$156 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Hotel America Barcelona

4 stars
Provenca, 195, Barcelona, 08008
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
15 reviews
Great deal and good hotel

We got this on a special, so i can't really judge value except in this context. But for us it was... See full review

  • Cheerful traveller
  • Jun 18, 2014
Getaway Retreat

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The roof top pool is a nice feature. It was too cold for us to... See full review

  • Coco Bee
  • May 13, 2014
Hotel America Barcelona is placed at Enric Granados street, probably the most quite and charming semi pedestrian street in l'Eixample's district, just few meters away to Pg. de Gràcia and Diagonal, in the heart of the smartest shopping area of the city. Its situation permit's a quick and easy way to enjoy the city by walking or by public transport and it is fair convenient to explore the best and most famous boutiques of Barcelona. Hotel transmits a modern and fresh sensation, reinforced by a natural lighted atrium. There is no closed corridors and glass is present everywhere, showing an unusual spaciousness sensation. The hotel provides amenities like Bar, Doctor on call, Dry cleaning, Lift/elevator, Lobby, Reception, Solarium, Laundry service, safe deposit box, gym, wireless internet, pool, Room service and smoke- free hotel.

Hotel Map

41.3917 2.1574
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport.
Area description
Centrally located, America Hotel in Barcelona is just a few minutes walking to Pg. De Gràcia and Diagonal Av, in the fashion shopping area from Barcelona. Its situation permits quick access to the most important places of the city, even by walking or by public transportation. Catalunya square is one underground station away.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel America Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel America Barcelona Rooms

Standard twin/double
Room offers 1 king size or 1 twin size bed provided by telephone, chargeable wireless connection, minibar, 32" LCD TV, bathrobe and slippers, free safety box, duvet, air conditioning, hairdryer, heating, laundry service, room service.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.5 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.5 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Mila: 0.3 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.4 mi
  • Palau del Baró de Quadras: 0.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.4 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Egyptian Museum of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 0.5 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.5 mi
  • Palau Ramon de Montaner: 0.5 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.5 mi
  • Dreta de l'Eixample: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de les Punxes: 0.6 mi
  • Parroquia de la Purissima Concepció: 0.6 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.7 mi
  • Gran de Gracia: 0.7 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.8 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.8 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.8 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.8 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.8 mi
  • Catalonia Square: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.8 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.8 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.8 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.8 mi
  • Casa Macaya: 0.9 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.9 mi
  • Casa Vicens: 0.9 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.9 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.9 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.9 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 1 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 1 mi
  • El Raval: 1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 1 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel America Barcelona

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mildred
New York, NY, USA
Dec 7, 2011

great deal

The staff is wonderful. The location is close to the major sites. easy to walk everywhere. Out of the tourist traps. Great price for the location.Close to great restaurants. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurant Flauta. Great tapas. Don't be intimidated by the line, is worth the waiting.

Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheerful traveller
UK
Jun 18, 2014

Great deal and good hotel

We got this on a special, so i can't really judge value except in this context. But for us it was ideal. We could walk where we wanted and there is a metro near too, so it is well located. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Small pool on the roof with city views. We also liked the bars and caffs outside so it all worked out well and on a deal like ours, it was truly great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco Bee
Butler, PA
May 13, 2014

Getaway Retreat

I enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The roof top pool is a nice feature. It was too cold for us to swim but we enjoyed laying on the couches and relaxing. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hot tub is nice but it was not "hot" enough for us. The breakfast was good although it was a little pricey. The hotel location is OK it is in the heart of the city but not super near to any of the main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1 of those travel lovers
Los Angeles
Apr 27, 2014

Nothing to be very excited about

I went to Barcelona with my daughter and a friend. we got there around 10 pm after a long airport delay, pretty much beat up. The person who was at the desk barely talk to us. We had to ask for basic things, nothing was offer to us but the directions to our room. In general the staff is pretty cold and not to ready to help with directions or suggestions for activities. Room was nice and clean. Good location, close to couple of metro stations. Expensive breakfast, having some good coffee shops around the corner with way better deals. Would benefit from "actual" customer service and some little details like an iron machine and scale for your luggage. Wi-Fi is decent, although when we all three tried to use it, ill would kick us out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Plan ahead, some places offer online ticketing so you can avoid long lines. Down side is you actually have a time window to enter. Place like Parc Guell that used to be free, is charging entrance now with online tickets and specific time for admission. :(

Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ornurse
Portland, Oregon
Jun 12, 2012

Quiet and good for the money

We arrived earlier than check in time and the staff was great and accommodated us right away in our room, the room was good for the price and location was great to walk at night. During the day great to walk to metro and local attractions. The lady that did the room was so friendly as well as the morning staff. The staff at night at the desk Javier give me the wrong information and when I went to the pool the guy there ate me alive because I started the hot tub, it was a misunderstanding but afer the pool guy yell at me I told Javier and he was also rude and confrontational. Besides that incident everything was great...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Las Ramblas is far but Gaudi stuff is at walking distance.

Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenVasile
Cypress, California
Jun 8, 2012

JUST O.K.

Nothing special. Good location and that's about it. I would find some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sueanne
Pembrokeshire
Jun 2, 2012

Excellent hotel

Well situated modern hotel. Helpful staff. Rooms very clean exceptionally comfortable beds and pillows. Everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. Pool area and bar on rooftop a bonus very relaxing. Couldn't fault our stay at all. Would definately stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JenVasile
Cypress, California
May 27, 2012

Just o.k.

The location was great. More of a local area which was nice after a long day surrounded by hundreds of thousands of tourists but still a 2 block walk from la padrera and the hop on hop off bus. The room was clean and bathroom had a great shower but the beds were pretty hard. This however is common in Europe. The staff was friendly but didn't go out of the way to help you by any means. The reason I say just o.k. Is because it was just that. Average in every way. I say if you can get a good price it is worth it but I personally would not spend more than $140 maximum a night. I think you can find a better hotel in the same price range in this area. Wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

La padrera and hop on hop off bus 2 blocks

Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mildred
New York, NY, USA
Dec 7, 2011

great deal

The staff is wonderful. The location is close to the major sites. easy to walk everywhere. Out of the tourist traps. Great price for the location.Close to great restaurants. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restaurant Flauta. Great tapas. Don't be intimidated by the line, is worth the waiting.

Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DMSTJ
Virginia, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Very helpful staff

Christian, at the front desk, was always very helpful, and gave us excellent suggestions for where to eat, etc. and often got us a taxi in 3 mins or less! Enrique, also in the lobby, was never without a smile, very pleasant and always ready to help out!! The cleaning ladies were nice & thorough. The room needed paint touch-ups here and there, and room service food was a bit pricy ($15 for a nice salad with tuna), but, otherwise everything was good. Great location, good shopping all around and close to scenic "La Rambla" .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel America Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jocho910
Washington, D.C.
Jul 16, 2011

Modern Oasis in great location!

Hotel America is in a great location and good neighborhood. Its a short walk from all the shopping and eateries North of La Rambles and just 3 blocks from pg. de Gracia. The Hotel has modern updated rooms w/flat screen TVs. The hotels have all hardwood floors, so there are times during the day when you will hear somebody move a bed or chair above you but it wasn't much of a distraction to us. The hotel maintains the place very nicely and there is a fabulous pool on the roof that turns into a lounge at night serving cocktails late into the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top