$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Hotel Derby

4 stars
Loreto, 21, Barcelona, 08029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
15 reviews
Great location for short trip

This hotel is within 30 minutes walking of just about all the big sites... La rambla, basilica de... See full review

  • Greattomato
  • Jul 25, 2014
Good value

Everything seemed nice, clean and fairly new. I did not try the breakfast. See full review

  • Sleeperz
  • Feb 9, 2014
The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping and business district, near Diagonal avenue and only five minutes from the trade fair grounds, the Sants train station and with direct access to the airport. Recently renovated, this classic Barcelona hotel is on a surprisingly quiet street, sheltered from the urban hustle-bustle. This hotel is one of the best-prepared for business travellers. It could be described as a classic urban hotel that just like all the hotels in the collection boasts a collection of art, in this case including lithographs by Miro, Guinovart, Tpies, Mariscal and Hernndez Pizjun, which give guests a good sampling of contemporary Catalan art. The hotel has 117 totally renovated rooms, all with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephone, mini-bar, background music, a working area with free-of-charge broadband Internet access, TV with Canal Plus, satellite dish and pay-per-view channels, fax and modem hook-ups and safety deposit box. The hotel also furnishes a laundry service, room service and parking. Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" cafe. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel. Business center, Car park, meeting rooms, Room service, Laundry and pressing service, Buffet breakfast and Restaurant Epsom. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Map

41.39 2.1422
Area served
Spain.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport.
Area description
Located on the upper part of Diagonal avenue and surrounded by other broad avenues, this is the ideal home base for going shopping in the prestigious shops in the city's most fashionable shopping malls.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derby also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Derby Rooms

Standard
The bedding option for the room is one double or twin. Room offers all modern amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 1.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 1.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.2 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 1.2 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 1.3 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 1.3 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Reial de Pedralbes: 1.3 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 1.3 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • CaixaForum: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Polytechnic University of Catalonia: 1.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 1.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" caf. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derby

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Happy
St Louis, MO, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Barcelona Bargain

Hotel Balmes was offered at bargain prices ($114/night, July 2011) and we found it to be as comfortable as a luxury hotel. It's location was ideal for every tourist destination within the city--both Metro and bus available just a block or two from hotel. Restaurants in every direction. Uber shopping two blocks away. Hotel staff dedicated to guest satisfaction. Good English, helpful directions. Pretty pool, really clean rooms, well stocked bathrooms, very comfortable beds, absolutely no way to complain about anything. We chose not to eat the in-house breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ribbon Mic Man
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 2, 2012

What a great find

At the end of our cruise we wanted to spend some time in Barcelona. A friend suggested we consider the Derby Hotel. It is part of a very well run chain and we would delighted to get to know them. The Times coffee shop next door with free wifi was very useful, although the downstairs breakfast at the Derby is a real pleasure. We plan to return. WiFi at the hotel is only free for 60 minutes a day, although the use of their one computer station downstairs is free. We spent 20 Euros for unlimited wifi for three days. We found we had the highest speed when we went downstairs, where I also had some very comfortable business meetings with our local dealer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle George
Tulsa Okla
Jun 2, 2012

Spain on a budget

Hotel is clean and staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very good and many good restaurants close by. City tour bus stop just 3 blocks away. I thought it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several great Italian restaurants within 3 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edoorly
London
Aug 15, 2012

Clean modern 4 star hotel

Lovely hotel that offers great value for money. Staff are very helpful & friendly. Rooms are spotlessly clean and very modern. The hotel is a little out of the centre. Local bars and restaurants have little English but much better value than the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book Sagrada familia tickets online - queues are huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tombaz47
Trowbridge, Wiltshire, UK
Aug 18, 2011

An ideal location for the tourist

Stayed in this hotel back in June and I must say I was very impressed. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from the nearest metro stop, and its only a couple of stops to the central station (Sants) as well as for the famous landmarks such as Las Ramblas. Its situated in a very quiet area, so there's not really much traffic noise. First impressions of the room was that it was quite modern and chic in its design, not too up market, but very comfy and spacious. Note that the hotel has free Wifi in every room, so useful for the smartphone/laptop users. Hotel was very smart, clean and presentable. Room service was top notch, cleaned daily. Staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly for me and my friend who were visiting the city for sightseeing! There are quite a few shops convenientlylocated not far from the hotel as well as bars and restaurants. Across the road from the hotel is a pharmacy and a couple of restaurants and round the corner is a newsagent, good place to get your grub especially as breakfast in the hotel is very pricey if you don't have breakfast included, was around 18 euros! There is also a larger supermarket located about two minutes walk as well. Overall, I really rated the hotel, especially for the location that its in. Would definitely consider staying there again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleeperz
Business
California
Feb 9, 2014

Good value

Everything seemed nice, clean and fairly new. I did not try the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Divonne, France
Mar 28, 2011

Unforgettable weekends

We came over Barcelona to have fun, visit, know more about history, try spanish food etc. And the fact that we really coud make that all happen. Derby hotel is very nice place to stay in. We took bus trip which has stop right nearby of Derby, so thats wonderful. And staff is nice and always ready to help. We didn't know how to get by train, so we used all the time taxi, which was not cheap. The cost from airport to Derby is about 30$ for 2 people. Anyway I enjoyed my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is near LAs Parablas and Catalunya square. It's amazing, there are lots of stuff up to there and price is affordable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mani0172
London, UK
Dec 31, 2011

Very nice hotel

Hotel Derby is really good in terms of comfort and cleanliness. You can get to the city center in less than 10 mins by bus and the bus stop is just 3-5 min walk away from the hotel. The hotel staff is also very nice and pleasant. The double room with king size bed should be bigger though. The breakfast price is 14 euros which is quite high too. If the double rooms are bigger and the hotel is located in the city center, I will give it 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
atlanta, ga
Jul 11, 2011

Great hotel

it was a really good location, quiet area, very clean and great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greattomato
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jul 25, 2014

Great location for short trip

This hotel is within 30 minutes walking of just about all the big sites... La rambla, basilica de segrada familia, el gotic. Plenty of wonderful restaurants that are veg friendly nearby. staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Pool across street at grand derby was a major plus. Very relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to la Mary near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search