$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Hotel Derby

4 stars
Loreto, 21, Barcelona, 08029
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
18 reviews
Good value

Everything seemed nice, clean and fairly new. I did not try the breakfast. See full review

  • Sleeperz
  • Feb 9, 2014
What a great find

At the end of our cruise we wanted to spend some time in Barcelona. A friend suggested we consider... See full review

  • Ribbon Mic Man
  • Sep 2, 2012
The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping and business district, near Diagonal avenue and only five minutes from the trade fair grounds, the Sants train station and with direct access to the airport. Recently renovated, this classic Barcelona hotel is on a surprisingly quiet street, sheltered from the urban hustle-bustle. This hotel is one of the best-prepared for business travellers. It could be described as a classic urban hotel that just like all the hotels in the collection boasts a collection of art, in this case including lithographs by Miro, Guinovart, Tpies, Mariscal and Hernndez Pizjun, which give guests a good sampling of contemporary Catalan art. The hotel has 117 totally renovated rooms, all with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephone, mini-bar, background music, a working area with free-of-charge broadband Internet access, TV with Canal Plus, satellite dish and pay-per-view channels, fax and modem hook-ups and safety deposit box. The hotel also furnishes a laundry service, room service and parking. Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" cafe. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel. Business center, Car park, meeting rooms, Room service, Laundry and pressing service, Buffet breakfast and Restaurant Epsom. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Derby Rooms

Standard
The bedding option for the room is one double or twin. Room offers all modern amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Derby also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.39 2.1422
Area served
Spain.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport.
Area description
Located on the upper part of Diagonal avenue and surrounded by other broad avenues, this is the ideal home base for going shopping in the prestigious shops in the city's most fashionable shopping malls.

Nearby points of interest

  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 1.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 1.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.2 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 1.2 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 1.3 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 1.3 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Reial de Pedralbes: 1.3 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 1.3 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • CaixaForum: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Polytechnic University of Catalonia: 1.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 1.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" caf. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derby

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 18
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tombaz47
Trowbridge, Wiltshire, UK
Aug 18, 2011

An ideal location for the tourist

Stayed in this hotel back in June and I must say I was very impressed. The hotel is only ten minutes walk from the nearest metro stop, and its only a couple of stops to the central station (Sants) as well as for the famous landmarks such as Las Ramblas. Its situated in a very quiet area, so there's not really much traffic noise. First impressions of the room was that it was quite modern and chic in its design, not too up market, but very comfy and spacious. Note that the hotel has free Wifi in every room, so useful for the smartphone/laptop users. Hotel was very smart, clean and presentable. Room service was top notch, cleaned daily. Staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly for me and my friend who were visiting the city for sightseeing! There are quite a few shops convenientlylocated not far from the hotel as well as bars and restaurants. Across the road from the hotel is a pharmacy and a couple of restaurants and round the corner is a newsagent, good place to get your grub especially as breakfast in the hotel is very pricey if you don't have breakfast included, was around 18 euros! There is also a larger supermarket located about two minutes walk as well. Overall, I really rated the hotel, especially for the location that its in. Would definitely consider staying there again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Divonne, France
Mar 28, 2011

Unforgettable weekends

We came over Barcelona to have fun, visit, know more about history, try spanish food etc. And the fact that we really coud make that all happen. Derby hotel is very nice place to stay in. We took bus trip which has stop right nearby of Derby, so thats wonderful. And staff is nice and always ready to help. We didn't know how to get by train, so we used all the time taxi, which was not cheap. The cost from airport to Derby is about 30$ for 2 people. Anyway I enjoyed my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is near LAs Parablas and Catalunya square. It's amazing, there are lots of stuff up to there and price is affordable.

Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Divonne, France
Mar 28, 2011

Unforgettable weekends

We came over Barcelona to have fun, visit, know more about history, try spanish food etc. And the fact that we really coud make that all happen. Derby hotel is very nice place to stay in. We took bus trip which has stop right nearby of Derby, so thats wonderful. And staff is nice and always ready to help. We didn't know how to get by train, so we used all the time taxi, which was not cheap. The cost from airport to Derby is about 30$ for 2 people. Anyway I enjoyed my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping is near LAs Parablas and Catalunya square. It's amazing, there are lots of stuff up to there and price is affordable.

Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami Beach
Aug 22, 2010

SO SO

It was pricey for a hotel with not even a microwave in the room. But everything else was OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get a room with a Kitchenette!!!!! The money you save on hot water for tea or just a small simple meal in your room will make the difference in price worth it.

Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami Beach
Aug 22, 2010

SO SO

It was pricey for a hotel with not even a microwave in the room. But everything else was OK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get a room with a Kitchenette!!!!! The money you save on hot water for tea or just a small simple meal in your room will make the difference in price worth it.

Back to menu Return to top