$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back... See full review

  • Czech lady
  • Aug 16, 2012
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Hotel Map

41.3911 2.159
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat International Airport.
Area description
The hotel Balmes is situated just a short distance from the Rambla Cataluna and Paseo de Gracia, both of which lead it to Plaza Cataluna, the city's nerve centre, and from there to the picturesque Las Ramblas, the cosmopolitan Gothic Quarter and Born neighbourhood, the cathedral, Santa Maria del Mar church and the Picasso Museum.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Balmes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Muffin26
Washington, DC
Nov 28, 2011

Good Price and Good Location!

It was in a perfect location! There is a great tapas restaraunt and Indian food restaurant close to the hotel. It is walking distance to many of the popular sites and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smitty123
Milan, Italy
Oct 9, 2011

Great Location and Service

Pretty much everything was great about this hotel. At the price point, I doubt there's much in Barcelona that can beat it. The pool and back garden area were very nice, but the jacuzzi was barely above luke-warm and the sauna did not work well. The only other problem was that they charged for extra towels. What is that about? The room itself was very clean and normal size. Not huge by any means, but for a 3-star, its about par for the course. The beds aren't the most comfortable, but not bad by any means. The staff is what made the stay for me. They were extremely friendly and always willing to help. Definitely would stay there again just for that reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Travellers
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 31, 2011

Far exceeded our expectations!

Our two day stay at the Hotel Balmes was excellent. The room was spacious and meticulously clean. Decor is modern and tasteful, everything in working order, room temp control excellent. Front desk personnel were accommodating. The hotel is only two to three blocks from the tour bus routes and the metro, very convenient. Breakfast outstanding, ate other meals at restaurants throughout the city. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour the city using one of several tour bus lines that run throughout the city, hop on/off at various attractions.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied Travellers
Pennsylvania, USA
Jul 31, 2011

Far exceeded our expectations!

Our two day stay at the Hotel Balmes was excellent. The room was spacious and meticulously clean. Decor is modern and tasteful, everything in working order, room temp control excellent. Front desk personnel were accommodating. The hotel is only two to three blocks from the tour bus routes and the metro, very convenient. Breakfast outstanding, ate other meals at restaurants throughout the city. You will not be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour the city using one of several tour bus lines that run throughout the city, hop on/off at various attractions.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 28, 2011

Good location, mediocre service

The hotel is quite nice, with cute rooms, pleasant decor, and a pool. The location is great -- this neighborhood is where I prefer to stay when in Barcelona. Two problems: One, the hotel staff are pretty rude, and two, there is no free internet, despite the fact that they advertise for it. The free internet conveniently "broke" right when we arrived, and the hotel's solution was to make us buy this other internet that they all of a sudden had. Total scam! As a business traveler, I found this to be extremely inconvenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a bustling tapas restaurant called Catalana that is delicious and inexpensive. Eat there!

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 28, 2011

Good location, mediocre service

The hotel is quite nice, with cute rooms, pleasant decor, and a pool. The location is great -- this neighborhood is where I prefer to stay when in Barcelona. Two problems: One, the hotel staff are pretty rude, and two, there is no free internet, despite the fact that they advertise for it. The free internet conveniently "broke" right when we arrived, and the hotel's solution was to make us buy this other internet that they all of a sudden had. Total scam! As a business traveler, I found this to be extremely inconvenient!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street is a bustling tapas restaurant called Catalana that is delicious and inexpensive. Eat there!

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly Suprised...and pleased
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Don't tell everyone about this

This is a real gem - that I don't want to share with others and make it too crowded! Great location,clean, reasonable. The interior courtyard, pool, suana are delightful. Walking distance to central attractions, many places to eat. Let's not spread the word with too much enthusiasm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is a few short blocks away.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleasantly Suprised...and pleased
Baltimore, MD
May 17, 2011

Don't tell everyone about this

This is a real gem - that I don't want to share with others and make it too crowded! Great location,clean, reasonable. The interior courtyard, pool, suana are delightful. Walking distance to central attractions, many places to eat. Let's not spread the word with too much enthusiasm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is a few short blocks away.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Patty
West Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Staff- Delightful

My wife and I planned a 3 month visit to Spain, and we originally planned to stay at the Hotel Balmes en Barcelona for 4 days. The people at the hotel made us not only comfortable, but after a couple days they felt like family.[...] in the coffee shop of the hotel was especially helpful and has a great sense of humor. [...] at the front desk gave us a tour of the hotel, with the art exhibits, rooms and apartments. [...]the general manager, visited with us several times.To make a long story short, we extended our stay to 12 days, saw much of Barcelona, had a fantastic time, and came back to Hotel Balmes for 4 days at the end of our trip to renew friendships and leave with a wonderful send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat that we enjoyed. The Hotel Balmes has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning. There are several places we walked to including The Italian Job, Bau (with delicious empanadas). We also walked to the Corte Ingles for some shopping and to eat. (We took a taxi back, as my wife found some really good deals)! Many nights we stopped in the coffee shop and had cremas (delicious thick soups) and sandwich's.

Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Patty
West Des Moines, Iowa
Jan 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel & Staff- Delightful

My wife and I planned a 3 month visit to Spain, and we originally planned to stay at the Hotel Balmes en Barcelona for 4 days. The people at the hotel made us not only comfortable, but after a couple days they felt like family.[...] in the coffee shop of the hotel was especially helpful and has a great sense of humor. [...] at the front desk gave us a tour of the hotel, with the art exhibits, rooms and apartments. [...]the general manager, visited with us several times.To make a long story short, we extended our stay to 12 days, saw much of Barcelona, had a fantastic time, and came back to Hotel Balmes for 4 days at the end of our trip to renew friendships and leave with a wonderful send off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several places to eat that we enjoyed. The Hotel Balmes has an excellent breakfast buffet each morning. There are several places we walked to including The Italian Job, Bau (with delicious empanadas). We also walked to the Corte Ingles for some shopping and to eat. (We took a taxi back, as my wife found some really good deals)! Many nights we stopped in the coffee shop and had cremas (delicious thick soups) and sandwich's.

Back to menu Return to top