$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Hotel Derby

4 stars
View map of Loreto, 21, Barcelona, 08029

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
19 reviews
Great spot in Barcelona

Great spot in Barcelona, close enough to train station to walk to, and to Train station to go to LA... See full review

  • Marist Guy
  • Dec 29, 2014
Great location for short trip

This hotel is within 30 minutes walking of just about all the big sites... La rambla, basilica de... See full review

  • Greattomato
  • Jul 25, 2014
The hotel is located in the middle of the shopping and business district, near Diagonal avenue and only five minutes from the trade fair grounds, the Sants train station and with direct access to the airport. Recently renovated, this classic Barcelona hotel is on a surprisingly quiet street, sheltered from the urban hustle-bustle. This hotel is one of the best-prepared for business travellers. It could be described as a classic urban hotel that just like all the hotels in the collection boasts a collection of art, in this case including lithographs by Miro, Guinovart, Tpies, Mariscal and Hernndez Pizjun, which give guests a good sampling of contemporary Catalan art. The hotel has 117 totally renovated rooms, all with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephone, mini-bar, background music, a working area with free-of-charge broadband Internet access, TV with Canal Plus, satellite dish and pay-per-view channels, fax and modem hook-ups and safety deposit box. The hotel also furnishes a laundry service, room service and parking. Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" cafe. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel. Business center, Car park, meeting rooms, Room service, Laundry and pressing service, Buffet breakfast and Restaurant Epsom. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Top hotels

Hotel Derby Rooms

Standard
The bedding option for the room is one double or twin. Room offers all modern amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.2 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.3 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.9 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.9 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Casa Mila: 1.1 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.1 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 1.1 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 1.1 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.1 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 1.2 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 1.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.2 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 1.2 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 1.3 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 1.3 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Reial de Pedralbes: 1.3 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 1.3 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 1.3 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 1.3 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • CaixaForum: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.4 mi
  • Polytechnic University of Catalonia: 1.4 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 1.4 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 1.4 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 1.4 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 1.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
Hotel guests may enjoy the cosy "Epsom" scotch bar and restaurant service in "The Times" caf. They can also relax in the swimming pool at the Gran Derby, just 10 metres from the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Derby

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ribbon Mic Man
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 2, 2012

What a great find

At the end of our cruise we wanted to spend some time in Barcelona. A friend suggested we consider the Derby Hotel. It is part of a very well run chain and we would delighted to get to know them. The Times coffee shop next door with free wifi was very useful, although the downstairs breakfast at the Derby is a real pleasure. We plan to return. WiFi at the hotel is only free for 60 minutes a day, although the use of their one computer station downstairs is free. We spent 20 Euros for unlimited wifi for three days. We found we had the highest speed when we went downstairs, where I also had some very comfortable business meetings with our local dealer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abby5438
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Good for the money

This isn't where i'd stay for multiple days in Barcelona. But for a single night before a long flight, this fit the bill just fine. Location was good, staff was friendly. The hotel smells a bit like smoke, so if you're sensitive to that it may not be a good choice. But overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abby5438
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Good for the Money

The Hotel Derby was clean and convenient not ideal for a longer stay in Barcelona, but fit the bill quite nicely for a brief one-night stay before heading to the airport. Staff was friendly and as helpful as could be expected. Room was clean, but very sparse we requested to switch rooms once because the room (and hotel generally) smelled like smoke, but they accommodated us quickly. Overall fine, just a bit depressing ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marist Guy
Business
Seaside
Dec 29, 2014

Great spot in Barcelona

Great spot in Barcelona, close enough to train station to walk to, and to Train station to go to LA RAMBLA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marist Guy
Business
Seaside
Dec 16, 2014

Great spot in Barcelona

Great spot in Barcelona, close enough to train station to walk to, and to Train station to go to LA RAMBLA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greattomato
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Jul 25, 2014

Great location for short trip

This hotel is within 30 minutes walking of just about all the big sites... La rambla, basilica de segrada familia, el gotic. Plenty of wonderful restaurants that are veg friendly nearby. staff was incredibly helpful and kind. Pool across street at grand derby was a major plus. Very relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to la Mary near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleeperz
Business
California
Feb 9, 2014

Good value

Everything seemed nice, clean and fairly new. I did not try the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
a reasonable traveller
Business
Rockville, Maryland
May 16, 2013

A good place to stay for a few days

I have three complaints about this hotel. One, people from the bar across the street came out on the street to talk, laugh in the middle of the night, making a lot noise. Two, it is quite a walk to the metro station, much farther than I thought when I made the reservation. Three, there is no provision for making hot water in the room, no complimentary bottled water either.is otherwise, it is a clean hotel to stay for a few days. The restaurant the front desk recommended was great and it was close to the hotel. we had great authentic Spanish food there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gavinoz
Business
Dublin
Jan 30, 2013

My naiveity

Hotel was good until i was checking out. Breakfast bill for 3 days - €75.00 !!!!!!!!!!!! total - 6 cups of coffee and 3 crossiants. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ribbon Mic Man
Business
Pasadena, CA
Sep 2, 2012

What a great find

At the end of our cruise we wanted to spend some time in Barcelona. A friend suggested we consider the Derby Hotel. It is part of a very well run chain and we would delighted to get to know them. The Times coffee shop next door with free wifi was very useful, although the downstairs breakfast at the Derby is a real pleasure. We plan to return. WiFi at the hotel is only free for 60 minutes a day, although the use of their one computer station downstairs is free. We spent 20 Euros for unlimited wifi for three days. We found we had the highest speed when we went downstairs, where I also had some very comfortable business meetings with our local dealer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Derby

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edoorly
Business
London
Aug 15, 2012

Clean modern 4 star hotel

Lovely hotel that offers great value for money. Staff are very helpful & friendly. Rooms are spotlessly clean and very modern. The hotel is a little out of the centre. Local bars and restaurants have little English but much better value than the city centre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Book Sagrada familia tickets online - queues are huge!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top