staff

Hotel offers free WiFi in the lobby area and champagne at 7pm in the lobby. We asked for a king bed and was accommodated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For 5 Euros the Aerobus from airport will drop you off at the Catalunya Plaza. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk on La Rambla. The taxi would cost approximately 30 Euros.

Back to menu Return to top