$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back... See full review

  • Czech lady
  • Aug 16, 2012
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Balmes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.3911 2.159
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat International Airport.
Area description
The hotel Balmes is situated just a short distance from the Rambla Cataluna and Paseo de Gracia, both of which lead it to Plaza Cataluna, the city's nerve centre, and from there to the picturesque Las Ramblas, the cosmopolitan Gothic Quarter and Born neighbourhood, the cathedral, Santa Maria del Mar church and the Picasso Museum.

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 32
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trotamundos09
Miami
May 22, 2014

Dark, Cramped Room with Poor Noise Insulation

Booked a two night stay . Pros: central location a few blocks from the Passeig de Gracia, good free wi-fi connection in the rooms. Cons: The room I had was dark and cramped. There was a window that looked out on an air shaft and, since I was on a lower floor, I never saw sunlight. The bed took up most of the space in the room; in fact, the bathroom -- which was well-equipped and modern -- was almost as large as the room itself. Noise insulation between rooms was poor as I could hear every word my neighbor said. I was only in Barcelona a little over a day essentially as a stopover and I have been to the city before so a bad hotel room wasn't a big deal but, if this were my first trip, this hotel room would have really depressed me. Given the number of other hotels in the city, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ILoveBarcelona
Burlington, NJ
Nov 25, 2012

Quality is the best element here.

Wonderful room service cuisine, excellent staff (fluent in English), and the room was very accommodating, albeit small. Pool area was luxurious and the breakfast and bar services were superb. I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Aerobus to El Prat Airport is right in Placa de Catalunya (about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel). Use this service to get to the hotel and return to the airport. Only 5.75 euros! Most cost effective method.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexole
palo alto, california
Nov 3, 2012

Good location and value

Basically good considering location and price. Room was a bit small and not in the best condition. Lobby was dated and smelled musty. This did not take away from good service, great location and alue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants and bars nearby

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jhez
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Feb 21, 2012

You can hear what they are doing in the other room

The hotel room is nice and spacious compared to other European hotels. The location is nice. Bus stops and metro are just walking distance. The only problem is the walling is not good. You can hear if somone is walking at the hallway especially in heels. You can hear the sound of water when they flush the toilet or having a shower in the other room. You can even hear the voice when they speak but not so clear enough though you can hear it when someon moan in the other room... heheh... You can not feel that your private in your room. When I arrive at my room, I saw my shoes on top of my lugage bag.... Why? No sleepers in the room... The room was hot.. you cannot control the heater in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly Suprised...and pleased
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Don't tell everyone about this

This is a real gem - that I don't want to share with others and make it too crowded! Great location,clean, reasonable. The interior courtyard, pool, suana are delightful. Walking distance to central attractions, many places to eat. Let's not spread the word with too much enthusiasm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is a few short blocks away.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly Suprised...and pleased
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Don't tell everyone about this

This is a real gem - that I don't want to share with others and make it too crowded! Great location,clean, reasonable. The interior courtyard, pool, suana are delightful. Walking distance to central attractions, many places to eat. Let's not spread the word with too much enthusiasm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is a few short blocks away.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY'r
New York, NY
Sep 12, 2010

Good Value and Location

Totally decent and attractive hotel. Location was great as well as the price. The room was really small which would have been fine but I was surprised to find only a small twin bed that wasn't that comfortable. I would still stay here again however. Staff, if not overly service oriented, was competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY'r
New York, NY
Sep 12, 2010

Good Value and Location

Totally decent and attractive hotel. Location was great as well as the price. The room was really small which would have been fine but I was surprised to find only a small twin bed that wasn't that comfortable. I would still stay here again however. Staff, if not overly service oriented, was competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top