Hotel Derby ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$54
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016
3.8 /5
Overall score
82%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.7
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard
  • Size: 237 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping and business district, near Diagonal avenue and only five minutes from the trade fair grounds, the Sants train station and with direct access to the airport. Recently renovated, this classic Barcelona hotel is on a surprisingly quiet street, sheltered from the urban hustle-bustle. This hotel is one of the best-prepared for business travellers. It could be described as a classic urban hotel that just like all the hotels in the collection boasts a collection of art, in this case including lithographs by Miro, Guinovart, Tpies, Mariscal and Hernndez Pizjun, which give guests a good sampling of contemporary Catalan art. The hotel has 117 totally renovated rooms, all with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephone, mini-bar, background music, a working area with free-of-charge broadband Internet access, TV with Canal Plus, satellite dish and pay-per-view channels, fax and modem hook-ups and safety deposit box. The hotel also furnishes a laundry service, room service and parking. Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" cafe. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel. Business center, Car park, meeting rooms, Room service, Laundry and pressing service, Buffet breakfast and Restaurant Epsom. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" caf. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.9 / 5
$68
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$73
Guest score 4.7 / 5
$72

Barcelo Sants

★★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$91

Abba Sants

★★★★
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$87
Guest score 4.7 / 5
$69

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities
  • Currency exchange

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Parking

Reviews

3.8 /5 Overall score

82% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.7/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.2/5
  • Hotel staff: 4/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 3.7/5
  • Value: 4/5

Good for the money

Would not recommend Wed, Feb 4, 2015
This isn't where i'd stay for multiple days in Barcelona. But for a single night before a long flight, this fit the bill just fine. Location was good, staff was friendly. The hotel smells a bit like smoke, so if you're sensitive to that it may not be a good choice. But overall good value.

| N/A Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great spot in Barcelona

Would recommend Mon, Dec 29, 2014
Great spot in Barcelona, close enough to train station to walk to, and to Train station to go to LA RAMBLA

| Seaside Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location for short trip

Would recommend Fri, Jul 25, 2014
This hotel is within 30 minutes walking of just about all the big sites... La rambla, basilica de segrada familia, el gotic. Plenty of wonderful restaurants that are veg friendly nearby. staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Pool across street at grand derby was a major plus. Very relaxing

Dining

Go to la Mary near the hotel

| Milwaukee, Wisconsin Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good value

Would recommend Sun, Feb 9, 2014
Everything seemed nice, clean and fairly new. I did not try the breakfast.

| California Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A good place to stay for a few days

Would recommend Thu, May 16, 2013
I have three complaints about this hotel. One, people from the bar across the street came out on the street to talk, laugh in the middle of the night, making a lot noise. Two, it is quite a walk to the metro station, much farther than I thought when I made the reservation. Three, there is no provision for making hot water in the room, no complimentary bottled water either.is otherwise, it is a clean hotel to stay for a few days. The restaurant the front desk recommended was great and it was close to the hotel. we had great authentic Spanish food there.

| Rockville, Maryland Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

My naiveity

Would not recommend Wed, Jan 30, 2013
Hotel was good until i was checking out. Breakfast bill for 3 days - €75.00 !!!!!!!!!!!! total - 6 cups of coffee and 3 crossiants. Never again.

| Dublin Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

What a great find

Would recommend Sun, Sep 2, 2012
At the end of our cruise we wanted to spend some time in Barcelona. A friend suggested we consider the Derby Hotel. It is part of a very well run chain and we would delighted to get to know them. The Times coffee shop next door with free wifi was very useful, although the downstairs breakfast at the Derby is a real pleasure. We plan to return. WiFi at the hotel is only free for 60 minutes a day, although the use of their one computer station downstairs is free. We spent 20 Euros for unlimited wifi for three days. We found we had the highest speed when we went downstairs, where I also had some very comfortable business meetings with our local dealer.

| Pasadena, CA Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Clean modern 4 star hotel

Would recommend Wed, Aug 15, 2012
Lovely hotel that offers great value for money. Staff are very helpful & friendly. Rooms are spotlessly clean and very modern. The hotel is a little out of the centre. Local bars and restaurants have little English but much better value than the city centre.

Attractions

Book Sagrada familia tickets online - queues are huge!

| London Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Its ok.

Would not recommend Mon, May 14, 2012
It is more like a 3 star hotel. No amenities (gym,restaurant). The rooms are l a ittle small than the average. Good bathroom. They supply only one soap for handwash and shower for 2 days,

| Miami Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Very nice hotel

Would recommend Sat, Dec 31, 2011
Hotel Derby is really good in terms of comfort and cleanliness. You can get to the city center in less than 10 mins by bus and the bus stop is just 3-5 min walk away from the hotel. The hotel staff is also very nice and pleasant. The double room with king size bed should be bigger though. The breakfast price is 14 euros which is quite high too. If the double rooms are bigger and the hotel is located in the city center, I will give it 5 stars.

| London, UK Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Les Corts 0.2 mi
Sants Rail Station 0.3 mi
Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet 0.4 mi
Via Augusta 0.7 mi
Barcelona Sants railway station 0.8 mi
Parc de l'Espanya Industrial 0.9 mi
Dona i Ocell 0.9 mi
Gran de Gracia 1 mi
Casa Vicens 1 mi
Casa Mila 1.1 mi
Rambla de Catalunya 1.1 mi
Carrer de Sants 1.1 mi
Plaza de Espanya 1.1 mi
Museu del Modernismo Catala 1.1 mi
Palau del Baró de Quadras 1.1 mi
Fundació Antoni Tàpies 1.1 mi
University of Barcelona 1.1 mi
Camp Nou 1.2 mi
Casa Amatller 1.2 mi
Paseo de Gracia 1.2 mi
Fundación Francisco Godia 1.2 mi
Fira de Barcelona 1.2 mi
Nou Camp Stadium 1.2 mi
Casa Lleó Morera 1.2 mi
Egyptian Museum of Barcelona 1.2 mi
Coliseum 1.2 mi
Palau Ramon de Montaner 1.3 mi
Casa de les Punxes 1.3 mi
FC Barcelona Museum 1.3 mi
Palau Reial de Pedralbes 1.3 mi
Fran Daurel Foundation 1.3 mi
Dreta de l'Eixample 1.3 mi
Fundació Fran Daurel 1.3 mi
Palau Blaugrana 1.3 mi
Carrer de Pelai 1.3 mi
Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona 1.3 mi
CaixaForum 1.3 mi
Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art 1.4 mi
Polytechnic University of Catalonia 1.4 mi
Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció 1.4 mi
Barcelona Pavilion 1.4 mi
Palau dels Esports de Barcelona 1.4 mi
Plaza Espanya 1.4 mi
Carrer del Carme 1.4 mi
Plaça de Catalunya station 1.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$54
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2016 Check-out: Feb 29, 2016