$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Hotel Regencia Colon

3 stars
Sagristans, 13-17, Barcelona, 08002
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
38 reviews
Great for sightseeing

Really enjoyed our stay, friendly staff, immaculately clean room, right in the centre of town. The... See full review

  • Lezley
  • Nov 15, 2014
Good Value in Barcelona

The Regencia Colon is smaller than the Hotel Colon that is behind its big brother that fronts the... See full review

  • Speedy K
  • Oct 8, 2014
Unwind at this snug hotel near Barcelona’s cathedral

Regencia Colon Hotel has an unbeatable location in the heart of the Gothic Quarter, just a five-minute stroll from Plaza Catalunya in one direction and the Barcelona port in the other. The hotel is also a stone's throw from the cathedral and Las Ramblas and right next door to sister property, Hotel Colon. This moderately-sized hotel has well-equipped rooms and a lovely bar decked out in 19th century style. The restaurant at the neighboring sister property serves innovative Mediterranean cuisine.

Highlights
  • Enviable location in the heart of the Gothic Quarter
  • Internet connection in all rooms
  • Mediterranean restaurant at the next-door Hotel Colon
Rooms

Hotel Regencia Colon features 50 tastefully decorated guest rooms. All rooms are decorated in a cheerful style with flowery accents, wooden floors and pastel-colored walls. Each of the units has a complete bathroom with hair dryer. Tech perks include telephones with modem for high-speed Internet connections, safety deposit box, mini bar and air-conditioning. Additional services (fees apply) include laundry, breakfast and room service. Bathrobes and slippers are available upon request. Some rooms have impressive views of the Barcelona cathedral.

Features

Hotel Regencia Colon shares the facilities with Hotel Colon a hop and a skip away. On-site facilities include a bar with 19th century style and a breakfast room. Catedral Restaurant at Colon Hotel sits right in front of the cathedral and serves excellent Mediterranean cuisine prepared with market-fresh ingredients. Signature dishes include tolosa beans with pickled partridge, deer loin fillets in a ragout of chestnuts and monkfish with artichokes, wild asparagus and crayfish. Business guests of Hotel Regencia Colon can use the two light-filled meeting rooms for events or meetings. The on-site concierge books tours and excursions and makes dinner reservations.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
  • Closest metro stops: Catalunya (lines L1 and L3), Urquinaona (lines L1 and L4)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Port Olimpic (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.2 mi/2 km)

 

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Regencia Colon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Regencia Colon Rooms

Standard Double Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Cable / Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Mini bar, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room and Safe in room.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.1 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.1 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.2 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Enjoy dining in the "Restaurant Catedral" of the sister hotel, the Hotel Colon. Here you can enjoy the best in Mediterranean cuisine, in a warm atmosphere whilst taking delight in the wonderful views of the Cathedral.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Regencia Colon

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRSSr.
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 27, 2012

Barcelona visit

The staff were awesome and helped us with our rooms, the area, questions, and going out of their way to make us happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take bus 19 to go from the hotel to Sagrada La Familia. Cost was low, close to location and a great ride. Being across from the cathedral was also super

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbsb
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great location & value for Barcelona

We were very happy with our experience at this hotel. The desk clerk was very helpful when we checked in, and gave us Room #261. This room has a huge outdoor patio with table & chairs. You can look down the street and see the Cathedral, and there is even an electric awning for rain or sun protection. It's in the Gothic area, an easy walk to lots of tourist sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. and Mrs. HoneyMooners
Business
Northern California
Sep 29, 2011

Honeymooners

This is definitely not your today's modern day hotel. Old hotel with old decor. No American voltage plugs. We were not able to plug in labtop, cell phones, camera/video camera recorder for re-charging, etc... No washer/dryer, gym, restaurant on site. They did offer laundry service and continental breakfast but for a steep/hefty price. The bed was rock hard. Only (2) cheap/flimsy pillows were provided. Very uncomfortable!!!! Staff unfriendly and unhelpful at times. We will never stay here again. But, with all that said, the location was fabulous. The only good thing about the hotel. Beware: when using the cab service in Barcelona, ask the cab driver in advance for the rate to your destination. We unfortunately did not do this and were taken advantage of. Also watch for pick pocketers/purse snatchers. Very big in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop on and Hop off double decker sight seeing bus. We purchased the 2 day hopper. It was great. We definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retired Edu
Business
California
Sep 21, 2011

retirement vacation

Location was the best. Staff couldn't be more helpful. It was a very safe environment and lots of great places to eat and plazas to sit and relax. You could walk to hotel from the Aerobus stop, which was easy to catch at the airport. Also walk back when leaving. The hop on hop off bus was just a few yards away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the main street Laetiana and the Born district had fantastic assortment of places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
psurick
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 18, 2011

Perfect

Excellent location, friendly staff, and big clean rooms!! We really enjoyed our stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Now Experienced Traveler
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jul 5, 2011

Unbeatable location and staff

The hotel location was perfect. It is in the heart of the Gothic quarter of Barcelona - literally around the corner from the famed Gothic Cathedral. It is also only a short walk from La Rambla and some great little restaurants. The rooms were pretty sizeable - we had two twins squeezed together and another twin in our room - but the bathroom was a little small (but hey, it worked for our one night stay while touring Barcelona and waiting to board the cruiseship). The staff spoke quite a bit of English and were very attentive. They collect your room key when you leave (the area around La Rambla is known for pickpockets and it's nice to have one less thing to worry about) and have someone at the desk 24hours so you can collect it. They also have a room safe you can set for you personally that is great - leave your passports in the room there. We were leaving on a cruise the next afternoon and our ship didn't leave until 5pm, but the check-out time is 12pm, and we wanted to see Barcelona, so we had to do something with our luggage. The hotel will hold it for you in a secure room. We left our luggage and explored the city. It was a great experience and I would highly recommend this hotel for others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Metro (buy a 10 punch ticket if you are travelling a lot or with multiple people) from Catalunya to Pl. Espayna to see the Magic Fountain at night. Best attraction in Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twenty-something
Business
Dubai, UAE
Jul 4, 2011

Decent

Very central, but a couple of minutes from the metro. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean. I loved the free, fast WiFi. Perhaps the elevator could have been faster and the soap better, but I have no regrets about staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, New York
May 9, 2011

Wonderfully simple, fantastic location!

Stayed at the hotel Regencia Colon for 3 nights as part of a honeymoon tour of Spain, and our first time to Barcelona. The hotel is very nice, but the main attraction is the location - directly off the placa cathedral, its is within walking distance to many major Barcelona attractions and nightlife, amazing churros y xocolate - and because its on a block behind the placa, nightlife noise is at a minimum. We awoke Sunday to lovely live traditional music drifting in from the Placa - it was unforgettable experience. The staff was very courteous and helpful, and pointed us int he direction of some time and money saving attractions nearby. The free breakfast buffet was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When returning to Barcelona airport, take advantage of the inexpensive Aerobus service which leaves from nearby Placa Catalunya, much cheaper than a cab ride!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
annj67
Business
london , ontario, canada
Apr 20, 2011

Good hotel

Stayed at both the Hotel Colon and Hotel Regencia Colon. Both were very clean and comfortable. Only difference was Hotel Colon had little balcony and windows closed tighter to eliminate noise. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great location , across form Gothic Cathedral, . Square was wonderful and full of activity. Stayed before and after cruise and would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Regencia Colon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 31, 2011

Perfect location, can be a bit noisy.

We spent three nights in this neat old hotel ONE BLOCK from the oldest cathedral and the Roman walls. One problem was that to cool the room to sleeping temp, we had to leave the window open. That was a problem when the 20 somethings got kicked out of the bar next door at 2 am. Also when the street sweeper went bye at 4 am some nights. Otherwise, we felt it was a good price for a GRAEAT location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the GREAT underground metro to get from place to place. There are TWO stations, each about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Wish Denver had such a neat transportation system...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top