$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 13, 2014

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
Good Location

Clean, nice sized room. Pretty good location, walking distance to the metro to go wherever or a not... See full review

  • World Traveler25
  • Aug 23, 2014
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Map

41.3911 2.159
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat International Airport.
Area description
The hotel Balmes is situated just a short distance from the Rambla Cataluna and Paseo de Gracia, both of which lead it to Plaza Cataluna, the city's nerve centre, and from there to the picturesque Las Ramblas, the cosmopolitan Gothic Quarter and Born neighbourhood, the cathedral, Santa Maria del Mar church and the Picasso Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Balmes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tdid82
Business
East Coast, USA
Jun 4, 2014

Perfectly OK

Clean and modern, though the staff was a bit surly and didn't listen to our requests (nothing special, just things like an extra key). Location is great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phage
Business
Shrewsbury UK
Oct 10, 2012

Hotel Balmes

A relatively small quiet hotel just off the busy roads, it was clean and tidy, if a little on the snug side. It was lucky that the hotel was quiet as the sound insulation was not the greatest. However, it was an ideal place for a short break. Restaurant menu seemed a little limited and did not alter while we were there. We did not eat there so cannot comment on its quality. If required there is an English pub one block to the west that serves a full English breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest metro station is Provenca (line L6 or L7 from Pl. Catalunya) and with an elevator entrance only one block away to the north on Provenca/Balmes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech lady
Business
Roslyn, NY
Aug 16, 2012

An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back to the hotel in the late afternoon and take a swim, relax in the lovely jacuzzi and then lounge outside before getting ready for dinner or evening activity. The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was wonderful to have the use of the computer in the lobby for no charge. We loved the Catalana restaurant on the next block for tapas-which were amazing and we had breakfast at a small cafe across the street from the corner of the hotel. The location was perfect to get to the sights easily by walking, cab or metro or bus. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Balmes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We took the Gaudi and Old City tours with Runner Bean tours which were free and then we paid what we felt was appropriate to the tour guides. Very informational and well-run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Travellers
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 31, 2011

Far exceeded our expectations!

Our two day stay at the Hotel Balmes was excellent. The room was spacious and meticulously clean. Decor is modern and tasteful, everything in working order, room temp control excellent. Front desk personnel were accommodating. The hotel is only two to three blocks from the tour bus routes and the metro, very convenient. Breakfast outstanding, ate other meals at restaurants throughout the city. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour the city using one of several tour bus lines that run throughout the city, hop on/off at various attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Patty
Business
West Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Staff- Delightful

My wife and I planned a 3 month visit to Spain, and we originally planned to stay at the Hotel Balmes en Barcelona for 4 days. The people at the hotel made us not only comfortable, but after a couple days they felt like family.[...] in the coffee shop of the hotel was especially helpful and has a great sense of humor. [...] at the front desk gave us a tour of the hotel, with the art exhibits, rooms and apartments. [...]the general manager, visited with us several times.To make a long story short, we extended our stay to 12 days, saw much of Barcelona, had a fantastic time, and came back to Hotel Balmes for 4 days at the end of our trip to renew friendships and leave with a wonderful send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat that we enjoyed. The Hotel Balmes has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning. There are several places we walked to including The Italian Job, Bau (with delicious empanadas). We also walked to the Corte Ingles for some shopping and to eat. (We took a taxi back, as my wife found some really good deals)! Many nights we stopped in the coffee shop and had cremas (delicious thick soups) and sandwich's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal QC
Oct 28, 2010

Clean, comfortable, good location

Great location for visiting Gaudí houses. Clean room with comfortable bed, helpful staff. Easy access to public transportation. Lots of nearby restaurants (walk towards the Rambla de Catalunya).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit the Gaudí Casa Batlló (short walk from the hotel). For a break from the tourists, take the subway/bus to the Estació de Parc de Montjuïc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill&Francis
Business
Little Rock
Jul 12, 2010

Barcelona hotel

The Balmes hotel was in a super location as we had friends in the Eixample area. The staff were referred to by another guest as "keystone kops" as they did not seem to have a clear idea how to get things done and could care less if the hotel guests were accommodated. They were aloof and generally unhelpful unless we insisted upon answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine on tapas at Contal on the rambla near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top