$147 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

3 stars
Pelai, 14, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
46 reviews
Good Barcelona Trip

Loved it that the floors were hardwood rather than carpet. Breakfast was great and gave us the... See full review

  • ManuelN
  • May 7, 2014
short break

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel,only critiscism was that the hotel needs a little decorative... See full review

  • dolly blue
  • Jun 26, 2014
Oasis of contemporary style and perks aplenty behind a classic facade

Inside a refurbished 1920s building at the heart of Barcelona's Golden Triangle, as the city's shopping and tourism center is often called, Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona sits steps away from Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. This hideaway provides a set of stylish rooms. The on-site cafe and restaurant serves breakfast as well as all-day tapas. The leafy sun terrace with loungers affords fantastic views over city rooftops.

Highlights
  • Top location a hop and a skip from most attractions
  • Charming sun deck with loungers and great vistas
  • Well-equipped rooms with personality and style
Rooms

The 60 neat rooms at Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona showcase lots of natural light, splashes of soft color, contemporary art and style aplenty. Rooms come in different sizes and categories but all are equipped with flat-screen TV, double-glazed windows for great soundproofing, Internet access (fees apply) and en-suite marble bathrooms with amenities. Deluxe rooms feature a private patio. Two latest additions are art-inspired. The Gaudi-themed junior suite has a separate living room. The property's most exclusive unit, the Dali suite, is a decor nod to the famous Surrealist painter, with a private terrace offering direct access to the sun deck.

Features

Hiding behind the classic facade of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona in the city center is a set of beautifully decked out rooms and a range of facilities. In addition to breakfast, the Red Cafe on the premises serves tapas, sandwiches and international dishes daily between noon and 10:30 p.m. The sun deck with loungers--a great place for a cocktail--offers panoramic city views. The Britannia meeting room, holding up to 25 people, is equipped with the latest technological amenities. The location steals the show at Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona--a stone's throw from Las Ramblas, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA) and minutes from the Modernist landmarks and high-end shops of Eixample district.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Closest metro stops: Universitat (on the L1 and L2 lines), Catalunya (on the L1 and L3 lines)
  • Two-minute walk from the airport bus stop on Plaza Catalunya
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Museum of Contemporary Art (.2 mi/.3 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.3 mi/2 km)
Policies and fees
Hotel Registration Number: HB-004058

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.3858 2.1659
Area served
In the heart of Barcelona, next to Plaza Catalunya and the famous Ramblas. Walking distance to major Barcelona attractions.
Nearby airports
El Prat International Airport is 9 miles (14 km) from the city.The Girona and Reus airports (one hour from Barcelona) offer many other low cost airline options.
Area description
Hotel Inglaterra is located in Barcelona's "Golden Triangle", the tourist and shopping center of the city, which offers an abundance of services and shops and is surrounded by the most attractive features of Barcelona. Hotel Inglaterra, is located in the city center, next to Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya. Walking distance to major Barcelona attractions.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona Rooms

City Double Room
Comfortable rooms with two single beds or a double bed: bedroom and marble bathrooms. These rooms are equipped with: - Flat-screen TV (satellite channels). - Mini-bar.* - Bureau or dressing table. - Wi-Fi Internet connection.* - Internet wire connection.* - Room service. - Double glazed soundproofing. - Independent air conditioning and heating. - Hair-dryer. - Exclusive collection of bathroom amenities. - Safety deposit box service.
City View Double Room
Rooms that are more spacious and luminous than the "City" rooms. All are street facing. These rooms are equipped with: - Flat-screen TV (satellite channels). - Mini-bar.* - Bureau or dressing table. - Wi-Fi Internet connection.* - Internet wire connection.* - Room service. - Double glazed soundproofing. - Independent air conditioning and heating. - Hair-dryer. - Exclusive collection of bathroom amenities. - Safety deposit box service.
Premium Room
Rooms have modern furniture and 25-30 sqm. They are equiped two single beds or a double bed These rooms are equipped with: - Flat-screen TV (satellite channels). - Mini-bar.* - Bureau or dressing table. - Wi-Fi Internet connection.* - Internet wire connection.* - Room service. - Double glazed soundproofing. - Independent air conditioning and heating. - Hair-dryer. - Exclusive collection of bathroom amenities. - Safety deposit box service.
City & Friends
3 people capacity Room with 30sqm and 3 single beds (or 1 double + 1 single or 2 tiwns + 1 rollaway) These rooms are equipped with: - Flat-screen TV (satellite channels). - Mini-bar.* - Bureau or dressing table. - Wi-Fi Internet connection.* - Internet wire connection.* - Room service. - Double glazed soundproofing. - Independent air conditioning and heating. - Hair-dryer. - Exclusive collection of bathroom amenities. - Safety deposit box service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.4 mi
  • El Raval: 0.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.5 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.5 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.6 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.6 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
istanbultraveller
istanbul
Sep 1, 2011

Perfect location

Location is great for sightseeing.2 minutes walk to La Rambla. Rooms were freshly renovated and it was very clean. The staff was also quite helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Convenient location to most of the attractions

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zurich, Switzerland
Mar 13, 2011

Great Value and Location!

Great location and easy to walk to many hot spots like La Rambla. Be sure to check out all the back alleys, too! The Mercat is nearby and has the best fresh squeezed juices and fruit for less than 2 Euros! Metro just outside makes it so easy to get around to see all the Gaudi sites. The hotel room was TINY but really well laid out. The maid service was fabulous. Our room had a little balcony and black out curtains. The bathroom is well equipped - lots of hot water and good water pressure. Quiet enough despite the central location. The breakfast buffet probably is worth the discounted rate we were offered of 9 Euros per person if you pre-book at the start of your stay (15 Euros otherwise). We had trouble finding good breakfast spots and unless you enjoy pastries for breakfast, I'd book the hotel buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Along Psg de Gracia there is tons of great shopping. If you get the TAX FREE voucher, BE SURE to redeem at Placa de Catalunya BEFORE you go to the airport. It was so confusing at the airport, we never got our 50 Euros tax back... :(

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Zurich, Switzerland
Mar 13, 2011

Great Value and Location!

Great location and easy to walk to many hot spots like La Rambla. Be sure to check out all the back alleys, too! The Mercat is nearby and has the best fresh squeezed juices and fruit for less than 2 Euros! Metro just outside makes it so easy to get around to see all the Gaudi sites. The hotel room was TINY but really well laid out. The maid service was fabulous. Our room had a little balcony and black out curtains. The bathroom is well equipped - lots of hot water and good water pressure. Quiet enough despite the central location. The breakfast buffet probably is worth the discounted rate we were offered of 9 Euros per person if you pre-book at the start of your stay (15 Euros otherwise). We had trouble finding good breakfast spots and unless you enjoy pastries for breakfast, I'd book the hotel buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Along Psg de Gracia there is tons of great shopping. If you get the TAX FREE voucher, BE SURE to redeem at Placa de Catalunya BEFORE you go to the airport. It was so confusing at the airport, we never got our 50 Euros tax back... :(

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tel Aviv, Israel
Dec 1, 2010

Very nice hotel in a great location

We have found this hotel as we wanted a hotel near Placa Catalunya, and we wanted to pay a reasonable price. We were very happy with the hotel. It is in a great location (2 minutes walk from Place Catalunya and La Rambla). The service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful whenever we approached them on any issue. We stayed there 3 nights, and were very happy. The room we got had some dust in it (under the bed), and so we asked them to send someone, and they cleaned it immediately, even though the maid was just about to leave. We will definitely recommend and would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tel Aviv, Israel
Dec 1, 2010

Very nice hotel in a great location

We have found this hotel as we wanted a hotel near Placa Catalunya, and we wanted to pay a reasonable price. We were very happy with the hotel. It is in a great location (2 minutes walk from Place Catalunya and La Rambla). The service was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful whenever we approached them on any issue. We stayed there 3 nights, and were very happy. The room we got had some dust in it (under the bed), and so we asked them to send someone, and they cleaned it immediately, even though the maid was just about to leave. We will definitely recommend and would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Expat living in Mexico
Nov 20, 2010

Good location, nice staff

Great location. Rooms were small but nice. The bathroom was beautiful. Had a room to on the court yard and it was very quiet. Staff was helpful and accomadating. Had a great dinner in the dining room. I would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was located right in the heart of the city and offered anything from fast food to lovely resturants within walking distance. Shopping was just a few doors down from the hotel. Tours were available at the end of the block. It offered everything within a short walk.

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Expat living in Mexico
Nov 20, 2010

Good location, nice staff

Great location. Rooms were small but nice. The bathroom was beautiful. Had a room to on the court yard and it was very quiet. Staff was helpful and accomadating. Had a great dinner in the dining room. I would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was located right in the heart of the city and offered anything from fast food to lovely resturants within walking distance. Shopping was just a few doors down from the hotel. Tours were available at the end of the block. It offered everything within a short walk.

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Oct 27, 2010

Nice stay

Stayed one night pre-cruise. Got there early (10Am) from all night flight. Room not ready but for $15 extra got an upgraded room. Nice enough, friendly staff, great location. Would stay there again, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to the hop on-off bus, Gothic area, Ramblas, market.

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Oct 27, 2010

Nice stay

Stayed one night pre-cruise. Got there early (10Am) from all night flight. Room not ready but for $15 extra got an upgraded room. Nice enough, friendly staff, great location. Would stay there again, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to get to the hop on-off bus, Gothic area, Ramblas, market.

Review of Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Oct 20, 2010

Pre cruise hotel stay

My husband & I met other family members at this hotel for a pre cruise stay. The hotel location was great - in walking distance to Las Ramblas & many shops & restaurants. Room was extremely small though that is not uncommon for European hotels. The hotel was very clean & the staff friendly. The breakfast "buffet" left a little to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top