$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
52 reviews
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
Hotel OK, perfect location

nice little swimming pool, unfortunately only from 9 to 21 h See full review

  • Family from Belgium
  • Jul 17, 2014
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Map

41.3911 2.159
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat International Airport.
Area description
The hotel Balmes is situated just a short distance from the Rambla Cataluna and Paseo de Gracia, both of which lead it to Plaza Cataluna, the city's nerve centre, and from there to the picturesque Las Ramblas, the cosmopolitan Gothic Quarter and Born neighbourhood, the cathedral, Santa Maria del Mar church and the Picasso Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Balmes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary
Not Provided
Oct 1, 2009

Second stay here...very relaxing,

Second stay here...very relaxing, especially by the pool. Definately recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher
Not Provided
Feb 26, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel. Stayed

This is a fantastic hotel. Stayed there for four nights and was very happy. The price was very reasonable and the room was far larger than I was expecting - "standard double" came with a table and two chairs, massive desk and three piece sofa! Location couldn't have been more convenient. Two gripes: Firstly, the room was always, always far too hot. To be fair I didn't complain about this at the time, but the a/c was hopeless and in any case doesn't stay on when you go out of the room. Secondly, we asked for a double and got two singles pushed together. This seems to happen a lot in Spain and France, but is incredibly irritating nonetheless. Will be going back though, and recommending to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan1950
Harrisburg, PA
May 30, 2012

Great place

Hotel Balmes was a great place to stay. Stayed for 4 days/nights. Convenient location. The staff was knowledgeable about restaurants in area and city. All of their recommendations were great. Staff also very helpful and spoke english. The room was average size for Europe. Clean, comfortable. Free Wifi was a plus. Nice pool. This was a great choice. I'd pick it again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tapas restaurant 2 blocks away for lunch and dinner. Alba restaurant another great choice around the block.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech lady
Roslyn, NY
Aug 16, 2012

An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back to the hotel in the late afternoon and take a swim, relax in the lovely jacuzzi and then lounge outside before getting ready for dinner or evening activity. The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was wonderful to have the use of the computer in the lobby for no charge. We loved the Catalana restaurant on the next block for tapas-which were amazing and we had breakfast at a small cafe across the street from the corner of the hotel. The location was perfect to get to the sights easily by walking, cab or metro or bus. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Balmes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We took the Gaudi and Old City tours with Runner Bean tours which were free and then we paid what we felt was appropriate to the tour guides. Very informational and well-run.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Patty
West Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Staff- Delightful

My wife and I planned a 3 month visit to Spain, and we originally planned to stay at the Hotel Balmes en Barcelona for 4 days. The people at the hotel made us not only comfortable, but after a couple days they felt like family.[...] in the coffee shop of the hotel was especially helpful and has a great sense of humor. [...] at the front desk gave us a tour of the hotel, with the art exhibits, rooms and apartments. [...]the general manager, visited with us several times.To make a long story short, we extended our stay to 12 days, saw much of Barcelona, had a fantastic time, and came back to Hotel Balmes for 4 days at the end of our trip to renew friendships and leave with a wonderful send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat that we enjoyed. The Hotel Balmes has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning. There are several places we walked to including The Italian Job, Bau (with delicious empanadas). We also walked to the Corte Ingles for some shopping and to eat. (We took a taxi back, as my wife found some really good deals)! Many nights we stopped in the coffee shop and had cremas (delicious thick soups) and sandwich's.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jngz
Malaysia
Jun 16, 2014

Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough and have a big toilet. Price is reasonableness worth a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smitty123
Milan, Italy
Oct 9, 2011

Great Location and Service

Pretty much everything was great about this hotel. At the price point, I doubt there's much in Barcelona that can beat it. The pool and back garden area were very nice, but the jacuzzi was barely above luke-warm and the sauna did not work well. The only other problem was that they charged for extra towels. What is that about? The room itself was very clean and normal size. Not huge by any means, but for a 3-star, its about par for the course. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but not bad by any means. The staff is what made the stay for me. They were extremely friendly and always willing to help. Definitely would stay there again just for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opera Traveler
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Great value and a terrific location

Spacious room, friendly staff, nice pool area. Many rooms have no windows, which is a bit disconcerting. Very nice bathroom and linens, plus extra amenities like house shoes and bathrobe, which weren't expected, but greatly appreciated. The staff was terrifically accommodating. Nice art work throughout the hotel. Wifi was slow and often failed to pick up my email, so that's a bit of a downer. I also had to contend with the rumblings of trains underground from my room Overall, very nice hotel, incredibly reasonable for its location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many people will go to Passeog de Gracia for shopping from this destination. Don't bypass Rambla de Catalunya. Lots of nice shops and restaurants, but not nearly as crowded as Passeig de Gracia.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexole
palo alto, california
Nov 3, 2012

Good location and value

Basically good considering location and price. Room was a bit small and not in the best condition. Lobby was dated and smelled musty. This did not take away from good service, great location and alue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants and bars nearby

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ILoveBarcelona
Burlington, NJ
Nov 25, 2012

Quality is the best element here.

Wonderful room service cuisine, excellent staff (fluent in English), and the room was very accommodating, albeit small. Pool area was luxurious and the breakfast and bar services were superb. I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Aerobus to El Prat Airport is right in Placa de Catalunya (about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel). Use this service to get to the hotel and return to the airport. Only 5.75 euros! Most cost effective method.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search