$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Internacional Cool Local Hotel

3 stars
Les Rambles, 78 - 80, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
8 reviews
Perfect location

We had a standard cool Rambla view room and this was perfect for us. Spacious and had nice view... See full review

  • Heidi and Rita
  • Apr 9, 2014
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

The rooms were beautiful, clean, modern, AND SMALL! However, space is sacrificed to stay in the... See full review

  • ThisisCoach
  • May 25, 2013
The International Cool Local Hotel is located in the very heart of Las Ramblas, undoubtedly Barcelona's most important promenade and one of the most charming and most visited sites in the world. It was built over the Gothic city wall that surrounded Barcelona in the 16th century, next to the large Baroque house in calle Boqueria, which was then the main entrance to the city. During the next 200 years and after several transformations, it was launched as the Hotel Internacional in 1894. Since then, the hotel has undergone numerous refurbishments, the most important of which, in terms of structure and interior design, took place in 2009, converting the hotel into one of the most avant garde and benchmark establishments in the city. Welcome to the new Internacional Cool Local Hotel. Our visit starts with our young, dynamic Reception team, who are available 24 hours a day to ensure you enjoy the best possible stay. The fantastic panoramic lift makes it easy to travel around the hotel. Its luminosity and transparency are spectacular and offers visitors a birds eye view of the hotel installations. There is an exclusive business point located on each floor of the hotel complete with a laptop computer, Free Wi-Fi, newspapers and drinks for guests to enjoy free of charge. The ever-present natural light in the interior patios and the spacious facilities allow you to work comfortably and in peace. The rooms are fully equipped and have been redecorated in a modern, elegant style. Each room has an individual touch, a characteristic that differentiates it from the others, making it even more exclusive. Some rooms have chromotherapy mood ambience lighting, a relaxing way to enjoy the peace of the rooms. The buffet breakfast is served in an incredible lounge with natural light, crowned by a majestic lamp and a terrace for enjoying breakfast in full contact with las Ramblas. There is a modern chill-out area on the upper terrace of the hotel for enjoying an aperitif or a drink to good music, projections and above all a spectacular aerial view of the most avant garde part of the city. Possibly one of the best, most spectacular terraces in Barcelona. Another terrace giving onto the Ramblas is at your entire disposal for enjoying a drink or snack.

Hotel Map

41.3811 2.1735
Area served
Barcelona
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat International Aiport located 12km.
Area description
Barcelona City Centre. Les Rambles, Barri Gotic, Placa Catalunya.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Internacional Cool Local Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Internacional Cool Local Hotel Rooms

Standard Cool
The room, which has been entirely renovated and soundproofed on 2009 with an elegant and modern style, has a lot of comforts like the access to a fridge with free mineral water. The bedroom is equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, heating, two sets of pillows and Wi-fi connection. Inside of the bright and modern bathroom there are hairdryer, toiletries and shower or bath.
Standard Basic Ramblas View
Basic room equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, heating, safety box and Wi-fi connection. Inside to the bathroom there are hairdryer, toiletries and shower or bath. Furthermore, you can enjoy with the views facing to the one of the most popular avenues on the world, Las Ramblas.
Standard Cool Ramblas View
The room, which has been entirely renovated and soundproofed on 2009 with an elegant and modern style, full comforts like the access to a fridge with free mineral water. Furthermore, you can enjoy with the views facing to the one of the most popular avenues around the world, Las Ramblas. The bedroom is equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, heating, two sets off pillows and Wi-fi connection. Inside of the bright and modern bathroom there are hairdryer, toiletries and shower or bath.
Standard Basic
Basic room equipped with LCD TV, air conditioning, heating, safety box and Wi-fi connection. Inside to the bathroom there are hairdryer, toiletries and shower or bath.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • La Rambla: 0 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • La Rambla: 0 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.3 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.4 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heidi and Rita
Norway
Apr 9, 2014

Perfect location

We had a standard cool Rambla view room and this was perfect for us. Spacious and had nice view with a little balcony to the Rambla. The soundproof windows was working very well. but. It had been nice with soundproof door to the corridor as well. Breakfast was good, tip: pay for breakfast in the resepcion prior to your meal and pay 9 euro pp instead of 13 euro if you put it on the room. Nice rooftop terrace. Minus: No in-room safe or fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aletris
Vancouver, BC
Nov 3, 2013

the room was the size of a postage stamp!

What a cool hotel. Right on La Ramblas! Re-furbished historic building, glass and marble (when you pass the reception), very friendly guy at the front desk…spoke English very well. When we checked in, I asked him to make sure we got a room with a proper double or queen-sized bed not one of those funny European two twin beds held together by the sheets. He looked a little concerned and prepared me for having a room with this kind of bed “tomorrow”. Indeed, the first night the room had the funky fall through the crack in the middle twin beds, and yes they promised a new room the following day. We went out for the day and upon return we were told that the staff had moved our stuff to a new room and that this room had a proper bed in it. Well… to our surprise, the room was the size of a postage stamp! The window was a slit window facing the elevator machine room. The room was so small, you couldn’t put two suitcases on the floor to open them. There was no room for chairs or table. It was so small that you could hardly walk around the room. But hey, it did have a proper queen sized bed. We had the opportunity to compare our room with another 3 star hotel just across the street (Hesperia Ramblas), it was about the same price but much nicer. Larger room, well appointed, larger lobby etc. Won’t be staying here or with Husa Hotels any more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swarmsmile
NYC
Oct 31, 2013

Location is best feature

Would say the location is at its best. The staff try their best but with some minor changes to both rooms and the site this can be better. The website needs to be more clear that each and every room does not have all amenities. The staff helped and gave a different room once arrived. Improvement is needed in every room should have an Iron, drawers to store clothes, safety deposit box at best for the price compared to other hotels it should be there. One tip about walking tours and other tours all staff should know how to book tours and have a system for walking tour guide to come in and check if guest are ready. We stood right in front of the hotel and walking guide never came, frontdesk said he just left didn't you see him?, Minor improvements can make this hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check menus first and go to different plazas where outdoor seating is a great experience. If you go to POrt Olympic take a cab its quite a walk. Le Americain across the street has good tapas.

Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Filthy Rich
Barcelona
Oct 10, 2013

Stay away, stay away, stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recently stayed at Cool Hotel One Night before cruise out of Barcelona. Price $333.00 Les Rambles view room. Room tiny, no place for luggage, no place to sit and especially no place to sleep comfortably. Bed should be in trash bin. I would like the owners to try to sleep in this so called bed for an hour.Hookers out at front of hotel all night long. no airport pickup, no roof top bar etc.The only thing we got staying at this place was the room charge and no sleep. Avoid at all costs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ThisisCoach
Oregon, USA
May 25, 2013

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

The rooms were beautiful, clean, modern, AND SMALL! However, space is sacrificed to stay in the heart of the action. Our room overlooked Las Ramblas. It wasn't noisy, and so much is within walking distance. Oh, and we enjoyed the free bottled water!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Married with children
Finland
May 12, 2013

Somewhat disappointed

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and must say that location was perfect! We were very disappointed about the room; the beds were all but nice, we could here every whisper from the room nextdoor and from the corridor, there was no minibar, only one english-spoken tv-channel ... Breakfast was quite ordinary and we were quite surprised that it wasn't included in the room price. The hotel information in the web said something like: "breakfast is served at hotel's nice restaurant with a view to Ramblas..." Because of that mention, we automatically supposed that breakfast is included. We had to pay something like 13 €/per person per day for breakfast!!! Could be less, don't remember the exact prices. There was only one waiter serving breakfast and the tables were unfinished and unclean while the waiter struggled with the coffee-machine from time to time.... Barcelona was great and the food; tapas and pinchos especially. We'll certainly visit again! But we'll stay at another hotel, sorry

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAT54
Darlington, UK
Apr 21, 2013

Mother and daughter 3 day break in Barcelona

The location of this hotel couldn't be better, right on La Rambla. Room was clean and comfortable but very small. Didn't really matter as my daughter and I were out and about all day. Only complaints would be that it would have been nice to have tea/coffee available in room and breakfast (which we had in hotel on 1st morning) wasn't very exciting. We could walk to most places from the hotel. Would definitely recommend taking the tour bus. Be aware that cafes along La Rambla are expensive. Nevertheless we enjoyed a sunny afternoon there drinking sangria and watching the world go by

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Market just further along La Rambla sells wonderful fruit smoothies and tubs of fresh fruit - great for breakfast or a healthy snack

Review of Internacional Cool Local Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Foxy travelers
Louisville, Kentucky
Jul 15, 2012

Great location

Good location and reasonable price. Standard room means it will be very, very small and stark. We only stayed one night and didn't spend much time in the room so it was fine. Didn't find the bottled water on the 2nd and 4th floor that is supposed to be provided for free. If you are looking for frills look elsewhere or plan on booking a bigger room at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top