$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

Le Meridien Barcelona

5 stars
Ramblas 111, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
20 reviews
Perfect location, nicest staff

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel, and I have to say that the location cannot be... See full review

  • Jahall
  • Feb 18, 2014
Great Hotel

Our stay at Le Meridien Barcelona was wonderful. The location was perfect. On La Rambla but not too... See full review

  • Leo H
  • Nov 12, 2013
A hotbed of avant-garde design smack in the middle of Las Ramblas

The location of Le Meridien Barcelona, right on Las Ramblas, gives this sophisticated hideaway a prestigious spot among the city's many properties. In addition to richly appointed rooms and suites, this hotel of choice for visiting celebrities offers a wide array of top facilities. The fine-dining Cent Ontze restaurant dishes out renowned Catalan fare. The recently opened Discovery Spa offers a range of body treatments. The ground-floor Illy Caffé has an extensive menu of top coffees.

Highlights
  • Top location right on iconic Las Ramblas
  • Modern Catalan fare at Cent Ontze restaurant
  • A range of treatments at Discovery Spa
  • The ambience of glitz and glam
Rooms

The rooms and suites at Le Meridien Barcelona feature a seamless blend of traditional design and contemporary trends. Rooms are decorated in rich, warm hues with walnut timbers, colorful modern artwork, natural satin-finish fabrics, leather furniture and wool carpets that show a street plan of Eixample. The frosted windows that illuminate the entrance to the rooms, with drawings of Gaudi's emblematic buildings, give a décor nod to the Modernist master. High-tech trimmings include an interactive TV with a 42-inch plasma screen. The en-suite bathrooms sport a soothing rain shower. High-speed Internet is available (fees apply). Other perks include a custom-designed bed with Egyptian cotton sheets, a trouser press, as well as coffee and tea station. Some of the deluxe rooms and suites showcase views over Las Ramblas. 

Features

At Cent Ontze restaurant, the chef cooks up a creative culinary storm with high-quality ingredients hand-picked at La Boqueria, the famed food market steps away. The accent is on Catalan cuisine, featuring dishes such as bream fillet with pumpkin purée and Santa Pau beans, pork fillet with quince jelly and sautéed mushrooms and Catalan cream caramel with biscuit ice-cream. The tasting menu (which changes weekly) is a feast and the daily menu an excellent deal. The food theme continues at Discovery Spa, which features treatments with chocolate and fruit. Le Pop Bar showcases live DJ-spun tunes and saxophone from Thursday to Saturday.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Catalunya (on the L1 and L3 lines)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Port Olimpic (1.4 mi/2.3 km)

Hotel Map

41.3837 2.171
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport, (BCN), 12.00, KM; Girona-Costa Brava Airport, (GRO), 80.00, KM;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Le Meridien Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Le Meridien Barcelona Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.2 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Le Piano Bar
There is no better place for a nice evening in Barcelona than Le Piano Bar, where our guests can enjoy one of our special cocktails whilst listening to live music.
Le Patio
With its warm and cosy decoration, Le Patio restaurant offers a perfect combination between Mediterranean-style cuisine and the peaceful, traditional atmosphere of a Catalan patio.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Le Meridien Barcelona

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LeeM
Virginia, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Perfect Location in Barcelona

Right off Las Ramblas, the main street in the center of Barcelona one block from the highly efficient metro, near many restaurants and bars. Internet provided but you must re-log on every 30 mins. Barcelona is a walking town (in our case the weather was perfect) and this hotel made the Gothic area as well as the shopping areas readily available. Also, do not miss the "farmers market" about a block down Las Ramblas toward the sea. Barcelona is a great city, not to be missed. Excellent architecture of well built and well kept buildings and very clean streets. At the top of my list of world favorite cities and I have been to a large number of major cities in the world. The Gaudi church and the Roman Ruins were my favorite visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Roman ruins in the Gothic section of town, toward the sea and off to the north from the hotel. Excavations from the 6th century showing incredible technology of the times. There is a 10 minute film that is most educational inside the museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKVIPER
Business
Millstone, NJ
Jul 8, 2010

Le Meridien Barcelona

Le Meridien was a great choice for our family vacation. It is right on the Ramblas at about mid-way. You can walk up to the square or down to the pier where the aquarium is. Beds were super comfortable, they have half a dozen computers available for free internet access, and a reasonable gym with weight machines, elipticals, and tread mills. Only downside is it is right on the Ramblas so you here the scooter noises a bit, but a great choice to get a feel for the city without having to take taxis everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RKW
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 16, 2010

Great, Great, Great

Great hotel, great location, great staff...it doesn't get any better. While the room was small by N American standards we weren't in it that much...it was clean and comfortable, with an awesome bathroom/shower. The staff are extremely helpful, the restaurant was great and the food excellent. Location was super...right on LaRamblas about a block from the Metro...very central to key attractions. Metro was easy to use, and not expensive by European standards. All in all a wonderful hotel...definitely recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Be very careful with your wallet/purse/satchel. We were continuously warned about pickpockets/purse snatchers and met up with some travellers who had just been robbed. This is a very well organized, systematic profession in Barcelona...they are not afraid to physically assault you and/or knock you over to distract you and get to your valuables. Keep your wallet in your front pocket and your purse/satchel firmly under your arm or in front of you at all times. Be careful if walkng in some of the narrower walkways/roads if pedestrian traffic is minimal...even along La Ramblas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 18, 2010

great hotel, great location

La Rambla is a busy boulevard and can be noisy. We were initially given a room on the 2nd floor but I requested a higher floor before even checking out the 2nd floor room. They let us check out a smoking room on the 5th floor. It didn't smell smoky at all and it was a great room for us - EXTREMELY QUIET. The hotel was immaculately clean as was the room. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. We ate at the restuarant and enjoyed our meal. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 10, 2010

Perfect spot!

Le Meridien was great! It was right in the middle of everything and a beautiful hotel. Don't be afraid to take the Metro there from the airport, super easy. The staff was extremely helpful. We celebrated our 1 year anniversary and loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Pla if you're celebrating a special occassion. A little pricey, but worth it. Amazing food! For everyday easting Taller de Tapas was great and inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 10, 2009

Closer to a 3.5 star

This hotel is located right off the busy strip of Las Ramblas, the location is really great, it's walking distance to sightseeing, restuarants, shopping and the metro. But the hotel is average at best, the lobby is small, the staff is not too friendly, and there is always a long wait for the concierge. There is no roof top overlooking the city (as many other hotels nearby have), the restuarant was overpriced and the food was not that great, and there is no pool/spa. It is a nice standard hotel, but I expected more from a 5 star. I would rate this hotel a 3.5 star at best and would not likely stay here again for leisure. I would stay here if I were on a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I reccomend the hop on/hop off bus which takes you everywhere. Be watchful of your wallet and purse in Las Ramblas, we saw this guy on a bike try to steal this lady's purse and she fought to get it back. I would also buy a 10 trip pass on the metro, saves you money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Nov 10, 2009

le meridien barcelona

The hotel has undergone renovations. It is lovely but not 5 star. Very often we were ignored by the front desk. They tried to make up for not calling us for our wake up call however if that had been the day we wee leaving we would have missed our plane. They sais they called twice. They did not.There is no pool nor roof area. Location is wonderful directly on Las Ramblas which also added to the noise level. The bathrooms are surrounded by etched glass, not walls, and take up a large portion of the room. The sliding glass door does not close completely so there is NO privacy. I am not a fan of this. Rooms are cleaned once a day and the linens are lovely. No turn down service at night which I consider 5 star. I would not stay here again. I wanted old and unique and what I got was modern and not appealing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellmore, NY
Nov 7, 2009

Our Stay at Le Meridien Barcelona

Le Meridien was a conveniently located base for sightseeing and dining. The atmosphere was exciting and stylish. We enjoyed using the business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermarket around the corner and La Boqueria a few blocks away are time and money savers. They also helped you to feel like a local resident.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 4, 2009

The Truth

The location was fantastic! Concierge was good, but not great. Evening front staff were the most helpful- daytime staff did the minimum to help- definitely did NOT go out of their way. Room was ok, but right next to the elevator- didn't get cleaned till the very end of the day, & then didn't pick up the dirty glasses- I had to ask for new, clean ones! No night service in the room either(turndown service). I have stayed in other hotels of similar standard & had much better interactions with the staff- Being booked completely isn't an acceptable excuse for not being helpful! I am a very experienced traveler & I wouldn't go back, but would look at other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A must for foodies is the Boqueria market in Barcelona- a very short walk from the hotel- fantastic place to see & taste great local food- from fruits & veggies to meats & cheese. Had hot cod croquets in the am that were fabulous! People very friendly! Don't miss it!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal, Canada
Oct 21, 2009

Good location, friendly staff

Hotel offers free WiFi in the lobby area and champagne at 7pm in the lobby. We asked for a king bed and was accommodated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For 5 Euros the Aerobus from airport will drop you off at the Catalunya Plaza. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk on La Rambla. The taxi would cost approximately 30 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelingTonyUSA
Business
USA
May 28, 2009

Great hotel. Rooms may vary.

Great location, great staff. We stayed there for two nights and had a great room on the 3rd floor. Very modern, great beds and cool shower and bath. We returned a week later and stayed one last night. This room was on the 5th floor. The room was a bit smaller than our first stay, but was still nice. However, the walls (or ceilling) were VERY thin. A neighbor had a wake up call at 5 AM which we heard. When they took a shower, it sounded as if the shower in our room was in use! The staff recommends the cafe/bar across the street - don't go unless you're looking to hang out with college age people. Certainly don't go if you want anything more than olives or cheese to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is right out the front door. It's a tourist spot, but very lively and entertaining. DO watch your valuables! On our first night there, a woman in our hotel had her valuables stolen right out of her closed bag. She didn't feel them unzip the bag and remove the items. Beware of the young women who proposition men at night along the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top