$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Hotel del Mar Barcelona

3 stars
Placa Palau, 19, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
10 reviews
Ideal location

The hotel is in a good position , just near the port and two minutes walk from the metro. The room... See full review

  • james999
  • Oct 27, 2013
Good 4 night city break

Nice hotel, perfect value for money, although we did not have breakfast included, Great Location, 5... See full review

  • Kimini
  • May 21, 2013
Located in the center of the City near to the Gothic Neighborhood and of the beaches, in one of the most tourist zones of Barcelona, in the Plaza Palacio, in a building considered Artistic National Monument, surrounded with the most important monuments of Barcelona, Post office, Civil government, Colon, Museum Picasso, Zoo, Port, the Parque de la Ciudadela. 75 rooms with bath, telephone, heating, air conditioning and T.V., ADSL WIFI zone and box of individual safety. Social lounge Terrace in some rooms. Property Amenities: Disabled facilities, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Lobby, Pets allowed, Reception, Room service and Safe deposit box.

Hotel Map

41.3823 2.184
Area served
Bacelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport.
Area description
Located in the center of the City near to the Gothic Neighborhood and of the beaches, in one of the most tourist zones of Barcelona, in the Plaza Palacio.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel del Mar Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel del Mar Barcelona Rooms

Standard
Room with one double bed or one twin bed including Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Laundry service, Non-smoking rooms, Room service, Safe in room and Telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • La Ribera: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Estació de França: 0.2 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.2 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.3 mi
  • La Maquinista: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • La Ribera: 0.1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Estació de França: 0.2 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.2 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.3 mi
  • La Maquinista: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.4 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Port Vell: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.4 mi
  • Parc de la Ciutadella: 0.4 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.5 mi
  • Barcelona Zoo: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.5 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament of Catalonia: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Platja de Sant Sebastià: 0.5 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.5 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.5 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tatiana
Not Provided
Nov 16, 2009

There was no childseat in the

There was no childseat in the breakfastroom. Otherwise we had very nice stay. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james999
Business
uk
Oct 27, 2013

Ideal location

The hotel is in a good position , just near the port and two minutes walk from the metro. The room was spotless and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We did not have breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. This is an ideal reasonably priced and positioned hotel for a city break. Las Ramblas is about a ten to fifteen minute walk away alongside the marina. Will definitely consider using this hotel again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Better value meals in the small restaurants / cafes in the side streets off Las Ramblas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Calgary Barb
Business
Barcelona, Spain
Jul 17, 2013

Basic room, basic hotel, great location

Found this online, booked and paid for it and we were able to walk to it from where the bus drops you off in the centre of town in about 20 minutes. We arrived several hours later to find there was no reservation, and the front staff was unnecessarily rude and very unhelpful. The next morning they did finally find the booking after several phone calls and about 25 minute. The shower door is only half a door and flooded the bathroom when showering so just beware to turn the shower head! The traffic below was noisy until about 1am. Again, the location was wonderful, close to the beach, town centre and a beautiful area to walk around with lots of little outdoor cafes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimini
Business
Kent
May 21, 2013

Good 4 night city break

Nice hotel, perfect value for money, although we did not have breakfast included, Great Location, 5 Mins from Las Ramblas, 5 Mins from the beach, 10 Mins from the Olympic Port with great restaurants and bars, Lovely room with double doors onto a small balcony overlooking the marina. Take the Bus touristique for a great way to see all around the city, you can get on and off as many times as you like, save money by buying the tickets from the hotel. we did all 3 routes on our 1st day and then decided whwre we would like to go back to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Olympic Port - great seafood restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
utzuki
Business
USA
Feb 2, 2011

Great Location

Walking distance to the Gothic Quarter and City Bus stops and water front. Quite street. Clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Estoy
Business
Seattle, wa
Oct 12, 2010

Mediocre

Great location near the gothic quarter and the ramblas, but the staff were indifferent to guests. Internet not working and there was zero effort by staff to address it. Room was clean but unwelcoming, though the bathroom was rather modern and nice. Hotel on a busy street so lots of noise from outside. Close to train station. Wouldn't stay here again. Simply because I expected more for what I paid for and because staff were not helpful. Although they did arrange a cab in the morning per my request. Just remember to ask if breakfast is included in your rate. Fortunately I asked and avoided a €9 charge for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heidisg52
Business
New England
Jul 10, 2010

Neat and clean, convenient.

Hotel is located in the Barcelonetta neighborhood. Convenient to the waterfront and the cruise port, including the beach. Also some great restaurants close by. Right next to a bus stop and the Metro. It is simple, yet spotless. Staff is efficient and mostly multi-lingual. They offer a breakfast buffet, but make sure you find out ahead of time if your rate includes the breakfast. We got "dinged" for breakfast after we assumed it was included in our rate. There is no pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of restaurants within a minute or two walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bad Boy
Business
San Jose CA
Sep 16, 2009

Great location

This was just an overnighter, to get on the cruiseship the next day, but turned out to be a really good location, used the sightseein tour buses (double decker) which the stop is right across the street, pay 20 euro's for an all day event, took us to the heart of barcelona, placa de catalunya, which was really nice, transferred to the red line bus which took us throughout the city, after we took the green line I think it was and took us to many different places, sitting on the top was nice as it was hot, but the wind felt better than staying downstairs. I'd do it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Placa de Catalunya is the place to be

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Annapolis Maryland
Aug 4, 2009

Great location, good for the price

Simple clean rooms, friendly staff, good housekeeping,excellent location, very safe, close to mass transportation, quiet(though small) comfortable rooms. Many people speak Spanish and English. Lots of great attractions and excellent transportation in Barcelona, friendly people, diverse population, reasonable prices, active nightlife, all-night, heavy tourism April-October. However, the US dollar is only worth 65 cents. Me and my 19 yr. old daughter had a ball! I would return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 29, 2009

Nice place close to the beach

Good location, very clean nice rooms. A bit expensive, but that reflects the city as well. The room had A/C, which was a must given the high temps and loud noise outside if the window was open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel del Mar Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 8, 2009

Great location for the price

Very comfortable and clean hotel. No restaurant but plenty of places to eat nearby. Best thing was that we could walk to practically all of the major highlights of Barcelona. Would stay there again if I ever get back to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for a walk or late dinner after ten. The place comes alive at night. Restaurants and shops are open late and there is plenty of activity going on. The town is clean and the people friendly. Recommend exploring side streets off the main boulevards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top