$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
View map of Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
Good central location

Very close to Las Ramblas and other attractions. We'd definitely return as the room was clean and... See full review

  • Zoltan T.
  • Mar 4, 2015
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Top hotels

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
12:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muffin26
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2011

Good Price and Good Location!

It was in a perfect location! There is a great tapas restaraunt and Indian food restaurant close to the hotel. It is walking distance to many of the popular sites and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jhez
Business
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Feb 21, 2012

You can hear what they are doing in the other room

The hotel room is nice and spacious compared to other European hotels. The location is nice. Bus stops and metro are just walking distance. The only problem is the walling is not good. You can hear if somone is walking at the hallway especially in heels. You can hear the sound of water when they flush the toilet or having a shower in the other room. You can even hear the voice when they speak but not so clear enough though you can hear it when someon moan in the other room... heheh... You can not feel that your private in your room. When I arrive at my room, I saw my shoes on top of my lugage bag.... Why? No sleepers in the room... The room was hot.. you cannot control the heater in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phage
Business
Shrewsbury UK
Oct 10, 2012

Hotel Balmes

A relatively small quiet hotel just off the busy roads, it was clean and tidy, if a little on the snug side. It was lucky that the hotel was quiet as the sound insulation was not the greatest. However, it was an ideal place for a short break. Restaurant menu seemed a little limited and did not alter while we were there. We did not eat there so cannot comment on its quality. If required there is an English pub one block to the west that serves a full English breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest metro station is Provenca (line L6 or L7 from Pl. Catalunya) and with an elevator entrance only one block away to the north on Provenca/Balmes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trotamundos09
Business
Miami
May 22, 2014

Dark, Cramped Room with Poor Noise Insulation

Booked a two night stay . Pros: central location a few blocks from the Passeig de Gracia, good free wi-fi connection in the rooms. Cons: The room I had was dark and cramped. There was a window that looked out on an air shaft and, since I was on a lower floor, I never saw sunlight. The bed took up most of the space in the room; in fact, the bathroom -- which was well-equipped and modern -- was almost as large as the room itself. Noise insulation between rooms was poor as I could hear every word my neighbor said. I was only in Barcelona a little over a day essentially as a stopover and I have been to the city before so a bad hotel room wasn't a big deal but, if this were my first trip, this hotel room would have really depressed me. Given the number of other hotels in the city, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tdid82
Business
East Coast, USA
Jun 4, 2014

Perfectly OK

Clean and modern, though the staff was a bit surly and didn't listen to our requests (nothing special, just things like an extra key). Location is great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 28, 2011

Good location, mediocre service

The hotel is quite nice, with cute rooms, pleasant decor, and a pool. The location is great -- this neighborhood is where I prefer to stay when in Barcelona. Two problems: One, the hotel staff are pretty rude, and two, there is no free internet, despite the fact that they advertise for it. The free internet conveniently "broke" right when we arrived, and the hotel's solution was to make us buy this other internet that they all of a sudden had. Total scam! As a business traveler, I found this to be extremely inconvenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a bustling tapas restaurant called Catalana that is delicious and inexpensive. Eat there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bill&Francis
Business
Little Rock
Jul 12, 2010

Barcelona hotel

The Balmes hotel was in a super location as we had friends in the Eixample area. The staff were referred to by another guest as "keystone kops" as they did not seem to have a clear idea how to get things done and could care less if the hotel guests were accommodated. They were aloof and generally unhelpful unless we insisted upon answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

dine on tapas at Contal on the rambla near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY'r
Business
New York, NY
Sep 12, 2010

Good Value and Location

Totally decent and attractive hotel. Location was great as well as the price. The room was really small which would have been fine but I was surprised to find only a small twin bed that wasn't that comfortable. I would still stay here again however. Staff, if not overly service oriented, was competent and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay Fitness
Business
New York, NY
Oct 16, 2014

Average Space

This hotel was in a good location on Barcelona close to many nearby attractions. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smitty123
Business
Milan, Italy
Oct 9, 2011

Great Location and Service

Pretty much everything was great about this hotel. At the price point, I doubt there's much in Barcelona that can beat it. The pool and back garden area were very nice, but the jacuzzi was barely above luke-warm and the sauna did not work well. The only other problem was that they charged for extra towels. What is that about? The room itself was very clean and normal size. Not huge by any means, but for a 3-star, its about par for the course. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but not bad by any means. The staff is what made the stay for me. They were extremely friendly and always willing to help. Definitely would stay there again just for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top