$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
View map of Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech lady
Roslyn, NY
Aug 16, 2012

An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back to the hotel in the late afternoon and take a swim, relax in the lovely jacuzzi and then lounge outside before getting ready for dinner or evening activity. The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was wonderful to have the use of the computer in the lobby for no charge. We loved the Catalana restaurant on the next block for tapas-which were amazing and we had breakfast at a small cafe across the street from the corner of the hotel. The location was perfect to get to the sights easily by walking, cab or metro or bus. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Balmes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We took the Gaudi and Old City tours with Runner Bean tours which were free and then we paid what we felt was appropriate to the tour guides. Very informational and well-run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opera Traveler
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Great value and a terrific location

Spacious room, friendly staff, nice pool area. Many rooms have no windows, which is a bit disconcerting. Very nice bathroom and linens, plus extra amenities like house shoes and bathrobe, which weren't expected, but greatly appreciated. The staff was terrifically accommodating. Nice art work throughout the hotel. Wifi was slow and often failed to pick up my email, so that's a bit of a downer. I also had to contend with the rumblings of trains underground from my room Overall, very nice hotel, incredibly reasonable for its location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many people will go to Passeog de Gracia for shopping from this destination. Don't bypass Rambla de Catalunya. Lots of nice shops and restaurants, but not nearly as crowded as Passeig de Gracia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan1950
Business
Harrisburg, PA
May 30, 2012

Great place

Hotel Balmes was a great place to stay. Stayed for 4 days/nights. Convenient location. The staff was knowledgeable about restaurants in area and city. All of their recommendations were great. Staff also very helpful and spoke english. The room was average size for Europe. Clean, comfortable. Free Wifi was a plus. Nice pool. This was a great choice. I'd pick it again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great tapas restaurant 2 blocks away for lunch and dinner. Alba restaurant another great choice around the block.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jhez
Business
Dubai - United Arab Emirates
Feb 21, 2012

You can hear what they are doing in the other room

The hotel room is nice and spacious compared to other European hotels. The location is nice. Bus stops and metro are just walking distance. The only problem is the walling is not good. You can hear if somone is walking at the hallway especially in heels. You can hear the sound of water when they flush the toilet or having a shower in the other room. You can even hear the voice when they speak but not so clear enough though you can hear it when someon moan in the other room... heheh... You can not feel that your private in your room. When I arrive at my room, I saw my shoes on top of my lugage bag.... Why? No sleepers in the room... The room was hot.. you cannot control the heater in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muffin26
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2011

Good Price and Good Location!

It was in a perfect location! There is a great tapas restaraunt and Indian food restaurant close to the hotel. It is walking distance to many of the popular sites and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smitty123
Business
Milan, Italy
Oct 9, 2011

Great Location and Service

Pretty much everything was great about this hotel. At the price point, I doubt there's much in Barcelona that can beat it. The pool and back garden area were very nice, but the jacuzzi was barely above luke-warm and the sauna did not work well. The only other problem was that they charged for extra towels. What is that about? The room itself was very clean and normal size. Not huge by any means, but for a 3-star, its about par for the course. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but not bad by any means. The staff is what made the stay for me. They were extremely friendly and always willing to help. Definitely would stay there again just for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Travellers
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 31, 2011

Far exceeded our expectations!

Our two day stay at the Hotel Balmes was excellent. The room was spacious and meticulously clean. Decor is modern and tasteful, everything in working order, room temp control excellent. Front desk personnel were accommodating. The hotel is only two to three blocks from the tour bus routes and the metro, very convenient. Breakfast outstanding, ate other meals at restaurants throughout the city. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour the city using one of several tour bus lines that run throughout the city, hop on/off at various attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 28, 2011

Good location, mediocre service

The hotel is quite nice, with cute rooms, pleasant decor, and a pool. The location is great -- this neighborhood is where I prefer to stay when in Barcelona. Two problems: One, the hotel staff are pretty rude, and two, there is no free internet, despite the fact that they advertise for it. The free internet conveniently "broke" right when we arrived, and the hotel's solution was to make us buy this other internet that they all of a sudden had. Total scam! As a business traveler, I found this to be extremely inconvenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a bustling tapas restaurant called Catalana that is delicious and inexpensive. Eat there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly Suprised...and pleased
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Don't tell everyone about this

This is a real gem - that I don't want to share with others and make it too crowded! Great location,clean, reasonable. The interior courtyard, pool, suana are delightful. Walking distance to central attractions, many places to eat. Let's not spread the word with too much enthusiasm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is a few short blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Patty
Business
West Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Staff- Delightful

My wife and I planned a 3 month visit to Spain, and we originally planned to stay at the Hotel Balmes en Barcelona for 4 days. The people at the hotel made us not only comfortable, but after a couple days they felt like family.[...] in the coffee shop of the hotel was especially helpful and has a great sense of humor. [...] at the front desk gave us a tour of the hotel, with the art exhibits, rooms and apartments. [...]the general manager, visited with us several times.To make a long story short, we extended our stay to 12 days, saw much of Barcelona, had a fantastic time, and came back to Hotel Balmes for 4 days at the end of our trip to renew friendships and leave with a wonderful send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat that we enjoyed. The Hotel Balmes has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning. There are several places we walked to including The Italian Job, Bau (with delicious empanadas). We also walked to the Corte Ingles for some shopping and to eat. (We took a taxi back, as my wife found some really good deals)! Many nights we stopped in the coffee shop and had cremas (delicious thick soups) and sandwich's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal QC
Oct 28, 2010

Clean, comfortable, good location

Great location for visiting Gaudí houses. Clean room with comfortable bed, helpful staff. Easy access to public transportation. Lots of nearby restaurants (walk towards the Rambla de Catalunya).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit the Gaudí Casa Batlló (short walk from the hotel). For a break from the tourists, take the subway/bus to the Estació de Parc de Montjuïc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top