$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hotel Regencia Colon

3 stars
View map of Sagristans, 13-17, Barcelona, 08002

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Regencia Colon

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Appleton, WI
Aug 31, 2009

Rooms nice, staff less so

The location was not bad. It was two blocks from a metro line, three or four blocks from the Reina Sofia and Atocha train station so was a great place to start our stay in Madrid. The staff was a bit unhelpful, we had to wait a long time to get someone to help us even though there were two people behind the desk. Once we even gave up. We didn't have any problems with checking in or out, there just had to be no one else around when you went to the desk, or you would not be helped. The room was clean and trendy with a great updated bathroom including a jet tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There was not as much in this area for shopping or dinning, so your choices were limited. This hotel is in a great location if you have to leave early the next day for the train.

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2009

As advertised

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon in Barcelona and picked the Regencia Colon based primarily on its location, which after visiting, can't be beat. It is literally half a block from the Barcelona Cathedral, which is one of the major tourist stops and definitely worth seeing. It was also a short walk to The Ramblas and one block from 2 double decker tour bus stops. The room was decent sized and relatively clean. Nothing spectacular and nothing terrible - about what you'd expect for the price. The front desk was very helpful and spoke English fluently. The only thing negative I have to say is that there was a separate charge for Wi-Fi access and it was based in the hotel across the street, so we literally had to hang our laptop out the window to get a decent signal. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at the hotel, definitely check out the Restaurant Les Quinze Nits (Address: Pl Reial, 6) it's along one side of the main square off the Ramblas. The food was excellent and so were the prices. Be careful as there are several other higher priced (tourist trap) cafe's also in the square. If you don't see Les Quinze Nits right away, just look for the line out the door. Worth the wait though.

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overcooked
Couples
Washington DC
May 30, 2009

Cathedral Close, Tapas Steps Away

Fall out of your bed into the history of Barcelona. This hotel is a block from the main Cathedral, close to the Gothic distrist, Las Ramblas, and all things Barcelona. The staff are helpful, protective, and very friendly - they'll even let you practice bad spanish on them! Our bedroom was large as was the bathroom and they were well kept. Like many European hotels the queen and king beds really are 2 mattresses stuck together, so there's a slight divide - but we were usually too exhausted after touring to notice. This was the perfect way to get to meet Barcelona, in the heart of everything! Though away from the Ramblas and 2 blocks from a busy street there was still some street noise at night - no we weren't in Indiana any more. But it usually quieted down by midnight or so, and Sunday morning was as quiet as...being in church (including lots of bells pealing). The best part of our room was two huge windows that could be opened and allowed you to see some of the Cathedral and square if you leaned out a little.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in the Heart of Old Barcelona. We felt very safe, the staff are helpful, and protective. Didn't experience any real rowdy action, but did fall into a gothic fair near the Museum of the City on Saturday, did eat some wonderful churros and chocolate for breakfast at a nearby patisserie, and did have many, many, many opportunities to stop for a glass of wine and tapas (Remember wine is cheaper than water in Barcelona). The staff were helpful in directing us on how to take the subway to see the "dancing fountain" near the art museum one evening, and offered good recommendations for dinner and other entertainment

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami critic
Couples
Miami, FL
May 30, 2009

Pleased

The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. I would stay here again for tourism in Barcelona. The hotel does not have any irons to lend unfortunately, and it is very noisy at all hours due to its proximity to a major boulevard. However, it is a great place to stay if you want to vacation in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AL, THE CULTURED TRAVELER
Couples
MIAMI,FLORIDA
May 28, 2009

HOTEL IN GOOD LOCATION

HOTEL IS LOCATED WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF LA RAMBLA, BARCELONA'S PORT AND SEVERAL PLAZAS.EASY ACCESS TO LOCAL TRANSPORTATION.ROOMS ARE SMALL, BUT CLEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DINING IS PLENTIFUL.MANY SMALL AND MID-SIZE RESTAURANTS.CHECK CONVERSION MONEY RATES.SOME EMPLOYEES ARE NOT VERY HELPFUL.SOME ARE RUDE.

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Michigan
May 9, 2009

Barcelona

Hotel and service were very good. Unable to sleep with all the noise outside, it went on until 4-5AM each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Sister
Family
Washington DC
Apr 23, 2009

Heart of the city

Excellent location, helpful staff. Unfortunately, in rooms on the lower floors received a lot of street noise. Also, it was not possible to adjust the room temp manually and since it was too noisy to leave the window open it got stuffy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take the tour bus. I t will really give you an idea of what to see.

Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loved Barcelona
Couples
San Diego, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Tough to find a better deal than this

This hotel is located perfectly for the tourist/shopper. Close to almost everything you want to see and do in Barcelona. The subway is about a block away for longer trips. The walls were a little thin and the bed was a bit firm for my liking but the location vs price cannot be beat. The front desk staff was incredible in helping me after a pick pocket got my wallet. They let me use the desk phone to make necessary international calls to cancel credit cards free of charge. They were also very helpful in suggesting attractions and giving me directions. Their english was perfect as well. The rooms are clean and actually larger than I expected. If you want to be where the action is in Barcelona, you cannot beat this one. If you prefer luxury over price, you may not be happy with Regencia Colon. But, if you are looking for nice accomodations at about half the price of similar lodgings this is the one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Give yourself at least a full day to explore the shopping in the Gothic area. Men, keep your wallets in your front pockets. Pick pockets are everywhere.

Back to menu Return to top