$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Hotel Balmes

3 stars
Mallorca, 216, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough... See full review

  • Jngz
  • Jun 16, 2014
Good Location

Clean, nice sized room. Pretty good location, walking distance to the metro to go wherever or a not... See full review

  • World Traveler25
  • Aug 23, 2014
The Hotel Balmes is ideally located between the business district and the city's tourism centre, becoming an ideal option for both business and pleasure trips. This hotel inherited the essential legacy of Derby Hotels Collection to exceed the highest level of service within its category. You can enjoy modern facilities surrounded by nature and tranquillity right in the heart of Barcelona, in addition to the magnificent and fascinating exhibition of African Art located throughout the hotel. The hotel has 101 rooms, eight of them split-levels and all equipped with parquet flooring, individually-controlled air conditioning units, direct-line telephones, mini-bar, safe, background music, working area, LCD TV with Canal Plus and satellite TV, wireless Internet access and fax and modem hook-ups. The hotel also boasts room service, a restaurant featuring traditional Catalan cuisine, a laundry service, parking, a coffee shop, meeting rooms, jacuzzi and sauna and a pleasant swimming pool surrounded by a garden and sunroom. Apart for this the hotel offers Banquet facilities, Bar, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Internet accessHigh-Speed, Laundry service, Lift Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilitiesat cost, Pets allowed, Reception, Restaurant, and Room service. Important Information: VAT taxes may be subject to change according to new rate percentage variation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Balmes also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Balmes Rooms

Double\ twin Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.
Single Room
This room offers one double bed or one twin bed with Air conditioning, Balcony or Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Modem data port connection, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Room service, Safe in room, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.2 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.3 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.3 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.6 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.7 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.7 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.7 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.7 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.8 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.8 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.9 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.9 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.9 mi
  • El Raval: 0.9 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 1 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The food is served at the restaurant Mediterranean Cuisine in the hotel Balmes.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1200
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Balmes

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jay Fitness
Business
New York, NY
Oct 16, 2014

Average Space

This hotel was in a good location on Barcelona close to many nearby attractions. I would consider staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler25
Business
New York, NY
Aug 23, 2014

Good Location

Clean, nice sized room. Pretty good location, walking distance to the metro to go wherever or a not too bad walk to La Rambla. Only complaint was hotel was I could hear other guests from my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jngz
Business
Malaysia
Jun 16, 2014

Great location and great room

Location is great, walking distance to all shopping and great restaurant. The room is big enough and have a big toilet. Price is reasonableness worth a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tdid82
Business
East Coast, USA
Jun 4, 2014

Perfectly OK

Clean and modern, though the staff was a bit surly and didn't listen to our requests (nothing special, just things like an extra key). Location is great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trotamundos09
Business
Miami
May 22, 2014

Dark, Cramped Room with Poor Noise Insulation

Booked a two night stay . Pros: central location a few blocks from the Passeig de Gracia, good free wi-fi connection in the rooms. Cons: The room I had was dark and cramped. There was a window that looked out on an air shaft and, since I was on a lower floor, I never saw sunlight. The bed took up most of the space in the room; in fact, the bathroom -- which was well-equipped and modern -- was almost as large as the room itself. Noise insulation between rooms was poor as I could hear every word my neighbor said. I was only in Barcelona a little over a day essentially as a stopover and I have been to the city before so a bad hotel room wasn't a big deal but, if this were my first trip, this hotel room would have really depressed me. Given the number of other hotels in the city, I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ILoveBarcelona
Business
Burlington, NJ
Nov 25, 2012

Quality is the best element here.

Wonderful room service cuisine, excellent staff (fluent in English), and the room was very accommodating, albeit small. Pool area was luxurious and the breakfast and bar services were superb. I highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Aerobus to El Prat Airport is right in Placa de Catalunya (about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel). Use this service to get to the hotel and return to the airport. Only 5.75 euros! Most cost effective method.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexole
Business
palo alto, california
Nov 3, 2012

Good location and value

Basically good considering location and price. Room was a bit small and not in the best condition. Lobby was dated and smelled musty. This did not take away from good service, great location and alue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of restaurants and bars nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
phage
Business
Shrewsbury UK
Oct 10, 2012

Hotel Balmes

A relatively small quiet hotel just off the busy roads, it was clean and tidy, if a little on the snug side. It was lucky that the hotel was quiet as the sound insulation was not the greatest. However, it was an ideal place for a short break. Restaurant menu seemed a little limited and did not alter while we were there. We did not eat there so cannot comment on its quality. If required there is an English pub one block to the west that serves a full English breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest metro station is Provenca (line L6 or L7 from Pl. Catalunya) and with an elevator entrance only one block away to the north on Provenca/Balmes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Czech lady
Business
Roslyn, NY
Aug 16, 2012

An oasis in Barcelona

Hi We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Balmes. The weather was very hot and it was nice to come back to the hotel in the late afternoon and take a swim, relax in the lovely jacuzzi and then lounge outside before getting ready for dinner or evening activity. The staff were friendly and very helpful and it was wonderful to have the use of the computer in the lobby for no charge. We loved the Catalana restaurant on the next block for tapas-which were amazing and we had breakfast at a small cafe across the street from the corner of the hotel. The location was perfect to get to the sights easily by walking, cab or metro or bus. We really enjoyed staying at the Hotel Balmes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We took the Gaudi and Old City tours with Runner Bean tours which were free and then we paid what we felt was appropriate to the tour guides. Very informational and well-run.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Balmes

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opera Traveler
Business
Irvine, CA
Jun 18, 2012

Great value and a terrific location

Spacious room, friendly staff, nice pool area. Many rooms have no windows, which is a bit disconcerting. Very nice bathroom and linens, plus extra amenities like house shoes and bathrobe, which weren't expected, but greatly appreciated. The staff was terrifically accommodating. Nice art work throughout the hotel. Wifi was slow and often failed to pick up my email, so that's a bit of a downer. I also had to contend with the rumblings of trains underground from my room Overall, very nice hotel, incredibly reasonable for its location and amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Many people will go to Passeog de Gracia for shopping from this destination. Don't bypass Rambla de Catalunya. Lots of nice shops and restaurants, but not nearly as crowded as Passeig de Gracia.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top